On a different note

How long can the Mad Momma go without blogging about books or music? This long I guess. I just realised its been ages since I had posted on music so here goes :

John Mayer – Who says.  I wasn’t a fan during the Body is a Wonderland days – but somewhere around the I don’t trust myself with loving you days, I got addicted. With Who says – I officially need rehab.

Duffy – Syrup and honey – The OA says she’s too cranky but I like because I can sing like her if I want. Which is not too often.

Leona Lewis – Bleeding Love – Damnit, no embedding!

And Van Hunt – for when you’re looking for some lovin”

Also – I’m beginning to love Joss Stone.

Junkyard Goorve – It’s okay. They rock!

And an old, old favourite  – JJ Cale – Magnolia.

So what’s on your playlist? Entertain me! Yeah, yeah, lurkers and trolls too.

52 thoughts on “On a different note

  1. Omigod, Duffy’s voice sounds like nails on a blackboard. How CAN you like her, MM? This song would sound so good if sung by a richer timbre.

  2. oh..you get me all pumped up when you do a post on music..here are some songs from my play list:
    also john mayer’s -say what you need to say
    lady antebellum-run to you/i need you
    black eyed peas- i got a feeling
    the zac brown band
    pink- please dont leave me
    wake up sid-iktaara
    rock on – phir dekhiye
    also leona lewis’s- better in time

  3. I’m ancient and also love classical music. the demise of worldspace has been a body blow to our family.

    Some Joan Baez, S & G, Rashid Khan, Bhimsen Joshi, O S Arun, but mostly – bholanath, 5 little monkeys, sing a song of sixpence, itsy bitsy spider, baa baa black sheep, if you’re happy and so on and on and on and on….you should know how that can be 😀

  4. I always enjoy your music posts 🙂 I am on a country kick right now so my top 5 these days would be :
    1) White Liar- Miranda Lambert
    2) Need you now- Lady Antebellum
    3) Unanswered prayers – Garth Brooks
    4) Kiss a girl – Keith Urban
    5) Dont forget to remember me – Carrie Underwood.

  5. I am musically almost-illiterate, so I really appreciate this. I love “Who says”!

    And my, you’re regular nowadays! Don’t go and stop because I pointed it out, now.

  6. Oh Oh…how cool!

    – when i am feeling lethargic/down and need pepping/cheering up, its GET THE FUNK OUT by Extreme. Ahhhhhh
    – Also, HOLE HEARTED, again Extreme… it’s yummy.
    – All DevD songs.
    – Dust in the wind, Scorpions.
    – Walk on the Wild Side, by Lou Reed. An evergreen favourite.
    – Son of a Preacher Man… mostly at a Karaoke. I can do a killer version of it!
    – Don’t Go Away, Oasis.
    – Ain’t no Mountain high, Marvin Gaye.
    – Powerless, Nelly Furtado. The indianised version as well as the original.
    – Ye jo halka halka suroor, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.

    Oh music… where would we all be without it.

  7. I don’t know much about music. But here it is:

    Soundtrack of Kill Bill Part 1. Bang Bang gives me goose bumps.

    Mukul Shivputra: His voice grows on you.

    Kumar Gandharva: A most mesmerising voice. I love his Kabeer series.

    Tere Bin by Rabbi Shergill

    These are a few of my favourite things: I haven’t heard that song in ages.

    Leonard Cohen’s Famous Blue Raincoat and Hey, that’s no way to say Good bye. I should listen to them again soon.

    Himalayan Tibetan Chants: Most exhilirating happy songs.

    Hendel’s Messiah: Yes, that too is growing on me, courtesy the husband!

    And like Sukanya, I love Rock On’s Phir Dekhiye. The voice is like butter.

    And I need to know new songs. I will check out the ones you have posted here!

  8. Playlist for the day:

    1. Eye in the Sky – Alan Parson’s Project
    2. Just Like A Woman – Bob Dylan
    3. Nahi Saamne – Taal
    4. Afterglow – INXS
    5. Ek Hulchul Si – Dev D

    Ok very random this is!

  9. I like Duffy, Mercy is my listen to as I get ready to go out in the evening song. Other songs on my playlist right now are:

    Super Massive Black Hole- Muse
    Shooting the Moon- Ok Go
    Slow Life- Grizzly Bear
    I’ll Follow You Into the Dark- Deathcab For Cutie
    Say it Right- Nelly Furtado
    City of Blinding Lights- U2
    Vogue- Madonna
    Thinkning About You- Norah Jones

    Almost nothing new. I listen to a lot of alternative rock and truckloads of EMO.

  10. 😀 For this I’llgladly de lurk, here’s my current easy playlist (I’m kinda old fashioned), keeps mom and son happy when pop is at work 😉

    Thank You for the Music -Doris Day Version
    There’s A Kind Of Hush- Carpenters
    Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Old Oak Tree-Tony Orlando
    Time Of My Life – Dirty Dancing Soundtrack
    Top Of The World- Carpenters
    Up Where We Belong – An Officer and a Gentleman Soundtrack
    Would I Lie To You-Charles & Eddie
    A Kiss to Build a Dream on- Louis Armstrong
    Blue Bayou- Linda Ronstadt
    Crazy- Patsy Cline
    Cruisin’-Gweneth paltrow &Huey lewis
    Dont_Make_My_Brown_Eyes_Blue – Crystal Gayle
    Dream a Little Dream – French Kiss
    El Condor Pasa (If I Could)- Simon & Garfunkel
    Hello- Lionel Richie
    I Can’t Tell You Why- Eagles
    I Will Always Love You-Dolly Parton
    Jambalaya- Carpenters
    Jolene- Dolly Parton
    King Of The Road- Roger Miller
    La camisa negra-Juanes
    Lady- Kenny Rogers
    Layla-Eric Clapton
    More Than Words-Extreme
    New Shoes -Paolo Nutini
    Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head- BJ Thomas
    She’s Like the Wind- Patrick Swayze & Wendy Fraser
    Slave To Love-Tony Hadley
    Smooth Operator-Sade
    Stand By Me- Ben E King
    Take Me Home Country Roads- John Denver
    Thank You – Sliding Doors
    Nina Pretty Ballerina- ABBA

  11. Oooh a Duffy fan! Have you tried ‘Mercy’? Looove that.
    Okay, my playlist is pretty eclectic, since I listen to anything that appeals to my mood at that second 😀

    1. Apocalyptica – Nothing Else Matters (the violin version of Metallica’s song and oh-so-beautiful)
    2. Michael Kamen – Logan and Rogue
    3. Howie Day – Collide
    4. Marilyn Manson – Sweet Dreams
    5. Cher – Walking in Memphis
    6. Fashion OST – Mar Jawaan
    7. Chris Daughtry – Breakdown
    8. Poets of the Fall – Carnival of Rust

  12. Hi MM,

    Hope you are well. I have often read your posts as they are very well written and your blog is, of course, quite popular in India and elsewhere.

    I have a favor to ask of you seen that you are interested in general affairs of the public. A friend of a friend has gone missing in India since the 20th January. She is a Nepali but lives in Finland with her husband and son. She was visiting India on her own when she disappeared. My friend has created a blog to circulate the news that will, hopefully, help to locate her. Would it be possible for you to write a small post about this? If you are pressed for time, I could make a draft for you. The link for her blog is: http://findpranita.blogspot.com/.

    Hope I am not causing you much inconvenience.

    Many thanks,
    Swati

      • Cheers MM. That is very kind of you. I was also wondering whether I should ask some more popular blog authors who are interested in community affairs to put this piece of news up on their website. Do you have any recommendations?

        Losing a loved one in a foreign land must be an extremely harrowing experience and I don’t know what else I could do to help my friends find her.

        Thanks again,
        Sx

          • That’s a great idea. Thanks a million for this. I am afraid I don’t know the authors you have mentioned but it would be good to get some publicity. I understand that a lot of people go missing every day and why should someone care about one more missing person, right? But recently I was worried when I couldn’t get in touch with my mum and sis who were traveling in Egypt for one night; and I can tell it was not an easy night! I don’t want to ever experience the anxiety of not knowing where my family is.

  13. Here’s my random play list. Excuse the ghetto ones. bahaha.

    -Mondotek alive
    -Sandstorm – Darude
    -Put your hands up for detroit – Fedde Le Grande
    -Let me think about it – Ida Corr VS Fedde Le Grand
    -Calabria – Enur
    -Shot shot shot – Lil jon featuring Lmfao
    -Hotel room service – Pitbull
    -Move move shake shake – Pitbull
    -Let me see your hip swing – Savage
    -Sexy b*tch – David guetta feat Akon
    -World Hold on – Bob Sinclar
    -It’s too late – One republic
    -California Love – 2 pac

  14. Oh! It’s nice. Here’s my todays play list.

    1) Hoppipola – Sigur Ros (For Joy)
    2) Amelie Sound track – Yann Tiersen (For Amelie!)
    3) Vellai Pukkal – AR Rahman (For an Ideal World)
    4) Janmo Ki Jwala – Ilayaraja (For Love)
    5) Dance of Death – Iron Maiden (For a glimpse of the real World)
    6) Vedam anuvanuvuna Naadam – Ilayaraja ( For Dance)
    7) Like a Rolling Stone – (For Bob Dylan’s voice)
    8) Jai Ho! – AR Rahman (For the heck of it)
    9) Twisted Transistor – Korn (To get high)
    10) Ek Lau – Aamir ( For the new boy, Amit Trivedi)

  15. I finally de-lurk…
    -Save tonight by Eagle Eye cherry
    -Who says by John Mayer
    -I’m yours-Jason Mraz
    -Au bout de mes rêves-Jean Jacques Goldman
    -Madhania by Amrinder Gill
    -Star Trek enterprise theme song by Russell Watson
    -Cannonball-Damien Rice
    -Forever-Chris Brown
    -3 idiots, sunshine song
    list goes on forever 🙂

  16. some nice recommendations.. i don’t listen to much english 😦 this looks like some nice songs for me to try out 🙂

    btw, have you heard the new version of mile sur mera tumhara? would love to read your views on that.. 🙂

  17. Have you heard John Mayer’s version of ‘Free falling?’
    It’s something I am tripping on right now. And also ‘dil toh bachcha hai jee’ from Ishqiya. Rahat Fateh Ali Khan’s voice has this amazing old world quality to it. And the song was CREATED for Naseeruddin Shah. 🙂

    Also, hey! I posted that link to the new’Mile sur mera tumhara’ in the comments section of a previous post. You don’t have to go searching youtube for it.

  18. Ohh interesting post. No one mentioned MJ (Am I the only crazy one?)

    – Taxi taxi nanba (AR Rahman)
    – Trouble is a friend (Lenka)
    – Poker face (Lady Gaga)
    – Single Ladies (Beyonce)
    – Halo (Beyonce)
    – You belong with me (Taylor Swift)
    – I got a feeling (Black Eyed Peas)
    – We are the world (MJ)
    – Will you be there (MJ)
    – Billie Jean (MJ)
    – Hips dont lie (Shakira)
    – Nenjukkul Peidhidum (Harris)

  19. Leona Lewis? Blech.

    James Morrison is good. No, super! Dream on Hayley, Nothing ever hurt like you.

    Black eyed peas – I gotta feeling.

    And always, Snow Patrol.

  20. bah duffy.anyways me listen to susheela raman music for crocodile. spiral architect-bs. windowpane,closure-opeth(really soft songs).but there is so much.let me not cloud here.free

  21. Tere Naina – Chandni Chowk to China (if you ignore Shankar’s whining voice that is :p)
    Tu Hi Mera Dost Hai : Yuvraaj

    Dunno why but am totally tripping on these two songs

  22. Hi,
    Love letter to japan-the birds and bees
    The blower’s daughter-damien rice
    sophia sophia-nerina pallot
    raatke dhain bajey-kaminey
    tere ishq mein-rekha bhardwaj
    irreplaceable-beyonce

  23. poker face (lady gaga)
    single ladies (beyonce)
    ibn batuta (ishqiya)
    Peppepein ( Chance Pe Dance)
    just maath maathalli (a kannada song – music composed and sung by raghu dixit)

And in your opinion....

