On the way to school

He’s a couple of inches shorter than her and is wearing great big glasses, a huge school bag weighing his shoulders down. They are running for school, her plait flying behind her. They decide to jump over a raised portion of the garden and in seconds he deftly leaps over. She stops and even though she is older and bigger, struggles with her heavy school bag. He turns around and hops over again – ‘De do didi,” he says and yanks it over the stretch of grass, while she runs ahead.

How early little boys learn to take care of their sisters. What would we do without our little 6 year old brothers dragging our heavy bags for us? What makes them take care so early? Why does the Brat hang on for dear life to a careless wriggly struggly Bean when we’re around a busy road? Why does she pull his head down to her lap and pat him to sleep? What would we do without siblings?

The picture above was clicked at the Deer Park in Hauz Khas. We’re standing on top of some ruins and the Brat is holding on to the Bean so that she doesn’t go headfirst into the lake.

44 thoughts on “On the way to school

  1. Sibling love is a strong bond! I have a younger sister and I know how it feels. And I feel guilty *sometimes* about not letting N, my son, have someone he can share that bond with. But I don’t seem to see this as a convincing reason to have a 2nd child 😦 Consider this a rambling of a late night sleepless soul. I am just thinking out loud. Your post made me do that!

  2. Hey.. it’s your blog, your space.. etc. etc. you can write whatever you want to.. but since I do not have OA’s contact info.. can you please pass my Salaam to him ( for not only proposing and marrying a emotional atyachaar like you, but actually living it daily) ?

    P.S.: Like my all the e-mails, you do have the right to not publish this

    P.S. (2): I always thought that I am the only living example of living with a emotional wreck.. OA beats me.. the more I read your blog the more I am convinced of it.

    P.S. (3): How on the earth you can be so emotional and rational?? You do understand that they both are not handy?

    • πŸ˜€ i don’t think he notices my drama. its now like a daily cup of tea. why do you think i blog? so that i can vent and be perfectly sane in my real life.
      – of course i will publish.
      – LOL! you might be true.
      – Am I both? could be because I am a Libran. I see both sides of every story.

      • MM — for a particular situation u r either E or R ..still a lot of way to go before u start seeing both sides of it πŸ™‚ , which is true for most of us..

        • what on earth is E or R? I am intrigued
          if its some sort of short form for picking a side, I’d have thought that was fairly obvious – isnt that the point of blogging? its most boring to read or write something on the fence.. isnt it?
          I personally wouldn’t touch a news article/post, that didn’t take a stand!
          that said – you ALWAYS take a stand when you comment here, so i am sure you understand me perfectly πŸ˜€

          • The legend of E or R is slightly longish to write and i am not MM who can interact with atleast 50 of us online all at one time..as for the other part you urself have answered it , the idea of commenting on ur blog is to interact with u else y would i want to comment..

  3. Oh! This reminds me of how I’ve held on to my sister at all times when we played in our society premises every evening. But then, I am a good 6 yrs elder to her.

    B&B are kind of close in age, and yet watching the Brat’s protective side take over as he holds the Bean is well.. so endearing! πŸ™‚

  4. How warm that made me feel..

    God bless’em both. πŸ™‚

    [ Note to self: Just read, smile and leave a comment. Stop thinking about gettign ready for the second one. No way! Not yet!]

  5. Awwww thats so sweet…reminds me of the time my brother used to cycle with me sitting behind him 3 kilmeters thrice a week to drop me to the dance class and wait there till I finished to take me back home πŸ™‚ Thanks MM for reminding me :)I am just going to give him a call now πŸ™‚

    • how sweet. its sad that little boys have to do chauffeur duty, but even when i was growing up, it wasnt safe really for a lone girl to be wandering around and it was his job to drop me to a friends place, extra classes, anything. damnit. now you’ve reminded me of how much i owe him!

      • Awww! Bro was 3 years elder to me so he didnt have a choice πŸ˜‰ no but honestly I do owe a LOT to him :)just like you do to Tambi πŸ™‚

  6. I only rmbr constantly fighting with my brother growing up and he was a good 5 years older than me. The only time he was nice was when i fell asleep exhausted in various parts of the house and he’s carry me to my bed and tuck me in.
    Am much closer to him now and I’m glad I have a sibling.

  7. Advait is just 1 now and the kids are 3y3m apart…but there’s so much lou at sometimes…..its pretty ‘awww’.

    Yaay to sibling love. But I am sure, we will have little display of love during their teens. They will get back on track when they are older, I hope.

      • I doubt much will change with the Brat – angel child that he is. The Bean in her teens, ahem, well, cowering and crying might not begin to cover it! πŸ˜›
        Kidding, but I sure hope you are still around, writing.

  8. Can you introduce a “HEART” button next to your posts and allow us to click as many times as we wish, *grinny please*?

  9. You have no idea how much it resonated with me.I have an elder brother who at times we HATE each other because we are like twins we are so alike..SO ALIKE..but hes the only guy for me i want in my corner..they do take care of us when push comes to shove..i know he will be there for me!
    I sent this to him..it meant a lot that someone wrote this and its so trie!

  10. I love love love the brat and bean sibling sagas.
    They remind me of my sibling and I, since much to the everyone’s disbelief we’re both absolute best friends despite being opposites.
    And though he’s younger, Ive always felt like I have an elder brother.
    even our fights last all of 5minutes.

  11. baby no 1 is 10 months old. on most days after food spitting, cupboard emptying, bawling and other such pleasant activities she leaves me lying limp on the floor. I have no trouble telling myself to never ever ever do this again. But then i read some of your posts, or remember something about my brother, or see two of the cutest little ones arm in arm and i can feel the goofy grin spread across my face. But no no no you evil woman. I will NOT have baby no 2. phbtttttt

  12. acho! cuteness!

    my ma used to alwez say there should be one “anna” and one “thangai”.. that makes a complete complete family :)..n how much i used to figut with her..coz i thought the idea sibling pair was me n my sis πŸ™‚

    so i blv my sister’s daughter insists on being sung to sleep…n that too she wants the song “aayar paadi..” only. My ma can’t sing! n so her bro who is 5 yrs old sings her to sleep every afternoon once he returns from school. How cute is that.

  13. I remember my toddler sis sleeping over my shoulder in the school bus while returning back home. After a year when I passed my tenth and she used to travel alone, she one day cribbed to me that no one lets her sleep on their shoulders anymore. I had tears in my eyes 😦

    Being quite elder to her (by 7 yrs), I always feel shes my first kid πŸ˜€ The blood is truly thick I should say! πŸ˜€

And in your opinion....

