The Brat turns eight

Yep. Would you believe it? Eight years of the Brat, seven years of this blog.

When he was born, they called him the Prince of Peace. Blasphemous, I know, but true. There were factions of our families, both the OA’s as well as mine, that didn’t get along with each other, with us, various combinations and permutations. They all came together to hold this child in their arms and they smiled over him at each other. It’s been 8 years and those relationships prosper. Even as I rejected my son, the world, my world, embraced him and each other. If I could turn back time I’d embrace him with all my heart from the moment I laid eyes on him. As it stands, he earned it.

It’s ironic because now the Bean tells me, ‘You’re not my choice of mama’ (she comes running with a little sorry card a while later), but she says it. My son on the other hand, comes home from school, wraps his arms around my waist, buries his face in me and breathes in the smell of me, rests. We don’t speak – he doesn’t like too much talk. And then he leaves me and goes off for a little quiet time. It’s usually in the backyard, under the pomegranate trees. They shade him from the hot summer sun and he sits there for a while until he’s ready to talk, mix, join the living.

We call him lovey-dovey and sometimes dove, for short. And he reminds me of a dove. Gentle, peaceful. The Bean’s feisty, vivaciousness grab one’s attention. The Brat, on the other hand, observes our guests and waits for the one who isn’t all over them. He then gently befriends that person. I realised later, this is his way of drawing out people as quiet as himself, his way of being a good host.

Over the last year I’ve grown closer to him. To the extent where it feels at times, like I wanted him, not the Bean, with all my heart and soul. And this just comes around to show you that you don’t always know what you need, but you get it. The Bean and I feed off each other’s hyperactivity and go nuts. This one, my son, he calms me down. He makes me see what is important and what is merely a frill. In his childlike way, with his ancient wisdom, he makes me a better person. And isn’t that what it usually boils down to? What the other person makes you feel? Well, the Brat makes me want to be a better person. Create a better world for him.

The other day he came home without his homework worksheet. He’d given it to his friend. When I asked him why, he said it’s because you sacrifice for friends. The word was discordant, coming from a child’s mouth. What does a child understand of sacrifice? And yet, he’d just given the sheet to his friend and was ready to go to school and get into trouble.

I don’t pretend to understand the Brat. He is his own person. At some level he is beyond innocent. The kids on the bus are talking about their boyfriends and girlfriends and I know the Bean will be there soon. But the Brat, he looks up and blinks, and then asks you if you know what the Great White Shark weighs.

Over the last year he’s begun to play football and shows a serious amount of talent but very little interest. His Hindi sucks, his English HW is done minutes and Math needs to be made into a game for him to take interest and speed through it. But science, science engages him in the way literature engaged me. I sit with this asinine look on my face and listen to him rattle off facts. I’m absorbing nothing. I’m just watching him light up and I’m feeling my heart tumble over and over again. I fall in love with him and he knows it.

When he does something he knows I disapprove of, he walks up to me and pulls me down for a kiss. Every morning he leaves for school without his bag. Every morning I scream like a banshee. Every morning he walks back, kisses me on the forehead to shut me up, and walks off. Again, without his bag. I groan in frustration. He takes after his father.

He can live without me. He’s very strong and that core of calm makes him strong. He takes his rights and wrongs very seriously. He picks a side. And for that quality alone, I am so proud of him.

Happy Birthday my little Brat (a misnomer if ever) – I love you more than life itself.

62 thoughts on “The Brat turns eight

  1. Ooohhhh… Eight years is big! Happy birthday brat! The kutty in our house turns one end of this month. Am giddy with shock and surprise πŸ˜‰

  2. Ohhh…that’s exactly what I thought halfway down this post- that maybe it is time to rename him, that the name Brat doesn’t do him justice!! Happy birthday to your May-born. Mine is, too, and they can be a real gift to a mother.

  3. God bless this wonderful child, today on his eighth birthday, and always. We need more people like him in the turbulent times we live in.

  4. Big fat T-Rex style, gecko-scale tinged, slippry-snake-y, but very very gentle and loving birthday hugs for the Brat, all the way from Goa. He is and will always be the most inspiring child I have met in recent times. Quiet, patient, and observant, but oh so bright, curious, lively and just so loving.
    Please sqyooze him till those bunny teeth show πŸ˜› I hope he has the best dino-themed party yet. And knowing what you and the OA have planned, Im sure it will be awesome.

    (My god, he’s EIGHT?! That means Iv been reading this blog for seven years? Egads.)

  5. Happy Birthday to the most lovable brat I’ve ever known!Whenever I read about him MM,I wish from within “If I had a boy ,it had to be like him”.

  6. Best wishes to little boy. May all the girls always fall for him.
    I hope that he doesn’t matures beyond his age… it rarely does any good.

  7. Posts like these make my days very happy. Happy birthday big boy. And guess we don’t get pics of the babies now that they’re their own people. Fair enough. But not even a glimpse?

  8. Happy Bday to the little, big Brat. MM, in almost all my comments to your posts, I have maintained. You are my favourite, You spin magic with your words πŸ™‚
    Your readers can almost imagine how your family looks like, how it functions. And that’s profound.
    Cheers!!

    • *blush* thanks, Z. It can never be said enough. Because you write and throw your words out into the www and hope that someone out there cares enough to read and enjoy. Thank you very very much.

  9. Happy b’day dear Brat. Madmoomma, just like you i never wanted a baby boy. I have a 22 month old daughter who is exactly like Bean, sucking every bit of energy i have. Ever since i have started reading your blog(3 months) I’m yearning for a baby boy like Brat. This post in particular is so beautiful, Brat is lucky to have momma like you πŸ™‚

  10. Happy birthday, Brat! Whenever I come across anything on dinosaurs, I’m reminded of him. Kids like him inspire me.

  11. Happy Birthday to the Brat. I remembered yesterday that it was his day and said a lil prayer for him.

    May God bless the Mad Family.

  12. I remember you posting about the Brat’s stubbornness. I shuddered with fear because I have a Taurean too (turning 3 on 15th) and we do seem to be in the midst of tough times. But this – this is just perfect :). Happy Birthday to the Brat – the baby who made so many of us yearn to be moms!

  13. Awwwww.

    He sounds like a geek in the making. Tut tut. And somebody wanted him to be a beach bum and not a “boring” engineer type. I suppsed he’s going to go and get a PhD and be the death of you πŸ™‚

    Happy Birthday to the cuddly squishy gentle Brat.

  14. Happy birthday, baby Brat! It’s good to see your still the same darling one-year-old I fell in love with all those years ago. May you have a wonderful year ahead! And don’t ever change. Xx

  15. To my favoritest little boy – I hope I have a son like you, someday.
    ‘To the extent where it feels at times, like I wanted him, not the Bean, with all my heart and soul. And this just comes around to show you that you don’t always know what you need, but you get it.’ – how beautifully you put it, MM!

  16. Happy birthday to the adorable Brat! I’ve been reading this blog longer than I’ve been married! And no 7-year itch in sight. I love you, MM, as I did reading you all those many years ago, for everything you do and everything you share with us.

  17. Such a beautiful post for such a nice boy!!! Kids this type are definitely precious no!!!? Happy for you MM. Wishing your son lots more to come πŸ™‚

  18. Happy Birthday Brat… May God bless you… Its a wonderful post MM.. Congratulations to you too for completing 8 years of being a mom.

  19. Happy birthday to your beautiful little boy. May he bring as much happiness and more, in the coming years! πŸ™‚
    Love to you and yours.

  20. Happy Bday Little Big Boy! Lovely post MM and as always, moved me so much! Love and blessings always πŸ™‚

  21. I am in love the way you write. Both this post and the earlier one about ten years of married life – No mush, no emotions slopping all over but so beautifully, so elegantly written that it really touches your heart ! ❀

  22. Happy B’day to my B’day-sake! God Bless!

    Came here after long..looking for Brat’s B’day post and wanting to wish him… n reading it made me recap how much i used to enjoy reading the words and sentences you strung together so effortlessly !

  23. Happy Birthday darling boy. May you continue to light up the lives of those around you. You are a treasure and you are beyond precious. Lots of love.

  24. Happy birthday big boy! My heart swelled just reading this and a tug of pain in my heart ….he has infact grown up. God gives us our babies only to make us better people. Love him even though I’ve never met him. Congratulations to you too proud mad momma πŸ™‚

  25. “He takes after his father” the man you fell in love with and is raising children with. How sweet. I love that you get your children be their own people. Happy belated birthing-day to you! πŸ™‚

  26. Pingback: Celebrations! | The Mad Momma

  27. Why The Brat? Why not some other name? Was their a particular reason in christening him so, or was it just a random pick—his name on your blog?

      • And don’t get me wrong but whatever that I have learnt so far about The brat even I think so too (He is just so opposite than one would peg a ‘brat’ to be -the first post that actually made me comment on your blog was about him- I had been visiting but never really left a reply earlier than that- It was this very endearing chat you once had with him- where he questioned you as to why do people call you the mad momma?) Beautiful Child, he is – A lot of his qualities, I wish for my baby too- no kidding.God bless!

  28. Thank you all. The writer in me feels some pride when you enjoy the writing. The mother in me shuts her eyes in prayer and thanks for your good wishes. There are no words to capture the goodness of the Brat and when I sit to write about him I feel ill-equipped, both as a mother as well as a writer to appreciate him. I have another little firebrand who is so me, but this one, this one I worry I am not good enough for. …

    Thank you again for your prayers, your thoughts, your good wishes. Can one ever have enough?

  29. Co incidentally, I have two men that are born in May and have exact characteristics of your brat. My brother who can spend hours with a twig in his hands and my husband who can spend hours just sitting quietly, staring at the fan. I adore them both. My daughter is just 7 months and showing hints of beanism already and while I do not want a second kid, I think i might just take a chance for a piece of calm in my life. Awesome writing!!

  30. Hey hi,

    I loved the whole under the sea theme. I am trying to create one for my nephew and I just came here from the US. I am a little lost about the ingredients. How did you create the jellyfish? Did you use balls/coconut shells??? and where can i get the little twisties? Thanks so much for your time.
    SHobha

    • Hello there,
      I got it in a set from kukucrate (linked back in the post). But it was a theme for that month so I’m not sure if she’ll still have any. The balls are thermocol and the twisties are pipe cleaners – easily available in the US. All the best for the party. Your nephew is a lucky little boy.

And in your opinion....

