And just like that…

…you wrap up five years of living, loving, sleeping, crying, dreams, hopes, fears, sorrows, entertaining, playing, music, laughter, greenery, food, parenting, joking, sleeping on the cool marble floor, huddling around an angeethi, late night drives, street watching from a balcony, impromptu outings, pigeons on the balcony, and store it all in cartons, pile it on to 5 trucks and take it away. All within 48 hours. Leaving only an empty shell. And no trace of the inhabitants but a few forlorn warli figures dancing on a wall and a tub full of flourishing greens.

55 thoughts on “And just like that…

  1. As much as I love moving homes, the challenges that a new one brings, the design surprises and nooks and crannies it discloses, unpacking stuff is what I hate the most. And since I take pride in having done every bit of moving myself (without the help of an army of domestic help) I am looking at your cartons and finding my stomach do very twisty twirly things. All the best, girl. Pack the children and send them to me, if they’re done with their grandparents. I cannot imagine them being in the middle of unpacking. I’d probably plaster mine to the wall at the entrance of the house if they were around. Muah!

  2. 😦 The forlorn Warli people did me in. They do look sad!

    You have a beautiful house MM, one of the prettiest and classiest places I’v seen in real life. I can’t wait to see the new place and how you bring your magic to it πŸ™‚

  3. can imagine what you are going thru..
    have you already moved to your new place ??
    Why are you leaving behind a tub full of flourishing greens..thought the plants were coming with you..

  4. This is very little of moving away but a lot of moving on and ahead. Esp for the kids. This house will stay with you though, in your mind and heart. And in ours too, for quite sometime.
    Now bring on that remaining wine from your little bar, lets drink to the home that was, and now will be to someone else.
    Please tell me you’ll get the dancing figures on walls in the next house too…

  5. Reminds me of the last episode of Friends πŸ™‚ Brat and Bean will have such memories of this place. In pictures and on your blog. You are an awesome mom, MM, to do this for your bachchas (even if it is not just for their memory that you are doing this).

    Happy moving, and may this be a nice new start for all of you. You are such happy people, you will make the new house just as beautiful and happy as this one.

    Now. Can you give me the number of your old landlord so that I can plan moving to Delhi? πŸ˜›

  6. sigh! oh well, but then someday you will have your own ghar and then wont have to move ever!

    till then happy doing up the new one!

    on another not, FIVE trucks! really? when we moved after almost 4 years, we had one truck wonly! but then i dont on as much pretty stuff and plants! πŸ™‚

    hugs

  7. Oh MM! Your post brought back the memory of leaving my hostel room – home for 2 years. If moving back home made me that sad, I can understand this.

    Here are a few things I look forward to in a new place:

    New rooms to go wild decorating. Memories of another decade. Unpacking and finding things you thought you lost. Better wiring and plumbing. Meeting new neighbours. Writing new posts/rants if they turn out to be pesky. Finding new places to eat out in the one mile radius. Kids’ school being closer (ack!). Same old people, madness and music.

    Now cheer up pliss. The only thing you gotta leave behind is the warlis. Wish you all the happiness in the new place. πŸ™‚

  8. MM, Really this moving of yours is so moving that I feel like crying , I am gonna miss the nooks and corners of this house from where you brought us myriad expressions of life. Happy moving, now that you are moving may I ask where this beautiful abode was,may be we can try our luck to move in , what say??? πŸ™‚

    rekha

  9. Doesn’t it already feel as if you don’t belong here anymore? It’s amazing how the human mind shifts focus from what has been to what is. Only memories will remain, and they do not go away unless you relinquish them voluntarily. And as I’ve said in a comment on your last post, MM, you can make stories out of them. This adaptability is what has kept the human race going in the face of adversity. You’ll soon fall in love with your new home, and we shall have wonderful new pictures right here. All the best.
    And I couldn’t take my eyes off those boxes of books. Wow!

  10. It is always a sad thing. I just moved recently from Pondicherry to Chennai but only one truck hehe. I guess it is going to take more than 48 hours to rearrange everything. Waiting for the pics of the new house.

  11. aww…its always sad, 😦 I cried the last time I moved..but then setting up a new home and furniture hunting on craigslist occupied me completely. Now this place is home again for us πŸ™‚

    Besties MM!

  12. You have a new home to decorate, new spaces to make your own, mood lighting to set up, neighbourly bonds to forge, take-out places to familizrize yourself with – out with the old, in with the new !

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the new place – are you moving to Gurgaon or Dwarka ??

    Though neither of those concrete caricatures will have the soul of the real Delhi, you can always come back to the heartland for shopping visits !

  13. that made me sad, but hopeful for new beginnings too! :)Wish you all the best for another happy home and a great neighbourhood! πŸ™‚
    drooling at the books in that box πŸ˜›
    huddling around an angithi?? Really? In an apartment?

  14. As a kid I remember moving from one city to another. Was painful, both physically and mentally. But in the end somehow I survived. wish u the best with the new place.

  15. Welcome to concrete, expenses, mall culture, hip hop living and eyes hungering for greenery,no public transport etc.

    Welcome also to neighbours, cosmopolitan cultures, comfort that your kids will have a huge bunch of friends, neighbours who you can call from office and they could do a quick check on the maids..etc etc.

    I stay in DLF V, lemme know if u need a darji, taolor, boutique, daily veggies vendor, exotic veggie vedor, best fish, best chicken, best mutton..

    cheers

And in your opinion....

