A family

It’s not easy to start thinking of your children as real human beings. Not so long as they’re playing with snot, running around bare-bottomed and generally behaving like Thing One and Thing Two.

And then one morning you wake up and find a little dinosaur soaking in your bath mug, just as you sleepily put your hand out for a toothbrush.

A little face framed in curls engagingly grins at you and says “Mama, look, dada wants to play silly games with me and is messing up the bed”. The man playing peekaboo lowers the counterpane in shock.

A little boy patters down the corridor to put away his plate and glass unasked, and obligingly gets a fresh bottle of cold water for his parents at the dining table.

A little girl lifts up a cold glass and places it on a coaster with – “We mustn’t leave marks on the table..”

Two little children demand their own kiddy living room under the stair case so that they can entertain their friends and decorate it with their Β school made handiwork and a couple of books.

You stare at your old man and find the same question in his eyes … When did this go from being the house of two adults and little mewling brats, to the home of a family of four? When did they become human?!

Perhaps somewhere around the time they began to invest in this home emotionally?

And oh – thank you all for the birthday wishes. I am having a great day Β – possibly the best birthday ever!

50 thoughts on “A family

  1. I am eating the worst cheesecake ever made, but that picture will be perfect dessert!
    There own living room!!

    My toddler is getting smart, he came today with his broken aeroplane and said ‘gussa nahi karna mumma, isko theek kardo. Ok?’. Right!

  2. Dear MM,

    Wish you a very Happy birthday. You have given yourself the best birthday gift…by quitting your job. Nothing in life can equal the time spent nurturing kids and getting nurtured in return. See, they need you and you too need them. Lets hope you get a flexitime job and then it becomes a win-win situation for all. Have fun and take care

    Vinita

  3. Happy Birthday MM πŸ˜€

    Sorry, have gone back to lurking mostly because mine is still in the thing stage. Hugs to the former babies, and oh boy, do I love their living room!

  4. What a pretty picture!! I get the same shock with my almost four year old – yesterday I had a completely coherent grown up conversation with her on phone when she was at her friend’s place…small things shock me, she is still my baby in my mind πŸ™‚

  5. What a lovely kiddies room! I’d have chosen the same space for myself if I were a kid. Smart choice, the Bean and the Brat.

  6. Hi MM–
    I stumbled upon your site a few months ago. LOVE your style of writing…delurking to say–Congratulations on your decision to be a SAHM. It does take lots of courage to make such a big decision and I applaud you for that. And o yea,…Happy Birthday, you share a birthday with my son who is 9 today πŸ™‚

    Devi

  7. God, woman, you’re a mind reader! I’ve been thinking the same things …there’s this post that’s been forming in my mind as well…sparked off by the little guy humming along to “saiyyaan” (Kailash kher). When did he grow up? When did he become this mini human being?

    Happy 32nd!

  8. Our first glimpse of your beautiful home πŸ™‚ !!!!

    My once “Walk in” closet is now occupied by the kids as their library / castle / play room … each time I enter the closet i find new “Decorations”, drawings, curtains (my dupatta) etc … basically a new setting πŸ™‚

  9. Wow. what a beautiful place.
    Happy Bday to you MM.
    You have stairs in the house now? Does that make your knees worse? going up and down all day?

  10. The ‘living room’ under the stairs looks so cosy!

    And the bean uses coasters and is conscious of marks staining the table? Wow! I sure have a lot to learn from her.

    Glad you had a very happy birthday πŸ™‚

  11. Happy Birthday MM. The glimpses of your house here and there are beautiful. Please post more pics of the house. Love the cozy little living room of the brat n the bean.

  12. Awwww

    I LOVE that corner below the staircase!! πŸ™‚
    This pic is so serene and lovely. I loved the post as well. I understand very well that feeling that you get when you see your relationships have evolved to the next stage.

  13. Stumbled on your blog and wish i had discovered it earlier! πŸ™‚ Have 2 young children around the same age as yours and know what you mean about them ‘suddenly’ growing up. which now makes me worry that there is just isn’t ever enough time we will get with them after all! such is life i guess πŸ™‚

  14. Happy birthday, MM. May your heart be happy and your days bright. May your days be smooth and your burdens light. Enjoy your birthday, my dear friend.

  15. Never looked at that way. Kids investing emotionally in their own house. A couple of days ago, Reh was very upset that I threw some junk out of his room and moved some things around. I couldnt understand what the fuss was all about, immediately OCD and other things came to mind. Now I know.

  16. happy belated birthday, mm.
    ahh love that living room!!! i would want one too but mine would have loads of cushions and blankets cuz really, i’d just read and sleep there. πŸ˜€ it looks soo comfy.

  17. Hi MM,

    Happy Birthday! And I LOVE that living room – all bright and nice. Would love to see what you’ve done to the new home… More pics of this house please…

  18. We also used to play house-house. But our living room never looked that brilliant!! Do you do it up for them? I’m gonna give my mom some guilt trip by showing this kiddy living room which I never had! πŸ˜›
    Seriously thats one lovely living room and yea the kids are all grown up now! Sigh! But you see I love well mannered kids who bring cold water bottle for their parents. Already taking care of you old fellas huh?

  19. Your house is looking radiant! Straight out of one of those home decor magazines. I am too busy burning in jealousy to say anything else.

    I have the exact same dhurrie, but why can’t I put it all together tastefully like you do. x-(

  20. Wow..what a gorgeous space they have…do they look after the plants??and what is the picture in the frame of??I’m sure they love it to bits…lucky kiddos..their friends are going to love visiting!!

  21. are you vacaying somewhere? having fun?! πŸ™‚

    the kids living room is lovely! and yes, it just seems like they grow up overnight or we have been refusing to see the signs! hehe!

    one side of Cub’s cupboard has a lot of his school work pasted. now whenever he has something new he comes to me and tells me, “cellotape lao. yeh stick karna hai. kahan pe karenge?!”

    πŸ™‚

    cheers!

  22. Wooow! The kiddy living room is so beautiful..n seems to conform to aesthetics of the home?! Please please tell me it looks so spic n span , only β€˜coz u had to have them cput things where they belong for the picture?

    Oh no why do these babies grow up so fast 😦

  23. I hope you are taking that adoption thing you mentioned the other day, really seriously. I also want to live in a house that looks like that! Is it an apartment? Can you send it here? πŸ˜›

    Or can you at least help me shop when I am in Delhi next?

  24. my kid is well in to his teens – but I still react in pleasant shock ( and that’s not very often ) when he displays his grown up side …like the time i was fast asleep… but not too deeply asleep and i felt him cover me with a sheet.. and he kissed my cheek…

And in your opinion....

