Peep in

The Bean walks in. Carrying a handbag. Hair neatly combed, dressed for the day. I look at the very girly image and sigh. Then she delicately puts her bag down, pulls out a plastic gun – and shoots her father. I look into the bag and find it full of balls and a dumper truck.

So much for gender stereotypes.

————-

The Brat is taking what he learns in school too seriously. He walks around the house like a little Gestapo poking his head into kitchens and bathrooms saying – “Paani band karo, duniya mein paani bahut kam hai. Waste nahi karo, didi. Β Hey, turn off the tap. Don’t waste water, there isn’t enough on earth.” It has now reached a stage where we all lock the door if we’re washing our hands and the maid stops washing utensils the moment he walks in.

Also, whenever the OA and I scold him for something, he turns around and lectures us on blood rushing to our heads and us dying. *koff koff* Already. I have a feeling that between his logical arguments and the gun-toting Bean, we’re not going to survive their teens.

35 thoughts on “Peep in

  1. ROFL! πŸ™‚
    I love the contents of Bean’s handbag! Pulling out a gun and shooting the OA- very Kill Bill! πŸ˜€
    And the Brat is such a sweetheart! So young, so smart! πŸ™‚

  2. What a sweetheart the Brat is !! and what a riot Bean is !! Between them, they can get all tapakte nal closed at plastic gunpoint, methinks.

    I couldn’t help but think of the brat when I saw a film on Egypt at Science City in Kolkata. I bet he would love it – with all the glory of nature and the crazy 3D effect in that hall.

  3. LOL
    honestly, both of them are such sweethearts. πŸ™‚

    maybe with the perfect blend of wild and gentleness, you WILL sail through their teens oh-so-easily. πŸ˜€

  4. see, yin and yang.

    you’ll survive, i have a feeling they’ll somehow balance it out πŸ˜€

    rofl @ the lectures πŸ˜€ i can already imagine a teenage brat reading your blog and saying, “mamma, this stuff is bad for your arteries. may be i should moderate your comments?”

  5. Your lil boy dragged me by my hand before lunch because I had washed my hands with water but it wasn’t enough; you have to ‘wash your hands with soap before khana’. πŸ™‚
    I don’t know why that came to my mind, reading this post. One beeg, tight hug to the babies. The Bean is the coolest baby girl I know. Everytime I think of her, I burst out laughing at some antic or the other that I remembered! (She told me, very, VERY, matter-of-fact-ly, that ‘she eats bhindi because she loves it. You don’t eat something you don’t love, no?’)

  6. Awww, that bean is awesome. And the brat exists to make you a better people πŸ˜€

    Together, they will rule the world πŸ˜€

  7. Okay..don’t hate me..but the 1st visual in my mind after reading this was of a Sexy Bean ..wearing knee-high boots and a mini skirt..all black! And then as I read about the brat…the kiddos image came right back n she was wearing this pink skirt with flowers on them πŸ™‚

    U can’t deny if I said the brat is learning from his parents no…..what’s to complain when he is learning good things huh?![just teasing u !] I think these babies will be as edible as they are now when they are teenagers πŸ˜‰

  8. oh beanie, you have a good company here at home…race cars,legos, hot wheels, spiderman on bike are nothing infront of the very few dolls she has. Charlie’s angels! you go girls! so much for sterotypes.

    brat! you keep us all so grounded!thank you Mr.

    MM,you will fly through their teens and beyond. think of Beanie’s ‘not so girly’ wedding..hahha

  9. haha! What Bean destructs Brat rebuilds :)! Regd. Brat, I am glad they are teaching him that stuff at school. Lord knows many adults need some lessons on how one needs to be gentle to our planet!

  10. There’s a saying in Sindhi that describes what the Brat is doing and I still get to hear it from my mom when I lecture her about something: “Jatt padyo, Alah adyo” – loose translation: “The villager got an education, God received frustration” πŸ™‚

  11. And here I was hoping it’ll get easier when my 2nd turns 3 and starts preschool.. (they’re 4 and 1 right now).. I think I already know the answer but I’ll hear it from you given you’re in that phase..

  12. More Kill Bill power to the bean!
    As for the brat, well, I can imagine him as a cool environmental activist or some such, spilling other people’s beans, and having the girls chase him for being a man with a cause. He will be super liked, if fb still exists then

  13. Larry King once wisely said, “I remind myself every morning: Nothing I say this day will teach me anything. So if I’m going to learn, I must do it by listening.” That is precisely how I feel. I am thankful to have learned something new today.

  14. Go go go Bean. She sure will be a head turner when in teens and hope you’ll be able to cope with the number of boys running around your house πŸ˜‰
    And the Brat is such a…. I dunno what to say. That boy melts my heart. But sure it’s gonna be a bit of problem if he starts lecturing his GF about water scarcity πŸ˜‰

And in your opinion....

