The handmade tag

This is a long overdue post. I decided to finally move my butt and get it done. A bunch of lovely awardsΒ  – considering no one awards me anything anymore 😦

First up,Β  these two from the Rat ! And also from Lively. Thank you both, very much *bows deeply*

Itchy only gave me ONE.. so I’m going to act pricey.. oh what the hell- thanks, Itch!

and the one above from Kiran – apologies Kiran, I knew I was forgettingΒ  something. And thank you very much!

And a tag by Maid in Malaysia – I wanted to give this some more time and get more pics but I haven’t managed to, so we’ll go with the ones I had the patience to click. MiM – when you see how painstakingly I’ve clicked pictures in the sunlight, you’ll forgive me for the delay! And they have loads more but I ran out of steam 😦

Starting with this – its a wooden animal jigsaw puzzle. Each animal has on it, the alphabet that it starts with. A cool idea although the execution isn’t the best because the order is random and the pieces don’t fit perfectly which makes it hard for little fingers to bang them into place. Either way, a big favourite because its full of animals.

These kite shaped cushion covers are from NID. Sur gave them to the kids long ago and though they’re not toys, they’re a permanent feature on their bed because of the shape and the bright colours. She also gave them a lovely handmade cloth rat that I didn’t click.

This one’s from Ro. It’s a bankura horse (I think) and its a money bank. The kids keep filling it and refilling it and it keeps them busy for ages!

Puppets from Dilli Haat.

A metal kite hanger from Dilli Haat. Those are their lunch bags hanging on it.

School bags from the Auro ashram in Pondicheri.

 

Yes, the elephant bag belongs to the Bean. Has anyone noticed the preponderance of elephants in this house?!

36 thoughts on “The handmade tag

  1. Okay i LOVED the ‘ABC’ wala toy! It is SO cute. Forget kids, I think I will fight with them for the toy and put the puzzle back together all by myself. πŸ˜€

    I louuu puzzles you see- in all shapes and sizes. πŸ˜€

    Second favorite would be that metallic kite hanger. Makes for quite a nice decor!

  2. Those wooden puzzles are too cute. Can you tell us where you got them from? I’ld love something like that for my little one.
    Their school bags are adorable.. wish more of these were around than the ones filled with cartoon figures.

  3. the baby elephant nuzzling into it’s ma, puzzle is so cute.
    lovely post MM.
    thanks for doing it (yes. you did sit on it FOREVER)

    here’s some pictures of some lovely handmade in malaysia toys:

    http://maidinmalaysia.wordpress.com/2009/09/02/and-the-winner-for-the-evil-mum-award/

    and this is art’s totally informative post on toys …

    http://abouttimenow.blogspot.com/2009/08/toy-tag.html

    chox too did a post…

    and i cant seem to find the link.

  4. I remember I had this game called ‘pallanguri’ with lots of tamarind seeds. That and a wooden ‘kitchen set’! Mom has them stored away still, after 13-14 yrs! Unlike the plastic ones that reach their ‘pearly gates’ within weeks!

  5. you forgot that big red bus your uncle made for the brat (not! change the name you have for the little boy)
    that was a special special gift.

  6. love the baby elephant in the tummy and the animal-alphabet puzzle!

    And I always think of awarding you…but you seem (to me) to be just a superlative ‘senior’ blogger that I feel idiotic, little newbie FOB me presenting YOU with an award *blush*

  7. Soon, soon I go back to India. I wish I had been born in this great warm embrace!

    By the way….yes yes yes your blog is filled up with wonderful inspiring.

    Here is a footprint from me in Sweden!

    Peace & Love

    Agneta

    • *bangs head against wall and writes a hundred times*

      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone
      Do NOT type while talking on the phone

      πŸ˜€ you see what happened, right?

  8. Loved the wooden animal jigsaw puzzle and the school bags.
    So finally you got around to posting the award acceptance, though it doesnt much have an acceptance speech.

  9. Really cute stuff, all of it. I particularly like the leather horse, I have an owl coin purse of the same make, my mum got it for me from Shantiniketan. I love handmade things, they have so much more personality and verve. I used to have a similar puppet when I was younger, I called him Vivek- for some odd reason. But which led my brother to tease me mercilessly with Vivek Mushran- small time actor from the 90’s who I so didn’t like, but am to this day associated with having a childhood crush on him!!!

  10. ok I dont why but looks like some sort of congratulations is in order…and we are nothing if not pliant..so congratulations MM!

    And , on an entirely unrelated , note here’s one of my fav quotes from my fav movie :

    Annie Hall :

    “Alvy Singer: What’s with all these awards? They’re always giving out awards. Best Fascist Dictator: Adolf Hitler ”

    Thank you..I will show myself out πŸ˜›

And in your opinion....

