Inter-faith meeting on Peace and Disarmament in New Delhi

On Saturday 12 September, 2009 Control Arms Foundation of India in collaboration with The Baha’i Community of India is organizing an inter-faith meeting for peace and disarmament at the Auditorium, Baha’i Information Centre, Lotus Temple, New Delhi.

The purpose of the meeting is to make the faith leaders in India be aware of the United Nations process for peace and disarmament with particular emphasis on the current process for an Arms Trade Treaty. India is a country of multiple faith and the proposed meeting aims is to send out a strong message to the government of India and the people that religious leaders have always been deeply concerned with the ongoing armed violence around the world and hence the collective call for peace and disarmament.
 
The key note address at the Inter-Faith meeting will be delivered by Swami Agnivesh, Founder and President , World Council of Arya Samaj. The other speakers include Mr Shatrughun Jiwnani, Director, Baha’i Community of India, Maulana Mansoor, Sadhivi Vidushi Om Prabha Bharti, Mr M. D. Thomas, Rev. Gyomyo Nakamura, Father Nithiya and Rajyogini Brahma Kumari Shanti. 

Please find attached invitation card and programme schedule of the event. Please do join us if you are in town.
 
For more information, please contact: 

Control Arms Foundation of India
B 5 / 146, First Floor, Safdarjung Enclave
New Delhi – 110 029

India Inter-faith meeting on ATT Page 1

 

India Interfaith Program Page 2

7 thoughts on “Inter-faith meeting on Peace and Disarmament in New Delhi

  1. Hey MM,

    Just an observation. Why are you so rude to people who don’t agree with you and even tell things like “go back and read your blog – dont read mine” ALWAYS.

    Not good at all.

    I know what I can expect as a reply to this and so go ahead, shoot! please don’t disappoint me

    Me: Well Suman – I am not rude to people who disagree with me. I am rude to people who are RUDE to me. We all have different ideas of what manners are. For instance, you find my telling them to go back to their blog rude. I find their racism, and their sarcasm rude. Obviously we’re all brought up differently which is why its okay by you that they’re rude to me and not that I dont take it. I’ve been brought up to be polite to people on THEIR blogs and in their homes and so I dont agree with you.

    Now I wont disappoint you at all, because that is how large hearted I am. This is MY blog – a fact that most of you seem to ignore – NOT a forum like rediff. So if you dont have a blog of your own, perhaps you can go to a public forum like that where its a free for all.

    THIS place ,like ANY home or establishment or club, is run by MY standards. I am not a neta looking for your votes or popularity (rather obviously 😉 ) so I am not going to be nice just so that you come back and give me traffic.

    you rude guys who think that a public blog should be open to your rudeness remind me that we’re in india where people deface monuments and defecate in public property. no courtesy towards the person who runs the place and has a right to their own personal standards of what they find acceptable. please try to remember that its not run by a nameless government or PWD who will take your nonsense. its a public but PERSONAL blog, and like a restaurant, while open to most, reserves the right to admission.

  2. @ Arun: LOL! You cartoon. Chalo daant dete hain. I AM mad at you. I havent heard from you in ages. Yeh koi tareeka hai? aise gayab ho jaate hain aap? Na khabar na thikana…

    There. I hope that was good. I LOVE this song btw 🙂

  3. MM, I dont really understand trolls. Its so much easier to click the red X than to type a comment.

    So because I am now becoming famous(and modest as well) I have had my taste of trolls. And because I have so much time,I track these people down and leave warnings such as if they come back with their stupid comments, I will hunt them down. Thats all it takes(and I dont even know whether I can track them), then these very same people come and lurk but dont fucking dare to leave a comment. remember dumb bitch Tulips who had a blog and was very nice to you and rude to me. And the other thing, why dont they use their imagination and have creative fun names, instead of XYZ or !!??.
    There I am done ranting and raving

    Me: There, there Sraikh. Have a cup of tea with me and calm down. Or a glass of wine if you want. God knows you need it after a day of childcare and work and then a bunch of trolls.

    Let me explain trolls to you. They’re those kids who were losers in school. You know, neither had the wit nor the personality to stand up for class rep or answer a question. Too shy, too nervous, too dumb – pick any or all. But give them the anonyity of the net and take away the need to be answerable and they go ape shit. Run around like little hooligans looking for a place to make a nuisance of themselves. The lurkers too- who will HATE every post you write and yet come back pathetically day after day to read you just so that they can get further riled up. They dont realise how pathetic it is to keep coming back and reading the blog and hating a person for whom they dont even exist!

    For them its free publicity. You know, they’re not required to write a particularly interesting blog. They leave a couple of rude comments and bingo – all your detractors are their fans!! Its smart marketing. And if they dont have a blog at all, why thats even better. They can vent and go away.

    You know, boss gave them a dressing down, wife is cheating on them, didnt get breastfed as a kid, dealer sold them a dud car – never mind what the problem is – they head out, look for an unsuspecting blogger who is doing nothing but writing her own blog, and have this moment of catharsis. I think we’re doing them a social service by letting them come and vent here. God knows they might end up behind bars if they dont get the angst out of their systems here! 😉

  4. Psss.. I hope the interfaith meeting gets an excellent turnout. Uhmm I am too far or else I would have attended. :)(though the 3 hours of sitting down and listening to speeches..:))

  5. AHH! I wish I could be there for the interfaith meet! Another church was vandalised in Bangalore and not a word from the Chief Minister against the act! I have that ominous feeling…will Karnataka go the Gujarat way? MLAs donating crown for deities worth crores of rupees, land assigned for playground being given to religious trust by the CM….Mangalore (a breathtakingly beautiful place) marred by incidents of moral policing….intolerance is rising its head! Why can’t we love our religion and respect the faith of others at the same time? Why does one have to be at the cost of the other? These are the questions an inter-faith meeting needs to address…

And in your opinion....

