Why we have kids…

Growing up in Munnar, one of our biggest pleasures and privileges was watching our parents get ready to head out to a dinner party. The fireplace in their bedroom would be lit. We’d be in bunny night suits – they were like onesies. Bathed and fed and ready for bed.
Ma would be struggling to run a comb through her heavy mass of waist length hair. My handsome dad would be tuning his guitar, without which he wasn’t allowed to walk into a party. I’d be strutting around in Ma’s vertiginous stilettos. Tambi would be watching my dad strum, absently singing Wonderful Tonight, smiling at ma.
Tambi and I truly believed he’d written the song for her and would fight you to death if you disagreed. Eric Clapton be damned.
She’d catch his eye in the mirror and blush. And then I’d regretfully give her back her heels and watch her slip her beautiful feet into them, her slender neck barely able to hold up that massive bun. A spritz of Paloma Picasso and they’d kiss us and leave in a cloud of perfume and romance. Out into the crisp, cold darkness of the mountain air.
Fast forward 30 years and I find that I’m unable to dress for a party unless there is some music to go with it. I have an iPod set up for it since I don’t have my own troubadour. The Bean is prancing around in my heels and threatening to break her neck. The Brat is sprawled across my bed, looking at me like I’m the most beautiful woman on earth. Just as I looked at Ma in her black slim jeans and white swing top. And this is what we have kids for – for those few moments when we’re perfect in someone’s eyes. And this is what childhood memories are made up of – perfume, music, magic and a nip of winter chill.

18 thoughts on “Why we have kids…

  1. I’m a big, big fan of your writing. And this post reminds me of the nights my parents used to go for dinner parties..My sister and I used to gaze at my mum getting ready, and we always thought she was the most beautiful woman we had seen! 🙂

  2. I haven’t had any of these experiences. So reading yours takes me to a whole new world. Sigh. I do think, though, that you are one of the most beautiful women on earth–inside and out. You and the OA are such perfect arm candy for each other. And the kids dangling off of you are like the frosting/cherry on your cake 🙂 You’re one yummy family (I hope that phrase catches on).

  3. A girl’s happy childhood makes her such a happy mother – with beautiful memories to connect the dots across generations. You are blessed!

  4. And this is what we have kids for – for those few moments when we’re perfect in someone’s eyes.

    LOVED that sentence. Absolutely true. We are perfect in someone’s eye, that someone who never judges us and always loves back unconditionally.

  5. I can “feel “ the nostalgia as I read this post 🙂 and made me go back my own childhood memory lane.

    I’m going to go off and write my own essay on why we have kids..so many thoughts around it running in my head now!

And in your opinion....

