Six years of being a Brat

Six years ago today my life changed forever. My son was born. I became a mother. But I hated him on sight and refused to even nurse him for the first hour or two (some of you read that story) so great was the anger. I was shocked at how mercurial my feelings towards him were. One moment he was inside and I was waiting eagerly for what I hoped was a daughter. The next minute I am told its a son and I feel a surge of disappointment, frustration and exhaustion. This isn’t what I waited 9 months for (we can blame this on hormones, can’t we?).

But we all get what the Good Man up there thinks is important and I think for a feminist like me, having a son was necessary. I needed to see that men are not the enemy. That men are not always aggressive. That men can be fair. And I needed, with my strong views on equality, to give back something to society – a man brought up by a strong mother. And that is where the Brat entered the picture.

I am happy that God gave me this little man to show me what it is like to love a male unconditionally. To know that humans with external plumbing can also be thoughtful and gentle. I am happy that God knew what I needed, better than I did – a little chubby cheeked bundle of joy who continues to delight me everyday, even if the chubbiness melted away, leaving just ribs on show.

I thank God that he gave me a child I learned to love for the person he is, as opposed to a daughter whom I’d have rejoiced in simply for her gender. It was an important lesson and one that only got clearer over the last Β couple of years. One that trashed all stereotypes and made me eat humble pie.

Gentle, sensitive, compassionate, stubborn, affectionate – he is everything that the OA is, ten times over. And for the first time, he is not the enemy. He is Β mine. Born of my womb, my flesh and blood. Guarded fiercely by me instead of the other way around. Before I knew it, I had the easiest most lovable baby ever and I was itching to have a second one. As I often say – the Brat was the sales pitch. If I’d had the Bean first I’d be too ragged to even consider a second one. He was and is my ideal child.

We’re getting ready for a party and he scrambles into my closet and pulls out a crisp white cotton kurta, dupatta and churidar. “I’ll tell you what to wear ma,” and he hands it to me. When I am dressed he takes the bindi off my mirror and settles it crooked above an eye. I correct it. “You look so beautiful” he says. Β I feel my heart fill up with joy. I’ve always dressed for myself and today a little 6 year old telling me I look beautiful makes me feel beautiful.

It’s a hot afternoon and I lie down in the nursery telling them that I will kill them if they disturb me. They play quietly around me. Using stencil cards as cash. Selling each other pet pythons and mammoths. I drift off listening to baby voices bargaining, giving change, coming up with new ideas. I wake up, stretch and thank them. “Thanks for letting mama sleep without disturbing her, babies.”

The Brat responds gravely – “We could have been quieter I think. We made a little noise. Next time we will try harder to be quiet.” He’s a good little man. Someday he will be a good big man. And I can’t take credit for that, anymore than I could have taken the blame for him being anything else. This is just him. His nature. And this is proof that men come in all shapes, sizes and types and some of them – are just a plain blessing. My son is my blessing. And yes, I am aware that I sound like a typical Indian mother!

He walks into my room and grimaces, his finger in his mouth. I kneel down in concern – what’s wrong baby? He has a shaky tooth. I feel something flip in my stomach. This is my child. And I’m not prepared. I’m not prepared for my son to lose a tooth. It seems like he only just got them.

I hold him close and explain to him that he is turning a big boy and soon he will lose the milk teeth and get big boy teeth.

Will I be a big boy then? he asks.

I nod and pull him closer. Refusing to put into words the awful fact that he is growing up.

He presses his face against my chest. “I can hear your heartbeat, mama…” Silence in the room as he listens attentively.

The he looks up and asks suddenly “Will you still be my mama when I am a grown up? Will you still love me?”

Uh huh, I nod… just as long as you can hear my heart beating.

Happy Birthday sunshine. Happy Birthday bright eyes. Happy Birthday mama’s life. Keep smiling, keep shining…


ALERT – for all those who think he looks grown up here, this picture was taken at four. He is now even more grownup and looks very different 😦 Yes, that shatter was the sound of my heart breaking.

184 thoughts on “Six years of being a Brat

  1. A very Happy B’day to the sunshine boy. Thanks for sharing the pics MM, loved all of them.
    Best,
    AW

  2. Badhai ho MM, for your son’s birthday. With a son like Brat—considerate, kind and empathetic—you are indeed blessed. And so are we, given that this sweet child of yours will grow up go forth in the world spreading all this goodness for the benefit of humankind.

      • That he is πŸ™‚ I think he is a complete sweetheart from everything his biased mom has to say about him πŸ˜‰ Give him a big hug from this stranger but via the arms of the person he knows and loves!

  3. Happy 6th birthday to your son!
    guess what, my daughter turns 6 on May 5th too..
    Cheers to 05/05/05 kiddos!

  4. Happy birthday to brat and to the besotted mom!

    I loved his meanie face pic (third from the bottom) Priceless πŸ˜€

  5. Wishing B a happy and wonderful life!!

    Taurus Hmmm.. like me.. Not that I beleive in Linda G stuff or astro numero things… but based on whatever you have written so far about him and whatever I was at around his age..watch out for these things:
    1) his love and protection for you and his sister
    2) his respect for his dad
    3) his TEMPER ( one day.. it will come out.. like a raging bull)
    4) skinny or not, he will be a tough nut

  6. Happy budday, sweetest Brat!! I will always remember the Brat’s date too because he shares it with someone very dear to me who is no more but was born on 5-5-55:-)

    Let me just say that the Brat’s sensitivity reminds me so keenly of him.

  7. Dear Brat,

    Many Many happy returns of the day.. MM, the last picture is just too good… such a handsome boy.. I know you don’t like to hear it but he is carbon copy of OA πŸ™‚
    5/5/5 boy!

  8. Congratulations B’day Boy…continue to make proud in your sweet sweet ways πŸ™‚

    MM- I was all okay and smiles for the photos until the last one. He looks very grown up 😦 Maybe always saw his backside shots or alongside beanie..this one took me by surprise!That look and composure :O

    He is definitely going to break many hearts, I can see πŸ˜€

  9. Very beautiful post darling. A very happy birthday and sol wishes to the child.

    Six is big. When my older child turned 6, I felt very different. I think it struck because, I couldn’t find clothes for her in the toddler section. I had to shop in girls section. I remember standing in Target and desperatly looking for 5X, biggish 5 year clothes!

    I think Boo also mentioned this in her post πŸ™‚

  10. Awww.. Happy birthday to Mr. Brat. I remember so many of these pictures from your old, old blog (except the world famous Kangiiii one)- I feel like I have grown up with him too πŸ™‚

    Wishing him all the joy that life has to offer.

  11. Happy Birthday Brat! I have heard so much about you. I hope that the world is blessed with the brilliance of your spirit for a long time to come.

    You are a seriously awesome mom, themadmomma. mad props to you =D I don’t think he could have a picked a better mom to nurture his personality.

  12. He presses his face against my chest. β€œI can hear your heartbeat, mama….. Will you still be my mama when I am a grown up? Will you still love me?”

    “Uh huh… just as long as you can hear my heart beating.

    Happy Birthday sunshine. Happy Birthday bright eyes. Happy Birthday mama’s life. Keep smiling, keep shining…”

    You made me shed a tear or two!! My baby is my sunshine too. πŸ˜€

  13. My goodness!! He is so grown up, thank you for the wonderful last pic, feels like we haven’t seen him in ages… couldn’t stop starting at him to memorise his face.

    Many many happy returns of the day Brat!! May God give you all that you wish for and more..

  14. Ooooh, 6 is big, alright! I was grinning at ‘sales pitch’! You are so right….raising a son is something every feminist has to do!

    Happy birthday to the big boy!

  15. Happy birthday brat. I have been waiting for this post since I read the anniversary one. I kept thinking it will be brat’s bday in a week. I have been following your blog for so long now that I keep waiting for these bday posts on march 14th and may 5th.
    I have a daughter and a son and I have always wanted just daughters. But my son did change my thinking completely in just these six months since he was born. I hope he turns out to be gentle and caring like brat.

  16. happy birthday brat and happy celebrations of the day that made you a mom…. much love and good wishes

  17. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to the Brat. I knew when I logged on today that I’d see this post :).
    he looks so gorgeous. and reading this made me wish a teeny bit for a son. throughout my pregnancy i was secretly hoping for a girl and somehow sure it would be a boy. when the doc told me it’s a girl it was like all my dreams come true. but maybe boys aren’t so bad after all. and he looks just like in the bean in the first few pics. i really got confused.

  18. Happy Birthday dear Brat.
    You are unaware of hundreds of Aunties like me
    sending virtual kisses and hugs and prayers to you.

    Lots of love,
    Jyothy ( a bigh fan of mm adn theblog).

  19. Darling baby Brat, happy birthday. You’re the reason so many of us started reading this blog, the reason we all know your Mad Momma :). It seems like only yesterday, when I fell in love with you and your wickedly, cheeky smile (that picture up there). Isn’t there a rule against babies growing up so fast? 😦
    Stay Mamma’s sunshine, always.You’re special and you are much loved. Big hugs.

    P.S: When is the birthday party?

  20. MM its such a heart warming write-up, loved every word about Brat πŸ™‚ wish him a blessed life with his loving family by his side :)and i really love his eyes πŸ™‚ they speak of sunshine and innocense

  21. happy 6th dear brat!!! remembered to come and comment here as i wrote down the date at my childrens daycare :)) MM these are lovely pictures with a lovely post…

  22. yes..was waiting for this birthday post πŸ™‚ happy birthday dear brat.. Have seen most of these photos in ur old blog but loved seeing them again..and yes brattie baby looks like a big boy in the last pic πŸ™‚ hugs to him..

  23. Aawwww! A Very very Happy Birthday to the Brat!

    This was one more – ‘goosebumps’ post πŸ™‚ Lovely MM.

  24. Happy Birthday to the little big boy!!! He is sure goign to be a heartbreaker – that sweet but serious face πŸ˜€
    My daughter turns one – yes ONE OMG!!!! – next week and I think I know what it feels like to see them grow up so fast πŸ™‚

  25. It is exhilarating and heartbreaking at the same time to see the cuddly bundle all grown up and lean! 😦 and πŸ™‚ too. Muuaahhh, Brat! Happy birthday!

  26. Happy B’day Brat and may you have many many more happy ones to come.

    MM, this is the first time i am seeing Brat’s grown up pic. Looks handsome πŸ™‚

  27. Hi MM,

    Have been a lurker on your blog(s) for a couple of years now and what drew me in was your amazing writing and your gorgeous Brat and Bean.

    Many wishes, and a very Happy Birthday to him.

    xoxo
    Dee

  28. Aww, Happy Birthday Brat!the pics are adorable and I especially like the one with the toothy grin and no hair πŸ™‚

    MM, I was reading this post and thinking about a conversation I had with a dear friend recently. She wants a girl so badly that she’s willing to adopt rather than go through 9 months of pregnancy and then holding a baby boy!I might just pass this one to her so that she can how how things can be different, good different!

    And I have to tell you this. My masi wanted a girl really really badly and after two boys she was ready to give up but she tried again and the third time it was a girl. She is the sweetest kid I know( in spite of being thoroughly pampered) but even the two sons are amazing. They’re super protective of their sis and mom and they practically run the house, so its quite common for us to find out that masi and cousin sis are out shopping while the two boys are at home cooking or some such. πŸ™‚

    • Please do. I wish someone had told me this. Would have spared me the trauma of living with the memory of rejecting my precious son, even if it was only for a few hours.

  29. Think I have posted this video, before also… but, whenever I read a post about Brat.. this song comes to my head. So posting it here again, and wishing him a great year ahead.

    Oh, like everyone else is saying… the last photo is ‘wow’ material πŸ™‚

  30. That last picture… so grown up! Happy birthday to the very special still-little-to-us Brat!

    And you are not a typical Indian mom. Your son is something different. And the part about why God gave you a boy child, you could’ve been writing that for me.

  31. Happy happy birthday to the Brat!

    Just the other day, I met the six year old son a colleague. He isn’t a baby, he is a little boy with his own tastes and ideas and opinions. And I though…the Brat is going to turn 6 this 5th May…and I was really taken aback by how much of grown up boy the Brat is now. Somehow, I still think of him as the toddler he was when I started reading your blog.

  32. “He presses his face against my chest. β€œI can hear your heartbeat, mama….. Will you still be my mama when I am a grown up? Will you still love me?””
    –These words bought tears in me.Congrats on your blessing and Enjoy his birthday with him.
    I sometimes wonder how such little ones of our life make an emotional fool of ourselves πŸ™‚
    Been reading your blogs for quite a while and commenting for the first time, loved all of them…keep them coming.
    -Shyamala

  33. Happy birthday to our Brat, he brings a smile to our faces thanks to all the posts his mom does about him! Here’s a verse to bless the lil good man.

    Isaiah 46:4
    Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you’.
    Lotsa huggies to him,

    h

  34. Happy bday and a big hug to the handsome and charming little fellow.

    What a coincidence- all our little ones are losing a tooth around the same time!

  35. Happy Birthday Brat! May you always be your own person.
    The world will always want you to be someone else, but will always accommodate you being you.

  36. Happy B’day to Brat! Loved the pics. Anybody who celebrates B’day in May sounds related, it’s my b’day month too, though I am not a Taurean.
    Wish him loads of love
    and lots of blessings.

  37. Was waiting for the triple 5 ka post… many many more to come brattie…love and blessings from one more virtual aunt…

  38. Happy Birthday to the Brat. The pics are adorable πŸ™‚ I remember most of these but dont remember the kangi wala pic.Pls put that up sometime. Wishing him loads of fun for his birthday!

  39. Oooh MM, he’s turning into such a handsome boy! Kala tika and all that. πŸ™‚
    Here’s hoping he has a phataphati year ahead.

  40. Happy Birthday to the Brat- I was crunching numbers in an excel to put team stats into – and the moment I keyed in 05-05-11, I thought – I have to call MM now. But sadly, been too busy through the day to. Will call later in the evening, though. And hugs to the Brat – as someone said – beautiful- inside and out..

  41. Happy Birthday, Brat!! May you have a wonderful day and an even better year ahead. I’ve already stated how much I love the Brat many times over, so I’m not going to say anymore.

    P.S: The Brat is growing up to be awesome. I don’t think he’ll want to marry me. 😦

  42. Just for the Brat…I assume you have the book?

    When I was One,
    I had just begun.
    When I was Two,
    I was nearly new.
    When I was Three
    I was hardly me.
    When I was Four,
    I was not much more.
    When I was Five,
    I was just alive.
    But now I am Six,
    I’m as clever as clever,
    So I think I’ll be six now for ever and ever.

    Happy Birthday!

    M

  43. OMG, Taurus just like me! 4 days after me!
    Happy Birthday Brattie Boy! Its funny how this blog has made me feel like I actually KNOW the Brat and the Bean. And if I really did, today I would tell him how lucky he is to have you guys for parents πŸ™‚

    Congratulations MM!

  44. can i say something….as i was scrolling down the pics and suddenly saw the face in the last pic i was wondering why have you put OA’s pics….till i saw the entire last pic. Such is the resemblance I can almost visualize him anchoring shows like his famous dad.

  45. Happy 6th Birthday Brat! My daughter was due the same day (same year too) but ended up being born on Friday the 13th :-).
    -NW

  46. So the God chose a wonderful 05-05-05 to send in a lovely, empathetic, soulful little boy into the world?? Have a blessed year, dear Brat!! I wish you more of your innate self for this year and for many more years ahead…Happy Birthday!! God bless you!!

  47. AWWWW!!!! Happy B’day my B’day-sake! Wish you a lifetime of Celebrations and happiness. Muaaaaaah !
    n OMG at this post MM…. Check your email…n u’ll u’stand why the OMG!
    He is such a handsome boy, your son! Why no pics from year 5 n 6 😦

        • yikes. what have i missed? i still havent checked my mail btw, so if it is something you mailed me about, i am very sorry. err… happy… something? shall check mail and complete this wish!

          • aiyyyo! “B-day sake” means nothing?? u forgot what i was doing on 5.5.5 ??? I was my B’day yester dear n now i’m in the last year of my 20s!

            From reading the email…u will see what i have said about Brat’s connection to me wanting a baby girl/boy !

            k there u go..explained it all !

  48. Happy happy birthday dear Brat!
    Your post just resonated with me. Me too wanted a daughter – just! But when my son came along there was no looking back πŸ™‚
    He is 2.5 yrs and has started just coming to me and hugging, or giving me a kiss and my heart just melts and my eyes well up – I have no idea whats going to happen when he starts talking to me like the way your Brat does! I see my lil one in your Brat – thank you and God Bless him.

  49. Brat – you are so wonderful. And so are you lucky momma. Huggz and love. From another mom-son pair.

  50. Wish You a Very Very Happy Birthday Brat!! I have not met you but kudos to your Mom she has written so much about you that it seems like I have known you all these 6 Yrs:))

    May you continue to make your parents proud with every growing year.

    Glod bless you

    -Bhavani

  51. I identify with what you wrote completely!!! I was yearning for a daughter and had a son first. I always found my son so easy to manage. And like you, I also think if I had my daughter first, she’d be the only one – she’s quite a handful.

    Beautiful pictures!!!! I love the last one…he’s a heartstealer for sure.

  52. Happy Birthday Bratty boy! You deserve to be born in this happy family and the family deserves you!

  53. what a gorgeous little guy!
    a belated Shubho Jonmodin, and much love to both him and his mama πŸ™‚
    (you do know Bengali,right?)

  54. Happy Birthday, darling Brat. Lots of birthday hugs and kisses from auntie Rita and Popol.

    You know, mads, Brat reminds me so much of Popol. He’s also a gentle, loving kid like Brat. May God bless them both.

  55. Congratulations on 6 successful years of motherhood and a very happy birthday to the Brat. He is so adorable!!

  56. Happy Birthday Brat! God bless you!
    MM you are indeed blessed to have him!

    Like you, I also wanted a daughter & got a wonderful one. My hubby tried to dissuade me from finding out the sex of the child when I was 18 weeks pregnant, while I was dying to know. He was afraid of me going into depression & what not if it happened to be a boy! Now, that I have a daughter, I am reluctant to go for a second one. She is more than a handful!She turns 5 by the end of this month. How fast they grow up!

  57. My heart went flip flop when I saw the last picture! I have very happily and will a lot of joy watched this guy grow up on your bog and somehow inexplicably feel a part of his and beanie’s life. May the universe bestow the best on brattie- now and forever. I’m not sure why but when I think of brattie and beanie I think…”The prince and the warrior” ..in that order.

  58. you are so good with putting your emotions and life into words.. and you know that already right? I love each of them. and you are so honest about your basic thoughts.. Its a pleasure to read what you write. the boy, being raised by a strong mumma is gonna be one of the most sensitive and sensible and strong man one fine day! Happy Birthday to him.. no brainer, you say that so often but its pretty evident too from the pics that he gets all the charm from his handsome dad :)and congratulations for completing 6 years of parenthood.. He is special coz he gave that to you..

  59. by ‘HE’ in the last line I meant the baby but then it could mean more which wasn’t intended to be meant but nevertheless ;).. btw, does ur husband know how many of your readers are his admirers here? n u must take all the credit for that, coz its what you write here that creates an image.

  60. Happy Birthday, Brattie!

    And MM, its almost that long that I’ve been reading you. It feels so nice seeing all those baby pics all over again πŸ™‚

  61. Happy Birthday dear Brat ! MM, as you mentioned, may be there is a reasoning why God gives sons first to women who are feminists πŸ™‚ – to make us realise how sensitive and loving a boy can be.

    My son is 2 yrs old. The other day, I hurt him by accident. He had a huge bump on his forehead and we were both crying together. But he was very forgiving, made me sleep on his chest and gave me lots of hugs as he felt that I was feeling bad and guilty.

  62. happy birthday Brat! I want and need a baby girl too….never thought of any other way!
    but if the baby boy cab be somebody like brat….I would love to have a male child….and also we need more of such in the society …they can be a positive change….
    God bless him….and his gentle soul always !

  63. Many many happy returns of the day..my granny used to say..with a child a mom also takes birth..as she learns new things and enters a new world of happiness, joy and challenges. She learns an all together new meaning of life. As you said, you overcame gender bias…I just hope that many parents out there are able to come out of similar gender bias when they are blessed with daughters :).

    BTW – I too call my daughter my sunshine. πŸ™‚

  64. and yes, he is strikingly handsome at age 4…..MM…with his nature and looks…..he is going to break hearts πŸ™‚

  65. “I thank God that he gave me a child I learned to love for the person he is, as opposed to a daughter whom I’d have rejoiced in simply for her gender.” I love that line, and it increases my respect for you in a deep and inexplicable way. Love.

  66. Happy Birthday to the Brat! May God bless him with strength & opportunities to follow his own path…

  67. Happy Birthday to Brat! I have been reading this blog on and off and as always it is a pleasure reading. I have kids in the same age group as you and hence it feels close to what I see.

    Congrats to you MM and OA!

  68. Awwwww awwwww awwwww such a beautiful post πŸ™‚

    Many many happy returns of the day to the Brat, though belated. He really sounds like an angel of a child to nurture, the sunshine of one’s life. πŸ™‚

    LOL @ people with external plumbing πŸ˜€

    I used to think the same way: I’ve always wanted a daughter, so that I could raise her differently. I wanted to make her independent, strong, one who could stand up against the whole world. Your post made me realise that perhaps I need a son, though I might want a daughter. πŸ™‚

  69. This is too much..not a mom yet and still I feel so desperate to hold kids close. May he have many happy years ahead of him, and live the life he likes…hugs to you MM.

    How will I ever let my babies grow up.. 😦

  70. Hello MM
    I am Vrushali.
    I am commenting on your blog for the 1st time but I’ve been reading it for a while. Sorry for not commenting earlier.
    I want to wish the brat a very happy birthday.
    Your posts about brat always remind me of my baby brother,too gentle,sensitive,loving & caring,humble to be a boy.
    And, when you write about your precious Bean,well it always makes me want to have a girl baby.
    This month,me & my husband would be celebrating our 1st marriage anniversary & MM I want to admit that reading your posts makes my faith more strong in marriage & motherhood.
    I wish you & your family all the happiness,joy,love & success.
    Thank you MM for sharing the wonders of motherhood with us.

  71. Dear MM,

    Big fan of your blog and a regular silent reader πŸ™‚ I have a question. I have a cousin who is about the same age as you are, and she has 2 boys, who are both around the same age as your kids. She desperately wanted a girl.. to the extent that for some time she refused to look at the second son when he was born and refused to nurse him… And even today, she cribs about it constantly. About the fact that she has 2 super cute boys running around all the time and getting into mischief and no little girl to set the balance right. So my question is this.. Would your life have been any different if the Bean had been a boy? I’m just trying to understand why my cousin sister detests the fact that she has 2 boys. I’d like your opinion on it.

    • umm.. I don’t know. I guess we all have a dream. A path we want our life to follow. I badly wanted one girl and one boy, didn’t mind the order I guess. Why did I want one each? I guess because to me it meant a balance of a sort. A balance might be different in other lives. Also, a mother (to my understanding) always yearns for a girl because you can relate to one. I find it harder to relate to my son.
      Would my life have been different with two boys? hugely so I think. For one, any other child, another girl, if not the Bean, would have their own personality. Gender does play a huge role in the way we identify ourselves and I think boys align themselves to their fathers early. Same goes for girls – the Bean will often say, we’re two girls, they are two boys, we will sit this side, they will sit that side…. and so on.
      Even as she grows, I hope to have an ally in her. I know that no matter what happens, girls stick by their parents. Even if in a very cranky way like me! Boys are often forced to make choices and …damn. this is a post in itself. maybe I should post my opinion in a post? Wait for it…

  72. My cousin keeps complaining about missing out on having a girl and tired of 2 boys..she does it in their presence, and I’m worried that these happy children would be affected by this later in life..

  73. Happy birthday cutie!

    He’s adorable MM. Wait till those teeth start to fall out—they get cuter than you can even imagine!!!

    PS:Loved that picture of him with the tub of stuff on his face—we have a similar picture of V, reveling in besan flour (don’t ask!)!!

  74. Happy belated birthday to the Brat.He sounds like a wonderful child (and of course, he looks adorable!)

  75. Hey there Baby Brat! Not a baby anymore eh?
    This post, esp the pics made me spill a tear. The last post almost got my heart to my mouth, and I’m not a mother. I know what you must feel, he’s growing up too fast! πŸ™‚
    He’s a beautiful baby, who will become a beautiful man. It has always been tough to choose a favourite from your do aankhein. But my heart melts when I read something about him. There s something about this boy of yours!
    Hope he had a nice little birthday. Belated birthday wish my boy. May you live longer than the stars and shine brighter than all of them.

  76. Happy Birthday Brat…such cute photos..and i must say he looks so much like my nephew who’s ummm just 17 days old…but i guess i am a doting meymaa…so lots of ummas and kettipidis to brat. I hope my gundaps grows up to be such a fine young man πŸ™‚

  77. belated Happy Birthday to the Brat!! He’s 6??? Why does time fly so fast? I am in denial about A turning 1, can only imagine how you feel!

  78. Such a sweet, beautifully written post. I agree that God knows what we need better than we do. What a beautiful thing to discover! It sure does go fast! We’re probably getting an early visit from the tooth fairy at our house; my 3 year old will likely be getting his injured tooth extracted. (By the way, I’ve found this Mom’s Guide to have helpful tooth info if you ever need it!) I’ll probably be right there with ya: how is my baby old enough for this??

  79. surprised on reading your lines about men!
    dad, bro, the OA – there are so many nice men around for you! and you still had to have the brat to think nice about men :-)) ??

    • πŸ™‚ I think there is a huge difference in growing up around good men and in raising one. At this stage they are so transparent that you can actually watch their brains working. That is when you realise the honesty and the decency deep down there…

  80. Pingback: And the Brat turns seven | The Mad Momma

And in your opinion....

