Back to school

Dear Brat and Bean,

As the summer holidays end today and you go to a new school (well lots has happened in the last two months, dear readers!) I dedicate this song to the two of you. I wish you learning, I wish you joy, I wish you a year you’ll never forget, but most of all, I wish you friends.

Have a blast my babies. And God bless you.Β I know he blessed us by giving you to us.

Love

Mamma

PS:Β  Lyrics left here for those who can’t access other links.

Jack Johnson – We’re Going To Be Friends

Fall is here, hear the yell
Back to school, ring the bell
Brand new shoes, walking blues
Climb the fence, books and pens
I can tell that we are going to be friends
Yes I can tell that we are going to be friends
Walk with me Susie Lee
Through the park and by the tree
We can rest upon the ground
And look at all the bugs we’ve found
Safely walk to school without a sound
We safely walk to school without a sound
Well here we are no one else
We walk to school all by ourselves
There’s dirt on our uniforms
From chasing all the ants and worms
We clean up and now it’s time to learn
We clean up and now it’s time to learn
Numbers letters learn to spell
Nouns and books and show and tell
Play time we will throw the ball
Then back to class through the hall
The teacher marks our height against the wall
The teacher marks our height against the wall
And we don’t notice any time pass
Because we don’t notice anything
And we sit side by side in every class
The teacher thinks that I sound funny
But she likes it when you sing
Tonight I’ll dream in my bed
While silly thoughts run through my head
Of the bugs and alphabet
And when I wake tomorrow I’ll bet
That you and I will walk together again
Because I can tell that we are going to be friends
I can tell that we are going to be friends

32 thoughts on “Back to school

  1. OH! yes.. its July already… time for school to reopen.. I remember getting so excited. New books, stationary, new subjects, teachers. OH! it seems like yesterday, me putting brown covers and plastic sheets on my books and ‘copies’ as we used to call them. The typical ritual in a small town. I don’t think any one does that kind of stuff in cities. You get laminated brown covers here!

  2. ooh jack johnson is my 5 year olds’ favorite singer…

    good luck to the little ones…with their new school.

    Me: πŸ™‚ why am i not surprised?

  3. MM

    This one is not related to this post, but I was wondering whether you came across this, since you write well on such topics, I am giving you the link;

    http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news/shineys-lawyer-gives-caste-angle-to-case-argues-victim-aggressive/486401/

    Thanks

    Me: You know, I kept wondering if there was some loophole, something that proved he didnt do something so lowdown. but if he’s picked a lawyer who argued that the lower caste is aggressive, i hope he stays in the slammer for a while.

  4. @priyadarshani singh:

    How could you *enjoy* that thing??
    I hated the *smell* inside the bookshops in Lucknow.. you know what I mean.. with rains around and everything.. and to top it with the school’s rule about plastic sheets….

    Me: aapko books ki smell achchi nahi lagti?! I LOVE the smell of paper and new books!

  5. Wishing the kids another happy school year!

    Werent you supposed to be back by end of July only? And you wrote so many posts after announcing the break!

    Pictures from the wedding?

    Me: umm… not left yet! and er.. mea culpa. I really should blog less!!

  6. Wishing the best of school years to the Brat and Bean…

    And hope that this will be the end of your school woes πŸ™‚

  7. Good luck to the little ones!! BTW, is brat going to a new school ? I do remember you mentioning that you had pulled him out of the school that he was supposed to start this year for certain reasons. Hope the second round of admissions went well..

    Me: πŸ™‚ Will blog about it sometime. But yes, it went well.

  8. Good luck to Brat and Bean with this school and to you guys too. Finding one school would have been difficult enough, imagine going thru it all again!!!! Sigh!
    But am a firm believer in everything happens for the best, so here’s wishing you guys all the BEST. πŸ™‚

  9. blog world really does wonders… look at how many people are around to wish ur kids the best of everything… we all love ur blog and thanks for writing it so well… size probably doesnt matter… even small things in life can make a lot of difference….

    best wishes to the brat and bean

  10. @arun

    I used to love going to book stores. I can feel the gurgling excitement of those days when I would get my new set of school books and the whole roll of brown paper and plastic sheet. And then sitting for hours cutting that roll of paper into smaller rectangles and then there was this particular way of folding it around books. It was damn fun i think!

  11. wow… All the best to the bean and the brat as they start on this journey together.. and to the momma who must have taken a long time to believe that her beanie is that big now πŸ™‚

  12. hey MM,
    i didn’t changed many schools, just two of them. the second time i was scared whether i’d be able to make any friends or not.. and whoa i got a whole bunch of them who are there for a lifetime. your post reminded me of that very day.

    gudluck teeny weenies and wish u loads of blast at school

    Me: πŸ™‚ yeah. that was a stroke of luck. I didnt think I’d end up with so many friends within the first few days.. and yes, we’re all in touch. Guess what – another one of our friends moved back to Delhi this week. Will call you …

  13. Hope the brat and Bean had loads of fun πŸ™‚ Are they in the same school? What fun to have siblings in the same school! Waiting for the 1st day post πŸ™‚

  14. Are they both going to the same school? I didn’t go to the same school as my older brother and he can’t thank god enough for that πŸ™‚

    Me: sadly the brat wont have that pleasure!

  15. MM, so the kids are back to school and your break’s over…and your back. Welcome back. Awww I want summer vacations tooooo

  16. …and here I was imagining the two of them walking hand in hand to the new school…I’m sure they’ll be blessed with loads of friends and lots of fun…

  17. πŸ™‚

    good luck to both em kids! and beautiful song that! πŸ™‚

    i loved my school the most! more than college even!

    Cubby started playschool recently and is loving it totally! now this one is only till the kindergarten bit.

    we were thinking of trying a regular school (one that goes on till 10th types) for next year. but then he so goddamn happy in here, that we think we should let him continue another year least!

    but then getting admission at later stage might be even tougher! what you thinks?! 😦

    cheers!

And in your opinion....

