Bye bye, baby

He pushes his luggage trolley and enters the terminal. The crowds swallow him and I strain my eyes but no trace of him remains. I sag with grief and the tears I’ve been holding back over the last week come rushing out. My baby brother just left and the next time I lay eyes on him, he’ll be a father. He’ll walk out of that airport carrying a baby in his arms and for the first time in the 30 years he’s been my brother, he won’t be the focus of my attention. Until next year then, Tambi…

Also, there’s something so final about parenthood. It seems that you’re never truly an adult until you’re responsible for another person’s life. He left the country, did well for himself, heads a team, owns a house, a Porsche, got married… but he was still a baby. My baby brother. And all of a sudden, overnight, he’s grown up.

And until now the two of them were just a young couple, a part of our family. Come January they truly become their own unit. A family.

Bye bye, baby. Hello, big boy.

I leave you with a picture of Tambi maama and the Bean sitting out in my parents’ dining room and the Bean showing him a bird in the ceiling – yes, the ceiling is a canopy of greenery and flowers…

23 thoughts on “Bye bye, baby

  1. I sympathise, MM…my baby brother just left for college in the UK and I’m having a hard enough time dealing with that aspect of his growing up…kudos to you for dealing with your baby brother becoming a dad!

    Love how perfectly you’ve captured the same measure of pride and sorrow and nostalgia that I feel

  2. Sigh. And life becomes even more beautiful.

    The error was on my part. I have fixed it and blogrolled you. I had to.

  3. ‘there’s something so final about parenthood. It seems that you’re never truly an adult until you’re responsible for another person’s life.’ – so true. can so relate to this, having seen my cousin bros becoming dads. 🙂

    All the best to your bro..

  4. Loved the other pic from the same set. Of Tambi Maama and Beanie. They both looked so comfortable and there was this look on both their faces that said ‘I’m in the best place on earth’ 🙂

  5. I can so understand the ‘you’re never truly an adult until you’re responsible for another person’s life’!

    Tambi mama and the Bean look so cute! How do you manage to capture so many candid pics that do not show the face? Do you walk around with a camera?

  6. Awwww….so well written MM! I can soooo relate to this having a younger brother of my own who is newly married. So I can just imagine these feelings in my heart when time comes for him to grow his own family.

  7. U must be missing ur bro sooooooooooo much 😦

    That’s what sucks about us moving so far away from family n home…the Bye Byes!

  8. A wonderful tribute to a loving sibling relationship. A part and parcel of life I guess.

    Congrats on being a daddy Thambi 🙂

    And of course, congrats to Aunty MM and Uncle OA!

  9. Awwww I am sending a link to this post to my baby sister. Apparently she doesn’t like being the baby of the family, I think she loves it and pretends not to 😛 Forget having children, I think her getting married will be difficult to get over!

  10. Ummm for a sec i thought u had packed off Brat somewhere!!!

    Beanie looks so cute and small in her maama’s hands…what a lovely snap.!

    Hugs MM…the baby has gone to get u another baby!

  11. Hello MM,

    Is there an address I can send you a private message to? I have a question to ask and I promise it isn’t spam.

    Thanks ever so much, in advance.

    F

  12. awwww! 🙂

    whats with the mama’s and the kids! Cub gets to see his mama for few days every year too. whi firangi funda! but the moment they see each other, god its like they have never been apart!

    god bless! 🙂

    hugs

  13. There’s something so final about parenthood. It seems that you’re never truly an adult until you’re responsible for another person’s life. 🙂

    I am linking your post/bloglink on my FB status. You so deserve being read by millions! Much love!

And in your opinion....

