My own heffalump

The Bean looks at a picture of the OA and me hugging each other. She walks up to it and pats it and then turns to me.

“Mamma, this is you and dada?”

Yes baby…

“This is.. ” and she calls him by his surname. A habit she’s picked up from me, one I retain from the days I worked with him. Visitors find it most odd that I should refer to my husband by surname but it’s something that takes me right back to our courtship.

Yes baby, I reply.

“You like to cuddle dada?”

Yep!

Her eyes widen and she makes a discoveryΒ  – “He’s your heffalump?”

I had to put down the blouse that I was tacking a button on to, because I just couldn’t stop laughing. She’s right. He is my heffalump.

Why do I get the feeling that he won’t quite appreciate that description?!

42 thoughts on “My own heffalump

  1. ROFL:)))) Bean is such a star, she should have her own reality show where a camera follows her through her day and she says these funny albeit insightful things and makes the audience go awwwww and laugh in equal measures:)

  2. Awwwwwww…how cute is she! But i also wonder, where are the Brat Tales?????? Havent heard of him in a long time now 😦

  3. MM, It has been a while since I could see, the unpleasnt to eyes, snowflakes/dandruff on your blog space… but where is THE tree??.. Our’s is up since Nov 30th..

    • uff! stop being nasty about my snow. just because you have the real snow and I have to make do with the fake dandruffy stuff! Whynt you make me an application with more realistic snow on it? Will put up a tree post soon πŸ™‚

  4. One more thing, and you do not have to publish this… we live near New York city, and I am sure that you guys will come at one point of time to USA (with your brother being here).. so if posible, stop by (or we’ll pick you guys) our place.. it won’t be bad.. I can take care of OA… as long as he his from north India πŸ™‚

    Kidding apart, he sounds like easy going guy

    • πŸ™‚ we’ll do that. i now have so many blogging friends in the US that my brother is scared that I’ll barely spend time with him if I ever visit! and yes, the OA is the most easy going man I’ve ever met. Which is why I kept him for myself !

  5. Hehehe that’s so adorable πŸ˜€ Must use this name for some guy someday πŸ˜›
    What did OA say to that?

    Also, this snow thing is really odd. πŸ˜›

  6. I have been recently introduced to your blog and have actually (thank god) got the time I wanted to just sit down and read through the experiences…. have gone through some and most of them have brought tears to my eyes – that of a connection, joy, I dont know. But everything that you do write about or I have read, tugs my heart in some way. I just wanted to say thank you and wish your little wonders a very happy new year. I have a one year old son whose our world. Life has changed so fantastically after his arrival. My husband and I say, that he has made our life, so much simpler! I see that echoed in your blog. Keep sharing your experiences…

And in your opinion....

