The compulsiveness instead of the impulsiveness – 18.05.2006

THURSDAY, MAY 18, 2006

The compulsiveness instead of the impulsiveness

Ok, so I don’t really have any devoted readers hanging upon my every word yet, but I still feel the need to update my blog once in a while. A bit of compulsion – not the impulsive need to put down something about a burning issue!
I would have written about poor Budhia running 65 kilometres before he collapsed – particularly because as a new mommy I feel a lost more strongly about little children than I ever did before – but seeing the amount of media space he got, I realised I was adding to the frenzy. So where is poor Budhia now? While Sabrina Lall and the medical students can keep their cause alive, who will fight for little Budhia? And after all the hullabaloo, he doesn’t even get his Limca Book mention.
I could of course add my two paise worth on reservations and quotas but there is little left to say when all has been said. Besides, who is listening? It is also rather ironic that the existing quotas are not fully utilised and that the very same SCs and OBCs for whom the quotas are being granted, are dying in hospitals while doctors go on strike to protest it.
So then let me talk about something that no one else cares about yet means the world to me. I lost my grandmother 5 days ago. She had Alzheimer’s and was suffering, but saying she is in a better place is such a cliche and really doesn’t fill the void. And it was while we were sitting around her body and grieving that my aunt mentioned in an embarassed way that it was Mother’s Day. My mother broke down further but I got up and kissed her anyway, and my cousins hugged and wished my aunt. And then suddenly everyone kissed and wished me and I realised I was the youngest and newest mommy on the block. Yes, we had lost one mommy and were all grieving, but the circle of life goes on and I was part of the continuity. In all the hugging and kissing, my little one year old toddled up to me and aping the rest of the family, gave a sloppy little kiss. I know my grandmother was smiling down on her little great grandson for consoling her favourite grandchild. May her soul rest in peace.

 

14 thoughts on “The compulsiveness instead of the impulsiveness – 18.05.2006

  1. Pingback: Life goes on…. | Asaaan

  2. Awww. My Thatha and Paati were the final straw that tilted my decision towards choosing Chennai – they are both nearing 90 yrs and I want to be able to go see them whenever I want to.
    We are lucky to have grown up with garndparents and as I wrap up work to head to my Thatha Paati’s place tomorrow (while a war at work rages on and I am fighting some big shot-asses at work!), the mere thought of that house and being with them, makes everything worth its while! Even the daylong powercuts and mosquito menace and absent maids! 🙂 Merry Christmas.

  3. Does this mean you won’t put up a Christmas post? i know i say this as if you’re putting on a show for us, and i know you’re not, i know you’re busy with life. But it would be nice! 😀

    Only if it’s NOT too much trouble! 😀

    Otherwise, Merry Christmas! God bless the Mad household!

  4. You know MM your old posts are taking me on a major nostalgia trip..some I remember vividly some I don’t but with the ones I do they take me to the time when I read them first.I remember I read the posts reproduced so far on my old HP laptop (sigh).- remember where I as in life then etc.Keep it coming .MM

  5. You kno
    w MM your old posts are taking me on a major nostalgia trip..some I remember vividly some I don’t but with the ones I do they take me to the time when I read them first.I remember I read the posts reproduced so far on my old HP laptop (sigh).- remember where I as in life then etc.Keep it coming .MM

  6. I’m imagining a 1-yr old kissing his mommy not knowing why she is so upset….the visual is heart-breaking and endearing at the same time!

And in your opinion....

