Some news

So I’ve been lying low for a while because we moved out of the country. Yes, years of fighting it, fighting to move back to Delhi, letting Delhi seep into my pores and run in my blood stream and all of a sudden.. nothing. I’ve left home. And I’m adrift and lost.

Lest you think I’m too busy to post – that isn’t the case. I could sit up after a surgery and type with one hand if I wanted to, while a drip rattled against the keyboard and half my body groaned in pain and …. I think you get the picture.

But it’s not that  – I’m busy, but not just busy. Apart from setting up home, getting paperwork in order, sending kids to new school and hating it, doing my own bloody housework (gah!) and holding on to my fucking day job, I am also busy wallowing in self pity and self-inflicted misery and I am not ready to share anymore right now. I might be back tomorrow. I might not be back for six months. Until I have processed this change and dealt with it, I am not comfortable sharing it.

I know you will understand. I’m sorry I didn’t tell you earlier considering it’s been going on for a while. But this – this is something I’m just.not.dealing.well.with.

Stay well, stay cool.

#ChhodAayeHumWohGaliyan

39 thoughts on “Some news

  1. The beauty of the blog world is that you are still at the other end of this screen to us.

    RL does take over… Do come back, when you are ready. We are here on this end of the screen, waiting… For you, for brat and for bean

  2. Dearest MM,

    Take care and my very best wishes for the move.. will pray for smooth transition for the entire family.

    lots of love and hugs
    Sujatha

  3. Dear MM,

    I was a little worried due to the relatively long absence. I am glad that the absence was not due to health issues or god-forbid any family emergencies. Yes, I had hopped onto the blog to write a note expressing my hope that you and the MadFamily were okay and then I saw this post. Phew! boy was I relieved =)
    So now, I will say:
    I wish you all the very best in dealing with the settling down aspects after such a big move.( Some people talk through their issues, some write…..I am the former, my sister is the latter. Just a throwaway ). I hope you, the OA, the brat, and the bean will thrive. My parents would be able to empathize as they uprooted their lives ( my dad was in his late 40s and my mid 30s) in India and moved us little ones to the U.S.. It was interesting to say the least…..I am wondering why I am writing this but I guess since every time you pen a post, you are sharing a precious part of your life with us, I was hoping to… if not help then honor with the same.

    Wish you all the very best!

  4. Aww..MM!! It is going to be okay, is what I want to say, but I won’t because you would hate me for it. Leaving a place you love is absolutely difficult. You are neither here nor there, constantly living in the ‘what if’. I am going through it right now. But mine is just a change in the city. I can still visit home sometimes. You have changed countries.

    Take care of yourself MM! May the universe bless you! Try and soak in the new place. Who knows, maybe it will be fun.

  5. Well, I’ve moved countries in the last month too.. parents, birth, school, college, job, wedding, kids, friends were in one city….And I just moved out of it after not spending even a month living in any other city in my entire life… Like u say: New home, new school, paperwork, doing your own housework, and f***ing holding on to some kind of job is taking up all my resources…

    One phrase: Take charge, MM. That’s what you do to feel in control… You will do it well, and you know it.

    Hugs.

  6. What?? When? Where?? I am trying to process this now and it will take some time for me to get over this..

    All the best MM.

  7. Life happens! And I am hoping it was a good decision for work/family. Change is always hard. My best with you guys always! I will wait for a update, be it 6 months from now.

    Sorry, I can control myself from asking this…this might be a long shot….considering I don’t even know the Country…..if you are in Dallas……I am here. 🙂

  8. I understand, I’ve lived out of the country for 15 years and I’m still dealing with it 😦 The pain will never go away but in time, it will ease. For as long as you stay out, it is a dull throb that will flare when you listen to a familiar song, see rain patter against the window or smell what seems, almost almost like mom’s cooking. Hang in there!!

  9. Oh noooo. Now I can’t walk around malls and market places and think to myself “that could be mm and brat and bean” every time I see a family resembling (the idea that I have of) yours.

    Take care, friend. Hope you settle in fast and have the time of your life.

    Sending long distance good wishes your way.

  10. Hi

    Please don’t worry. It’s just a change of place. Your new home will grow into you and you will start liking the new environment soon.

    Please do try blogging whenever possible. Your candid blogs are like a breath of fresh air.

    Loads of love to the kids. Please take care.

  11. boy o boy, what a return to the old bloggie and how!!!! Just, pray tell me that you are in my neck of the woods, yes please. I’ll even come and help with the bleddy housework as long as I get a cuppa tea now and then, God promise:-) How are my darlings beanie and brattie? Well until you’ve settled in, processed it all I suppose we won’t know but please do give the my love, big hugs and best wishes for the move. Like all kids do eventually don’t ya worry, they will settle in beautifully and perhaps faster than OA or you. If you are anywhere in the US of A do drop me an email when you feel like or if you need ANY kind of help. I mean it. Ofcourse if thats the case I’m sure Tambi is a call away but heck what are bloggie commenters for if not for help settling in eh?

  12. It’s not easy to uproot yourself from one country (especially when everything was going fine ) and plant yourself in a totally different land. Been there, done that.

    But, the beauty of human nature is we get used to and adjust ourselves to the new place. Try and look for positives. Try and fall in love with the new surroundings. I am sure you will make it your own soon.

    And iif its any solace Delhi is currently 42 degrees 🙂

    Good luck to you TMM.

  13. Hello MM,

    Longtime reader of your blog. Been miasing your posts.

    It is not easy uprooting in mid thirties especially when you share such close bond with your family in India.

    If in case you are in Los Angeles, do let me know, would love to hang out with you.

  14. Awwww. Now I feel terrible about pestering you to blog. Hoping to see you soon during your visit that you mentioned to the husband. Hugs

  15. Beti,
    Don’t dwell on what you miss, focus on what you have and what you can get. Experience a new way of life. Give it sometime. And like everybody here has commented, reach out to us. We will walk you through it.

  16. wow – where have you moved? if in northern CA, I’d love to help :)!

    Transitions are tough – and moving out of country is something that takes many years to sink in. Only now that we are raising our children and have a home to call our own, we feel connected to this new adopted country too.

    All the best!

  17. Hi MM,

    I’m a long-time reader and lurker on your blog, and I recently made a major relocation myself, so I know how hard it can be. If you are anywhere around the Washington DC area, let me know if I can help you with anything.

  18. Transition is usually Hard.. Isn’t it? The first time we change a school or a city – We almost never like it and miss the things how they were. Add to this the gutt wrenching nostalgia and bam! It’s bizzaro world. (and I can only hope that you are not a piscean because we have the capability of taking Nostalgia to a whole another level – hell I once cried looking at my ol. Boarding room on the 6th floor coz I had shifted to the first floor of the same building – Yes, I am borderline crazy and let’s not get into that)
    But look at you -it’s a whole another country.. All I will say is that give it time.. Don’t hate it already.. Once u settle, knowing you a little, you will chirp that place right up.. And come back to us sharing all the joy and happiness.

    Stay strong.
    LOTS OF LOVE

  19. One deep breath at a time MM. All the best. Will wait when you are ready to talk about it. I am sure brat will take it in his stride and bean’s reaction will be same as yours. Take good care of her and the Mad family.

  20. Oh MM.. i was wondering where u were and glad to hear from u. I’m sorry ur not loving the move and sure hope the new country grows on u slowly and starts feeling like home. Wish you and the mad family all the very best in dealing with the change. Looking forward to hearing wonderful tales of you meeting new people, setting up a new home and adapting to a new life.

    I hope the Brat had a very Happy B’day on the 5th… B’lated B’day wishes to the li’l one.. Turned a double-digit this year, didn’t he? Little Big man! lots o love and blessings for him.

    Update from my end..I’m not a proud momma of twin boys,Bub and Chub. The boys were born early at 32w and spent 28 days in the NICU..All is well, and they are home now. so as you can imagine it is Exciting, busy and exhausting times,

  21. Eeps – I come here after ages and this !!!! Anyway , hugs to the brat and bean – I am sure you will make it work . Looking forward to fun posts on dealing with phoren shores – where are you though ?

And in your opinion....

