Because music is food. Period. Day 1

We’ve had nothing but painfully cheesy, corny, angsty, mushy posts and I am terrified of Meira losing patience and giving me a yell instead of sweetly suggesting positivity. So here’s music to kick off my week of happy posts. A few old songs that I love. How could I possibly be happy without music?

Pyaar manga hai tumhi se. I love this song because its so openly naked in its want. And then there is Kishore Kumar. What more could one want?

Next up, is Mana ho tum behad haseen. For just the opposite reason. The absolute lack of grovelling. Unfortunately I couldn’t find the original video but Yesudas sure rocks.

I also love this song, Wada karo nahi chhodoge tum mera saath. Obviously there’s a pattern emerging. Kishore, Kishore, Kishore!

I was never a big fan of Β Chalte Chalte even though I heard it often enough. And then one evening before I left for college this friend was strumming a guitar and idly singing it. He has a brilliant voice and it was a combination of leaving home and friends and the beautiful lyrics and I started sniffing. In about ten minutes it was full scale sobbing with 6-7 friends worriedly clustered around me, begging me to stop crying. I’ve never again been able to listen to the song without sobbing – for times gone by, Β people who drifted away and for those who have moved on never to return and for innocence lost. The poor friend refused to sing it again because I’d beg to hear it and be sobbing before he completed the first verse.

And finally, Roz roz aankhon tale, for the sheer beauty of the lyrics. I have yet to come across a more besotted line than Jabse tumhari naam ki misri, honth lagayi hai… Now all I need to do is ignore the video.

Your turn now, readers. Remind me of some of your old favourites. Add to the positives in my day today.

51 thoughts on “Because music is food. Period. Day 1

  1. ‘Mai Ri’ from Dastak always has me sobbing through it. And for peppiness, what better than ‘Janeman janeman’ from Chhotisi baat. And I love all music from the RK movies. Think ‘Jaago Mohan Pyaare’, ‘Aa ab laut chale’ and ‘O Mere Sajan.’ And yes, Kishor Kumar is a favourite with me, and would you believe it, with my 9 yr old, A. ‘AaChal Ke Tumhe’ and ‘Bhola bhola mann’ are her favourites. In fact, I have often used ‘Aa Chal ke tumhe’ as a lullaby for her. If she ever hears it, she comes to cuddle up!

  2. I love Kishore and I love old Hindi songs

    This one is from Shalimar

    this is one sung my Hemant Kumar

    Here is one fun one to cheer you up

    I love Guru Dutt and if you want to be sad do it in Guru Dutt Ishtyle

  3. I like this for the lyrics and music

    This, as the best rain song:

    I could add more, but more interested in other’s choices..

  4. Kisiki muskuraahaton pe ho nisaar from Anari
    – Love love love the lyrics !

    Ruk Jaana Nahin
    – Energizes me everytime I sing the mukhda

    Chookar mere main ko
    – Kishore Kishore Kishore … does one need any other reason πŸ™‚

    Jaaneman Jaaneman tere do nayan
    – Music is simply WOW !!

    Chalte Chalte
    – Funny how it was never my favourite until college happened …

  5. Roz roz is really a great song. Thanks for pointing our your fave part – it does sound so eloquent. Misri is a very Gulzar kind of term in Hindi lyrics, no? For e.g: Jag jaa re gudiya Misri ki pudiya (Omkara). There’s more, I cannot recall though. I also like it when Gulzar talks about the “fragrant secret” of the lady’s eyes –Β Aap ki aankhon mein kuch maheke hue se raaz hai

    My latest fave song is from Ishqiya – Ab Mujhe Koi Intezaar Kahan

  6. Abhi na jaao chhod kar – its my absolute romantic song!
    ‘bus ab na mujh ko tokhna, na badd ke raah rokna,
    agar mein ruk gayee abhi, to ja na paaungee kabhi
    yehee kahoge tum sada ke dil abhi nahi bhara’ –

    What’s not to love? πŸ™‚

  7. oooooh! each one is my favorite….will come back and add a few later. thanks dear for starting my day w/ these.

  8. Hi MM,

    Nice choice of songs. Lovely way to begin a day.

    I’d pick these

    ‘Thoda hai, thode ki zaroorat hain’ from Khatta Meetha

    ‘Aap yaha aaye kis liye’ from Kal Aaj aur Kal

    not to miss..
    ‘Bhaware ki gunjan’ from Kal Aaj aur kal

    πŸ™‚

  9. This post made my day. Thanks MM for reminding me of all the music left in the world to make life easier. I almost forgot the shitty start I had today.
    My fav romantic song is “hume tumse pyar kitna” and peppy one is “mere sapnon ki raani kab aayegi tu” and chalte chalte reminds me of school & college too.. Those days…

    • Pyar manga hai tumhi se.. is so close to me, reminds me of hubs. Keeps singing it all the time. Roz roz is so BEAUTIFUL! This reminds me of another one “rimjhim gire saawan”.

  10. u gave me gooseflesh with the “chalte chalte”example

    Me…rockford – yaaron dosti like u reminds me of friends who i can’t hang out with everyday but still hold so close to my heart

    Lucky Ali – Sunooo -haunting tune and i always wanted someone to sing it for me

    Durr – Strings – mainly coz the man i married sings it so well and umm once dedicated it for me in college.

    and then of course most of 1942 a love story’s song – which remind me of how my mom and i used to listen to it while she combed my hair for school…

    Sighhhh…old age

  11. Oh no, I’m in no condition to yell. At home with a nasty nasty viral, a cold that’s made my voice worse than a croak and suspected Pelvic Girdle Pain. And I’m not even pregnant! Sigh!

    But ‘Ek Chatur naar’ from Padosan cheers me up. I’m listening to 4 Non Blondes yelling ‘What’s Going On’ and trying hard not to croak along πŸ˜€

  12. Roz Roz aankhon tale makes me cry each time.

    Another one of my favorite song and amazing lyric is Kya Yehi Pyar Hai

    Naam Gum Jayega… Meri Awaaz

  13. Awww…u know how to touch that raw nerve…
    Phir Chidi raat phoolon ki ( bazaar)…
    Man kyun behka( Utsav)…jaane kya baat hai( sunny) are some which tops my list…

  14. Sad Mood:
    1) Mere Naina Saawan Bhaadon
    2) Rimjhim Gire Saawan (Sad version)
    3) Manzilein apni jahah hain
    4) O saathi re (Kishore version)
    5) Raah pe rehte hain (Namkeen)
    6) Ek akela is shehar mein
    7) Mera kuchch samaan
    8) Tujhse naraaz nahin zindagi
    9) Tadap Tadap (HDDCS)

    Romantic:
    1) Aane wala pal (Olg Golmaal)
    2) Jaaneman Jaaneman (Chichor)
    3) Jab koi baat bigad jaaye
    4) Kabhi Kabhie mere dil Main (Mukesh)
    5) Aaj se pehle, Aaj se zyaada
    6) Dhadkan zara ruk gayi hai (Prahaar)
    7) Har kisi ko nahin milta
    8) Hothon se choo lo tum
    9) Chaand jaise mukhde pe bindiya sitara

    Happy
    1) Pal pal pal, har pal (Munna bhai)
    2) Thoda hai, Thode ki zaroorat hai

    More to follow….There are just so many songs that touch me..

  15. Awesome stuff! Very often the only silver lining to my day is the music.. and on those long long days, it’s the old music that’s on radio late night. You and the commenters have taken quite a few of my favourites.. but I’ll also bring:

    – Janeman Janeman (can’t help repeating this)
    – Yeh Kya Jagah Hai Doston
    – Dekha Ek Khwab
    – Bhaware Ki Gunjan

    .. and lots more which I’ll add πŸ™‚

    Don’t know if you’ve heard this one, but since you love ‘Pankhon Ko’ from Rocket Singh, I sense you’d like this one too.. I’ve been tripping on it.

    Someone mentioned Omkara’s ‘Jag Ja’.. it’s time for me to revive that old playlist already πŸ™‚

  16. Its the tamil version of Ye haseen vaadiyaan (pudhu vellai mazhai) – for the peacefulness that seeps through me when I listen to me, one of the songs from Thalapathi, and dil se re for their energy, and a couple of other Ilayaraja melodies. For me music has always been abt Rehman or Ilayaraja.

  17. β€˜Mana ho tum’ is sung (beautifully) by Yesudas (in case u thot it was Kishore (” Kishore, Kishore, Kishore!”) .. sorry.. i commented on another post by mistake πŸ˜€

    • no no – i know its yesudas. cant mistake that :)I meant kishore for the other songs. why so anon, huh? give us a name. anyone. pick the name you’d have picked if you’d named yourself

  18. #Tum jo milgaye ho, toh yeh lagta hai, ke jahan milgaya… by Rafi

    #Tum pukar lo by Hemant kumar – yearning conveyed so beautifully.
    “Honth pe liye hue dil ki baat ham
    Jaagte rahenge aur kitni raat ham
    Muqtasar si baat hai tum se pyaar hai”

    Will come back when I remember some more

  19. Taareef Karun Kya Uski, Mere Sapnon Ki Rani, Honthon Se Chhoo Lo Tum and of course, Tujhse Naraaz Nahin Zindagi and about a bazillion more.

    (Especially love the line, “Muskuraon kabhi, toh lagta hai, jaise hothon pe karz rakha hai…”)

  20. OOh nice nice!!

    – Pyaar mein dil pe maar de goli!

    – Chand chura ke laaya hoon…. what faltu lyrics man, “toh chal baithein church ke peechhe”… love it!

    – Keh Doon tumhein… the remix for a change was better i thought.

    – Ghungta! the remix. too much fun.

    – Deewana hua badal. the original.

    – Akele hain toh kya gham hai

    – Abhi na jao chhod ke. It’s not overrated once u hear the whole of it. esp “agar main ruk gayi abhi, toh ja na paaoongi kabhi”. and that lighter tune in the end is priceless

    – Tere bina jiya jaye na.

    – Lag ja gale.

  21. And one more, one more… esp for the rains!

    bheegi bheegi raaton mein,
    mithi mithi baaton mein,
    aisi barasaato mein kaisa lagata hai
    aisa lagata hai tum banake baadal mere badan ko bhigoke mujhe chhed rahe ho…

    Uff, hot!

  22. Oh .. I love ROz Roz.. and I feel the song gets a bad rep just beacuse of the video πŸ™‚

    And Chalte Chalte was like the college anthem in last few months of our final year…

    Gulzar songs are my favorites.. esp. the ones where Gulzar and Kishore colloborate..

    Do lafson ki hain… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=waeAGdCvJd8

    Rhim Jhim Gire saawan

  23. the other night, the weather was so suhana that A and I went off for a walk after all the kids were asleep and sang many of the old favourites – mere saamne waali khidki mein, na tum hame jaano, hai apna dil to awaara and so on. Dunno if the neighbours appreciated our serenade but we loved it, with the NMC looking like a scene from a hillstation, all misty with rain…

  24. How come you didn’t mention any of Mohit Chauhan’s songs? For starters, there’s Dooba Dooba, Boondein, Tum Se Hi, Guncha Koi, Gulon Main…I could go on πŸ™‚

  25. How about those sensualicious lines…

    ‘Jab bhi khayalo me tu aaye..mere badan se khushbu aaye..
    maheke badan me raha naa jaaye..raha jaaye naaa…tere bina’

    Uff..Uffff..Ufffff….:D

  26. raat akeli hai … from jewel thief… featuring a fabulous tanuja…

    katra katra from ijaazat … phenomenal lyrics..
    paa ke bhi tumhari arzoo ho… shaayad aise zindagi haseen hai..

    chhoti si kahani se and mera kuchch saaman again from ijaazat..

    dil kya kare jab kisi se kisi ko pyaar ho jaaye.. both the original from Julie and the remixed version by Instant Karma

    o mere dil ke chain… from haathi mere saathi.. the lyrics are awesome…

    dil maannge more ?? :))

And in your opinion....

