You want to what??

Dear father of my children,

I grew up in a home where we all trained in classical music. My grandmothers played the piano. My father and brother were rockers with the best. And so were the men I dated. I married you even though you had none of the credentials. Because I am generous that way.

I really didn’t even imagine you’d have anything to do with the introduction of music to our children. And without really intending to, I have introduced them to a variety of music from Pink Floyd and BB King to Abida Parveen and Illayaraja. Just while I am around the house, not deliberately.

And then you go and introduce them to Β this

and this.

And then the three of you bop around the house screaming the lyrics and dancing while I go purple in the face. THIS is what you’re teaching my kids? Even Cousin J introducing them to Rihanna and Eminem was preferable to this.

The divorce papers are in the mail.

Your heartbroken wife,

MM

35 thoughts on “You want to what??

  1. You mean, you did not introduce your kids to this?? *Looks Shocked*
    Whats not to like in Scatman John I tell you??? * I am playing it on a loop now*

    Please dont hate me πŸ™‚

  2. I’m never going to stop chuckling at Eiffel 65-Blue. What was that? I’m with you on this one. You should introduce them to The Beatles, and Coldplay.

  3. I know you love “Friends” references, the 90s girl that you are, so let me bring up this lil ditty “I love big butts and I can not lie”. So, yeah, it could be a LOT worse.

  4. lmao. even though i have no clue about what those musicians are.. stop stop stop hyperventilating…it will be all okay .. trust me. my kiddo is musically gifted… voice and piano ( trinity grade 4 ) even though he refuses to practice. he has bought himself a guitar and wants to teach himself.. and yes.. he has eminem and stuff on the ipod but also hums kabhi kabhie.. and rehna tu and adores stairway to heaven.
    chillax. or go back to working full time !! πŸ˜€

  5. at least it’s better that they sing this instead of singing “darling (saat khoon maaf)” which my son is singing evrywhere these days

  6. Yo listen up…i have been listening to both songs since u posted this…takes me right back to my teen years

    Ok if u can divorce the OA am sure u are going to ban me from your blog…

    I hope OA makes them listen to mmmm bop by Hanson!

  7. I LOVE blue da ba dee. Listen to it from time to time. Really, why can’t you spot genius for it is? πŸ˜›

    and from what I can see from the comments, you should be thankful it’s the OA and not the readers who are having a go at introducing Music to Brat and bean.

  8. LOLz

    No divorce talk pliss. As someone has said, not even metaphorically. There’s already so much divorce talk going on everywhere – it makes my stomach churn. You guys are perfect together – and our inspiration for a wonderful married life πŸ™‚

And in your opinion....

