God’s own country and more

“Don’t go to Kerala in the rains” they said. I smiled. Born and brought up in Munnar, there is no better time I can imagine being in Kerala. The wedding in Madras done, the OA and I handed our precious brats over to my parents who were spending a week in Madras at my grandma’s village.

First stop was Thekkady. I want to know why I always get the couple making out opposite me. As it is I am a late sleeper and then I have to endure hard core making out on the berth opposite me! The OA grinned wickedly when he saw the couple opposite me slip into the berth together and turned away and fell asleep. I resigned myself to an hour of muffled sounds and much movement, only to realise that they were just lying down to chat. In soft voices that disturbed no one. Just fulfilling the nightly ritual all married couples go through. That last intimate hour when the house is quiet, everyone else turned in. When you take stock of the day. Be it the frustrations of the job, the fact that rice seems to be finishing really fast this last month, that the kids are worrying you for some reason.. and so on. Or maybe that you just missed him today because you didn’t get to talk to him as often as you do on other days or because he came back late from office.

It’s something I always watched with a certain amount of envy before I got married. Whether it was my own parents or couples and family I visited. The low murmurs that arose from each bedroom were so enviable. Laying your last thoughts out at night to an audience that is not judgmental and offers advice, comfort and sometimes just silent acceptance. I often have single friends telling me that marriage is nothing but a bond that stifles. That ‘friends with benefits’, other friends, hobbies, pets, all make up a better life than the one marriage offers. I rarely debate it with them because I cannot put into the words the comfort that this little nightly ritual offers. The comfortable silence, the sound of his breath close to my ear, the knowledge that even after his breathing evens out, I can say something and the worst he’ll respond with is, ‘Shut up, I’m trying to sleep!’… and the best, a comforting ‘Mmmm… ‘ and a response.

As I lay there thinking about it I watched others walk by and stop short as they saw the two pairs of feet sticking out of this particular berth. And then walk on. It was shockingly intimate for a train heading to a small town.

And yet, earlier in the evening the OA and I who had the lower and middle berth had spread out across it. I lay there reading with a couple of pillows under my head and the OA had his nose inside a book at the window seat. What might have raised a few eyebrows? The fact that I had my feet in his lap and he was absent mindedly and dutifully pressing my legs that now give me a lot of trouble. I have rather arched feet and now that I can’t wear heels because of my knee problem, the flats don’t support my arch and I end up with aching legs like a 60 year old! Point being, when you think about it, that is a rather intimate scene too, simply because how often do you sit in public and get your husband to press your feet. And yet trains do give you glimpses of intimacy, rare glimpses.

The drive up to Thekkady was misty and cool. We shivered in anticipation and thanks to the nip in the air. Our resort, Tusker Trails was a stunner. Our room up in the trees, on stilts. Thanks to my bum knee I avoided the serious 8 hour treks but we walked around a lot, up and down the hills, re-discovering my knowledge of hill flowers and plants. I saw Angel’s Trumpet, Morning Glory and even Passion Fruit after years!! Refreshing my Malayalam. And just soaking, soaking up the feeling of timelessness and peace the hills are full of.

I am totally a hill person while the OA is a beach bum. Probably the first sign that we’re a perfect marriage you know – agreeing on NOTHING. That and the fact that we enjoy how hard it is to place an ethnic background on either of us and that between the two of us we understand enough languages to get by most states in the country.

So on the trip we got to hear one couple talk about ‘jungle mein mangal’  (cross my heart and hope to die – I really did!) because they thought we wouldn’t understand Hindi. Another wife telling her husband that he had a five pack instead of a six pack and pointing to his tires at which point he pointed to his butt as the sixth pack. Yes, the OA speaks Gujarati pretty decently! The beauty of this is that we’re not even eavesdropping. Just standing around in queues and waiting for things to get done while people choose to talk loudly, assuming that nobody around can understand them.

What really came to my notice right across Kerala is the fact that be it small towns or Trivandrum, men still wear the mundu. It’s probably the heat but its very endearing to see that there’s atleast a small part of the country where men haven’t switched to trousers. I’ve travelled a lot through village in UP and MP and you’d be hard pressed to find a dhoti even in the smallest hamlet. Women on the other hand, are always in traditional Indian clothing, even if it is the ubiquitious salwar kameez. I don’t know how good or bad that is. So its okay for men to give up traditional wear, but not for women? And why on earth are we giving up traditional wear anyway? Okay that’s a rant I’ve had far too many times to take up again.

That said, there are no real villages there either. Barely any deserted stretches of road. Even on the longest drives we encountered homes plonked in the middle of nowhere. Some of them rather humble but with expensive Skodas and Honda Citys (Cities?) parked up front. Gulf money? I read in the news that with recession close to 5 lakh immigrants have returned to Kerala from the Gulf and the government is at its wit’s end trying to employ them. The homes they’ve built, can’t be maintained now. Very sad.

I always feel a sense of homecoming when I am in Kerala. People are warm and helpful. Even the OA who doesn’t understand a word of Malayalam managed fine because people heard him fumbling and instantly and helpfully spoke to him in broken bits of Hindi. I wore a skirt while sightseeing and not a single person bothered to stare. Kovalam beach was full of families holidaying and no one blinked when hoardes of firangs in bikinis went by. I’d like to see that happen on a similar beach like Marina or Juhu! Fortunately Delhi has no beaches, and enough trouble without them!

Our trip flew by and all we did was eat, sleep, read and take long walks. I do feel bad that the OA was slowed down by my bum knee and I did tell him to go and do all the trekking he wanted to, with other groups, but thats the other thing marriage does. It gets you accustomed to and hooked on to your partner and nothing seems as much fun as it would with them I suppose, because he just hung around me, eating, sleeping, reading and swimming and looking quite pleased with life in general.

Another little thing that made me realise we’d been married long enough! While the honeymoon was fun in all the ways it should be (!) we did have our disagreements about when we wanted to wake up, where we wanted to go for the day, what we wanted to spend and so on. Six years down and its clockwork. From packing our toilet kits to ordering breakfast, we can work silently without exchanging a word, in absolute harmony. I know what adventure activity he’d want to do and he silently suffers the museums with me. Yes, we could go our own way and do our own things, but that again is something our marriage works on. Suffering the other’s interests! And now doing it with some grace.

The backwaters were beautiful and our Ashtamudi resort was quiet  and peaceful. They’re a bit of a cliche I suppose but it’s one of those experiences everyone must have. The little boats scooting around doing their business, had me dumbfounded. At some point we hopped off our boat and walked into a village where a cliched old haggard woman had a gaggle of naked babies around her. I bought a chunk of jackfruit off her and sat there and dug into it, much to the OA’s amusement. Hot fried fish, biryani, fried beef – man, we pigged out!

My favourite moment was the last stop. A little known resort in a place where the sea, the backwaters and a river meet. As the cab hurtled down twisting roads, dusty little hamlets and narrowly avoided many a mishap, the storm clouds gathered and I looked up in delight, hoping it would rain soon. And then he came to a dead end and stopped with a sudden jerk. All we could see was a beautiful bower and a rivulet beyond it. This was it? Where was the resort? And then it began to thunder and huge raindrops began to pelt us, almost as though it was the price we had to pay to get to our destination. And then from around the corner came a motor boat. Just in time to rescue us. I can’t tell you how the OA and I grinned at each other. It was just so timely, so breathtaking and so exciting to us untravelled boors.

We threw our luggage in and the motor boat sped off just as the clouds literally ripped open and the rain came down in sheets. THIS was the famed Kerala monsoon. Thunder, lightning, and waves of water lashing us, drenching the little boat and our luggage. Teeth chattering, eyes shining, we enjoyed the zippy ride through the backwaters, the greenery all the more lush, the sea looming large ahead of us. A patch of white sand appeared  – an island!

And then on, to a jetty where we docked. We were at the resort. Acres of lush greenery, the waters lapping on all sides, the rains still storming around us, the skies a beautifully purple grey and a long walk up to the reception, flanked by lawns and exotic flowers. I wish the phrase God’s own country hadn’t been coined already. After what I saw, I’d like to have been the first to use it. Simply because there is no better way to describe the state. I leave you with a bunch of pictures taken on holiday.

Dipta  – I’m warning you!! Any smart comments and I’m going to post my trolls to you.

066 

Thats me looking up at a canopy of passionfruit. Apparently I loved them as a kid but couldn’t pronounce it correct and called it – partinfruit – which resulted in the ‘adults’ taking my trip and telling me its called Farting fruit. Haha. Cue for you to laugh and get it out of your system.

074

The resort in Thekkady, our first stop. That is our room!

093

The window seat in our room that I fell in love with. The room was surrounded by monkeys and birds and walking to the restaurant at night we had frogs leaping over our feet, crickets calling around us and in general a sense of exhileration. Every sound was amplified and it was almost like being out in a tent without the damp coming through your sleeping bag!

117

Don’t miss the lone bird sitting on that stump in the midst of the river.

128

Yes, that is bison. My favourite wild life story is about my growing years in Munnar. Ma would plant strawberries, cabbage, lettuce, all sorts. And the wild boar would come at night and dig it up, leaving her livid. One night she decided she was going to stay up if she heard any sounds and kick some wild boar ass. That night the sounds came, the plantation staff came running and Ma opened her window to see  – Wild elephants instead of the boar! She was still ready to go out kick some ass because those were her prize winning cabbages. Apparently she had to be physically held back. Now we know that the Bean gets her butt-kicking-spirit and her chicken eating abilities from Nani, not mamma!

140

A herd of wild elephants hiding a baby in between. Can you spot it?! This is why I am amazed when I see young people wishing kids away or calling parents ‘breeders’ or wanting separate airplanes. Even animals instinctively take care of the young of their species, so where exactly are we going wrong, if we’re going against what should be instinct?

150

The hills shrouded in mist – so we evilly called up friends in Delhi to find out what the temperature was, so that we could rub it in!

156

Check it out! Amazing, huh?! (Dipta, I gave you ample warning so control yourself. Preeti, Candy, all of you!) I thought it was a banana tree but Dipali told me differently. She said it’s called a giant bird of paradise. Ravenala madagascariensis strelitziacea. There you go, botany lesson for the day.

184

This is the next stop. Our room opened up to a view of the lake. Serene and beautiful.

190

Presenting, tada! the lake! As seen from my door.

209

Driving down to Kovalam..

228

The backwaters. Check out the shiv ling in the middle of nowhere. I thought it was a pretty cool idea!

231

Kovalam beach. It used to be a topless beach a long time ago but the moral police cleaned the place up, much to the OA’s chagrin!

245

A group of guys making a sand turtle. I asked if I could have a picture and I have another one where they smiled and posed happily for me. In another corner a boy was being sat on by his mates while they covered him in sand and created Pam Anderson-esque breasts for him. He burst through it and pushed them away and went and flung himself on the sand in a rage. Humiliated beyond words that other tourists had seen a woman being made out of him while he was powerless to stop it. I felt a twinge of sadness. Pride and ego and humiliation all come so easy when you’re 20 something or in your late teens. I wanted to go and tell him that by throwing himself on the sand and sulking he was making it worse… No, naturally I didn’t.

284

People go about their daily business in canoes while we lazily float by on our cruise.

2

The arch at which the motorboat met us. One minute bright and colourful, the next grey, stormy and hostile.

4

The entrance to the resort.

6

The lovely lawns, with the sea beyond, look carefully.

5

The red bird of paradise right outside our rooms.

7

A carpet of flowers. I lay under it and read a book while the OA went for a swim.

8

The pool, for days when the beach was too stormy.

9

Wild pineapple!

95 thoughts on “God’s own country and more

  1. Sigh what a wonderful vacation.
    One should have such kinds of couples only vacation once a year,if not more frequently.

    Okay I laughed out loud at hearing other conversations. I have had that happen too and if its something funny, I dont know whether to laugh and reveal I know the language or stifle my laughter. What did you and OA do?

    I have never been to South India. I think next India visit , I would have to go visit Gods own country.

  2. OMFG!

    Lovely lovely pictures, travelogue everything! My roots are in Kerala too, but strangely I never have been on a holiday there – when I visit it’s usually my village and back (and even that is just too gorgeous for words). Now I want to go on a holiday to Kerala too. I’m going to email and ask you the names of those resorts, when I plan a trip, they sound so awesome!

    Loved what you said about marriage – so true.

  3. Is the pic of the baby elephant taken on the early morning boat ride on Periyar lake? Coz I have a video of a baby elephant running amok too darned cuuute!) at around the precise spot. And I think I stayed at the same resort as you did @ Thekkady.

    Gosh, what a gorgeous vacation you had! 🙂

  4. WOWOWOW MM! That s a great long warm nice and lovely post. phew!
    LOVED the way you took time for a getaway and had fun with each other. The OA as usual is a sweetheart (of course yours ;)).
    Now I need to visit Kerala. ALL my friends have told me tons about it.
    Yes, me a bum, as I still haven’t been there.

  5. And funnily, even I’ve been vehemently warned against visiting Kerala in the rains. A group of friends went to Munnar & had to suffer leeches gnawing at their feet. The horror stories I heard put me off monsoon Kerala forever! Your pics make me want to go & visit again 😦

  6. wow, the pics are beautiful! i’ve never been to kerala, but your post makes me want to pack my bags this instant!
    also, hehe, “farting fruit” 🙂

  7. Love what u said abt being married.. I had been to wayanad once.. but never to thekkady .. Loved ur post.. can u post the links to the resorts you visited?

  8. Kerala is truly beautiful…and the tourism industry is pretty well-organised, I feel. Living in Mangalore in my teens, I got a see a lot of Kerala’s smaller towns and nearby beaches.

    We went with the kids to Munnar, and had a couple’s dream vacation in Wayanad which was the most gorgeous unspoiled place I have ever seen in India. Thanks for reminding me there are more places to visit there:)Plus it’s so cheap and easy to travel there from Blr!

    Liked what you wrote abt men’s traditional wear. Why, indeed?!

    Lovely pix and jottings.

  9. i am almost sure I can pick you out in a crowd — make sure you have your head tilted up at that very angle …. 🙂

    we did Munnar by monsoon too — two years ago. somehow my memory of a cheesecake dessert is much fresher, than the story of the rain.

    but your post and pictures clicked on refresh on the other memories, as well. it’s all coming back to me. thank you.

  10. What a wonderful holiday, MM!

    And your descriptions of marriage are so wonderful. well, that’s what I like best about being married: having someone I can talk to every day, as easily as to myself.

    And why aren’t birds of paradise birds?

  11. 🙂 My roots are in Kerala too but never done the touristy thing and I think I have said that enough times here everytime you sneeze about munnar or kerala. Inspite of being bought up outside kerala, it still feels home and everytime we think kerala its all about meeting people never about seeing places.

    And yeah it takes a MM to talk about the most routine, mundane thing about a hubby-wifey thing and make it all look and sound so beautiful.

  12. I’m wondering if Lonely Planet does phrasebooks for Indian languages because personally, vacations are more fun if you’re in a different place and make an effort to speak the native tongue. We’ve been to Kerala twice and I adore the state!! The coconuts, plantains, greenery, rains … the cusine… everything is so lovely!!!

  13. Beautiful! Simply enjoyed the pics! Kerala is one place I’d love to go again and again to.

    Coming here after a very long time and commenting after an even longer time 😦 Trust all is well at the MMs household 🙂

    – SnS

  14. wow! beautiful photos. and wonderful mini travel journal 🙂

    question, did you guys go plan the destinations out and went by yourself.. or it through tour operators..etc?
    are there many foreigners there or mostly locals?
    i would love to visit Kerala some day.. have read and heard so much about it.

  15. Was the last resort Poovar by any chance? It looks like that… we were there for our honeymoon 5 (gasp!) years ago and I am filled with memories. I will hopefully get to go there soon just to relive the memories..

  16. “I wore a skirt while sightseeing and not a single person bothered to stare.”
    – I am really happy to see someone saying this, because the comments we normally hear about the guys in Kerala are just the opposite.
    Glad that you enjoyed a lovely holiday in God’s own country. Your pictures of the backwaters are especially nostalgic. I am from Alleppey and now in Bangalore. I miss my home 😦

  17. I greatly enjoyed reading through today’s post and photos. Beautiful place, great description….plus your thoughtful musings on marriage.

    [Note: I am envious of your parents, who take away the kids for a week; and of your husband, who massages your feet. Need to show this blog to my husband ;)!]

  18. I think I will never ever be bored of the beauty of Kerala..maybe thats coz in spite of being from the state..I have not yet visited all the amazing sights it has to behold.

  19. Beautiful! Love the way you penned down all those emotions that a couple goes through as the day draws to a close.. very sweet.
    As for the vacation, it sounds wonderful! I’m from Kerala but I really havent seen the Kerala you have seen! You MUST post (or email me?!) a detailed itinerary..complete with the names of the lovely resorts. Your post touched a dear friend so much that now I have promised to take her to Kerala when we meet next. 🙂

  20. God’s own Country indeed….sounds like the best holiday ever.

    On our trip to Thekkady, all we saw were deer – all the elephants had migrated deeper into the forest.

    M

  21. Awesome. I lived in Trivandrum for 6 months and the only grouse I had was the eve-teasing.
    The place is BEAUTIFUL. We used to go to resorts and backwaters as often as we could(those were my single days so no romance etc). I would love to go back with my husband! Great pics MM and I love your silhouette.

  22. From the header I knew you visited Thekkady so was waiting to read this post. What a lovely account!

    As a child I could never pronounce Passion Fruit either and whenever I visited Kerala, it was fashion fruit for me. 😆

    That window seat looks so cozy. All pictures are so green and plush. Aah! miss being in Kerala this time.

    “Probably the first sign that we’re a perfect marriage you know – agreeing on NOTHING”

    Ha..ha.. so true. We have the same theory.

  23. beautiful, i know what u mean about the rains in Kerala, it doesn’t just rain, it pours, and then the place just comes alive…beautiful, I loved your journey…romantic and so scenic. I am from there so it appealed more, and the pictures…wonderful…where is the last place?would love to go there…

  24. MM,

    Lovely pictures. I also went to Kerala on a vacation a few months ago and loved everything about it, the people, the places, the smell, the clothes. everything

    btw, do you mind telling me the name of the resort. A friend of mine is planning a trip and I want to send her this info.

    Thanks

  25. I M N S.

    Club Mahindra Resorts, is what it is. ‘s what comes of ignoring the links, i s’pose. 😐

    Me: LOL! no no – i just added them after all of you asked. yes,we’re club mahindra members and love their resorts.

  26. Beautiful pictures!

    I remember my trip to Kerala with my cousins, as one of the best trips ever….of course, had the weather been better we’d have enjoyed it a lot more.

    Nice read 🙂

  27. brought back wonderful memories of all the places you mentioned that we visited just this past december. Gorgeous place truly. The OH & the kids actually did the trek in Thekkadi as well and totally loved it. I could so relate to all the conversations you referred to. Had a blast listening in on them when people speak thinking you don’t understand, esp honeymooners 😉

  28. Such calming pics. Lovely!

    The last time I visited Kerala was 13 years back and I am happy to see it still remains pristine. (though I have to agree with Shilpa about the eve-teasing part) 😦

  29. That a giant bird of paradise? You no pulling my leg?? Cos in Tam, we call it “visiri vazhai” – literally, fanned banana (plant)!!

  30. Aww.. and now I am home sick and more monsoon-sick 🙂 I am from Kerala and love my home during rains.. Matter of fact, you would have driven by my place during the trip..

  31. Hrrmph! And me the Mallu who came all the way from sodden Scandanavia only to miss you while we were both in Kerala at the same time..

    Okay we ended up at Club Mahindra in Goa, but wrong Club Mahindra, na?:-(

    Next time, I’m stalking you;-)

    Me: well if we’d only both told each other properly where we were going, we might have made it simpler to stalk no!? Isnt the Goa one nice? We went there in 2006

  32. Spectacular! Took me back to my honeymoon in Kerela – when we did all- hills, backwaters and the beach – Munnar, Kovalam, Kumarakom. And I couldn’t agree more- Kerela is at its best during the rains..we were there in August too.

  33. Hi MM,
    beautiful pictures and sounds like you had a lovely trip!
    Marriage plans are underway for me and it gives me a sense of… peace … to read posts like this one. 😀
    Hope things are going well in the Mad household and that your knee is feeling better!

    Cheers

    Me: ooh! how exciting. Congratulations and here’s wishing you both a wonderful life together!

  34. Hi MM,

    Have been dropping by and reading ur posts lately…this is probably one of the best travel-pieces i have (ever) read; i guess it is because you haven’t tried to write one. Great stuff….makes me want to go to Kerala.

  35. wow! i so agree with the nightly talk ritual part.. really look forward to it, as its one of the best ways to unwind and connect and drift off peacefully to sleep, knowing that the hubby is right there beside you.. thanks for putting that into words 🙂

    as for the pics, they are amazing. no words.. wish i could go to kerala soon 🙂 seems like you had a great holiday..

  36. Great post and pics. You should sell this to a travel magazine and recover the cost of your holiday. Or try that angle next time!

    Me: of course. and get sacked by the publication i work for 🙂

  37. You make Kerala sound medicinal. You make marriage sound even more medicinal 🙂 True!

    By the way, forgot to ask that day how is your knee, and are the medicines helping?

    Me: hah! we might have got around to it if we’d taken a break from chattering like monkeys! Not so much better. but now that we know its cartilage damage, we’re working on that!

  38. Hi,

    Your post is amazing, the place looks so serene , I think everyone should go once in a while for a couple only vacation with out guilt..

    What a great vacation you had.. and also great blog.. keep connecting

    take care
    Rekha

  39. Mad Momma, can’t post comments on one of your earlier posts. Tried twice already. Have you got it by any chance ?

  40. Ooh both Club Mahindra. Yay, since I’m a member too that makes me happy. Kerala here we come. Meanwhile we’re going to Goa (Club Mahindra) In Nov and am as happy as can be. I heart Club Mahindra!

  41. Lovely,lovely post and pics…as someone said, so far our visits to Kerala have been just that-visits to connect with family,not holidays… and all this in our backyard…anyway next time…
    BTW..is it just me,but I love your chin!!or whatever I have seen of it!!:)it’s the pointed one that Beanie has!!

    Me: LOL! The OA lives in terror of our chins. The moment we get mad (which is pretty often!) it begins to tilt upwards and he knows that tempers are rising. Genetics are amazing because the Bean does it the moment she is going to throw a tantrum too, and looks just like me! Thank you!

  42. What a coincidence!We stayed at Tusker Trails too.
    The Rooster rooms .
    The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves but the one memory I cherish the most from the trip is the boat ride on the beautiful Periyar lake where we even experienced a sudden April shower.

  43. MM, Kerala is gorgeous, if the photos you have here and on FB are anything to go by! am so going!! i need a resort/spa holiday after all the trekking and hiking my hubby has been subjecting me to lately.
    jackfruit- kathal right? can you just eat it uncooked?

  44. U seem to have had an amazing trip…I’ve been to the Poovar resort a couple of times…It’s quite relaxing to be there…though I live just a couple of kilometres off..Which period were u in Munnar?

  45. Thanks for sharing the pics… everytime we go to kerala it is just to meet the relatives

    i know i am missing a lot

  46. ooh that was a lovely description. almost felt like i had been there myself. I belong to kerala but havent ever been there as a tourist. Shall definitely take details of the resorts from you and make a trip as soon as N is able to stay without me. bwaaaaah [wicked laugh]

  47. i am wildly jealous now.
    on a random tangent, what do you make of resort food. that is one reason i dont like them, its all so sort of blah (as in, i have been to one resort once, six years ago and made this discovery for life).

  48. I’d been to Kerala in 2007 with my parents and I absolutely loved it.

    Thekkady especially was beautiful. Though I do think the boat ride was a little bit overrated.

    What’s so amazing about a scooter by the way?

  49. hi MM
    been a lurker here for the last 2 yrs..never commentd till now. i felt quite nostalgic reading your post. the rains, the beached the greenery.. and being from kerala i am happy to hear u say tht no one gave u a second look when u wore skirts cos my experiences have been quite the opposite.eve teasing is very bad in kerala and if u look around u wont find ladies on the road after 6:30 pm.

    Me: 🙂 i think i always end up with the opposite experiences. I got eve teased the worst in bombay – to the extent of having a mob rip my clothes off me. and yet i’ve lived as a student and single working woman in delhi and worked the late night shift and walked home at midnight safely. even kerala seemed warm and nice to me. and i’ve never met a mallu guy i didnt like!

  50. Hey MM
    Have been reading your blog for a while now..and totally love your blog.
    I am a working mom with a 3.5yr old son and can identify completely with almost every post of yours!! You have a way with words and I wish I was anywhere close to being as eloquent.

  51. I loved what you said about marriage..I say the ‘love you’ in the lowest of murmur just before I doze (I take longer to settle in bed) and even if hubby has been asleep (it sure looks like) he wud murmur it back..and that makes me smile so wide that I could wake up again..Marriage suits me!!

    Married to a mallu myself..and not had a ‘vacation’, but love kerala..and love the food..thanks for the pics and links.

  52. Just beautiful. Nice pictures too.

    I love your blog knowing that you were born in Munnar :-).

    Me: you mean you wouldnt love me blog otherwise? bawwllll 🙂

  53. have planned a vacation to kerala after seeing ur blog… leaving next week… my husband was shocked to see my sudden demand to see kerala immediately… blamed it on ur blog!!!!

  54. MM you have made me all misty eyed with nostalgia! We went for our honeymoon to Thekkady, Kovalam, Munnar etc more than 10 years ago and I see that nothing has changed!!! Green heaven that is my view about Kerala with not an inch of untilled soil. They love Bengalis because of the common Marxist connection and how well they treat you….I want to go back…NOW!!!

  55. Hey…thats Poovar isnt it? its a lovely place…we went there in 2007…the beach betwn the backwaters and the sea is so awesome!

    glad u had a grt holiday 🙂

  56. Wow! The pictures, the post… yes marriage is all the things you say it is… loved how your precious brats could be dropped off at your parents, and how you wonder why men in other places have given up traditional wear…

  57. Pingback: Thoda hai… « uniquely priya

  58. Pingback: Rain drenched and sated | The Mad Momma

And in your opinion....

