On our anniversary

7 years

2 babies

Countless fights

Endless making up

Friends

Chocolate

Home

Love

Music

Life

Money matters

Rice plate

Go green

Family β‰  blood

Trains!

Rain

Rebel

Surprise

Not so much?

Blood

Dance

Sickness and health

Dreams

Hope

Beaches and hills

Despair

Roads less travelled

Longing

Change

One

Grow

Evolve

Come together

Smile

Family

Food!

Freedom

Curtains

Tears

Fears

Passion

Genes

Starlight

Sunshine

I get the scary feeling we’re in this for the long run, baby!

104 thoughts on “On our anniversary

  1. did you forget to add ‘school admissions’or is that filed under despair?
    Congratulations, may you continue to live in interesting times.

  2. Happy Anniversary. I’ve heard 7th year is the toughest!!
    Tough or not, I believe(religiously read your blog, so know for sure) you both are in this together and will overcome any challenges.
    God Bless the happy/mad family

  3. Awwww! Kept asking myself why the date niggled at me. Now I know. πŸ™‚ Happy togetherness, you guys. Bear hugs. You two are the cutest.

  4. 7 years.. WOW!! Survivor, accept this pat on the back πŸ˜€

    Happy Anniversary to the both of you!! May your times together be full of joy and laughter πŸ™‚

    and now please to be connecting these words and doing a full-blown post! Pretty please πŸ™‚

  5. Happy Anniversary MM !!!
    You know, I saw this DIY art on some site where you make a wordle on photo paper in cool colours and frame it to be displayed on the wall. You could use these words and do that. It’d be soo beautiful !!!

  6. I came here hoping I’d get an answer to the ‘3 blanks’. Sigh! No luck. I know I know! Your mom reads your blog.

    Psssk, loved those words that came with the exclamation mark πŸ˜€

    Here’s to many many more anniversaries MM and OA. Cheers πŸ™‚

  7. Hey MM! Many many itchy ones more to come…It feels great to now have a face in the mind when I write this…Love n blessings…

  8. Happy Anniversary MM!!! its the inlaws anniversary too and they complete 40 years today!!!! Hope you have as many and many many more

    • well the bean could have either typhoid or pneumonia. we’re awaiting results. 4 days of fever. so no celebration. the OA hid 7 gifts around the house and i had to find them at midnight πŸ™‚ my gift to him was something we had to get out of the home for so it is postponed for now. parents are here for a day.. so just lots of noise and fun at home instead of a romantic dinner. couldnt have asked for more!

  9. oh you have dance, sorry! what about the dining table? πŸ™‚ no no the boy flower seller – maybe you could call it small kindnesses!

  10. Ooooh MM …7 years! wow…Happy Anniversary and i love the header too..

    Was wondering where admissions fitted in and then read a comment above which explained it all!

    But Rice Plate????

  11. Happy anniversary MM and OA!
    What a lovely way to string words that mean so much to you both… and the header is simply beautiful… it encompasses all that means the world to you isn’t it?

  12. happy 7th you two….
    will wait along with so many others to read about your 20th!! i am pretty certain you will have a billion readers by then.

    doing/did anything special?

  13. Happy 7th,MM and OA and may you be blessed with many,many more “words”!
    Loved your idea …will mean so much to the two of you in the years ahead when you read them through…hope Beanie’s better.

  14. Itch or no itch. It’s the arguments and our ability to deal with it together that mature us. Toast to you guys for bringing little B and B in this world through it all. Wishing many more anniversaries your way today MM and OA. πŸ™‚

  15. Happy anniversary, MM and the OA and wishing you a million more! Praying the Beanie gets well soon. What a precious header pic! πŸ™‚

  16. Many Happy Returns of the day MM. Hope you celebrate many many more together.
    Hope the li’l bean gets well soon.

  17. that sounds lovely!! wishing you many, many more years of togetherness!!

    from what i can make out from your blog, you are the kind of people MEANT to be with each other for life πŸ™‚

  18. Delurking to say,wish both of you a very happy wedding anniversary!

    BTW, have been reading your blog for a long, long time but I rarely comment on your posts.

    I just wanted to tell you that I am staying in Delhi for the past one month as my husband is working on a project here, and since I have nothing much to do, I take my 15 month old daughter to the park nearby and from what I see of the kids and their moms, each and everything that I have read in your blog about the “Delhi” parenting style rings true. That is, I see more maids than moms playing with their kids, some kids are downright rude and what I hear of the kids’ conversations amongst themselves, it scares me. It scares me that I have brought my daughter in a world that can be so ugly and cruel.

    Anyway, leaving the ruminations aside, I visited Dilli Haat and when I saw the puppets there, I wanted to say, “Hey, look, B &B have the same kind of puppets in their room”!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

    Yeah, as you can tell, am a fan of your blog! πŸ˜€

    Oh, another thing, can you tell me some good child friendly bookstores in Delhi where I can buy some books for my little one?

    Thanks and hope you had fun on your anniversary! Oh, and hope the Beanie is fine, too!

  19. Hey MM!
    Wishing OA and you a wonderful life together. May the list grow with each passing year.
    Hope you guys had fun. πŸ™‚

  20. Heyyy .. A very happy anniversary .. You two have a beautiful marriage – the kind I have always dreamt of having myself πŸ™‚ .. Have lotsa fun ..

  21. Wishing you many many more itches, MM and OA!:-D

    Hope Beanie baby gets better soon and you guys get to have that out-of-home-thingie. πŸ™‚

  22. You know, I have an exercise in my creative writing workshops in which I ask the participants to write ten words. Because unlike a sentence, a word has a very independent, totally specific association. A word is your own.
    Your post is a lovely word-list of the thing called marriage.
    How have you been?

    love,
    Manju

    • okay a couple of thoughts. its not as easy as just a desire to learn. the atmosphere has to be conducive too. you have to realise that poor kids dont know the value of an education. they dont realise how it will change their lives. they have chores, they have responsibilities and its not like our kids – pampered through exams with milk and almonds, other distractions minimised.
      maybe the girl failed because she wasnt very smart. maybe she needs extra help. i dont think we need to lay blame at her door. the question shouldnt be whose problem is it. – because its collectively our problem. illiteracy and unemployability is our problem. these are the jobless youth tearing down places of worship and beating up girls in pubs.
      so lets start by accepting that this will end up as our problem.
      next, a child who fails shouldnt be thrown out of a school… a school cant relinquish responsibility. if the child cant get it right twice, lets teach it thrice, four times, five times… as long as it takes to get through. why should there be a cutoff?

And in your opinion....

