No need for words

The Brat is on the bed and I jump on him and smell the still baby smell of Johnson’s powder.

Mmm…. I breathe it in.

Mock offended at this invasion of personal space he turns around, places two pink lips on my cheek and blows a rude raspberry… ‘pprrrfffft’

The Bean sees action that cannot be missed and jumps on to the bed (wagon), rubs a soft little cheek against my back and in her favourite animal of the month mood goes ‘miaow’.

I turn around and scare the kitten away with a sharp bark… ‘woof’

The Brat to the rescue of baby kitten sister frames his face with his hands and roars like a lion…

I fall back, terrified and sobbing.

The two little animals are repentant and immediately clamber all over me in a huddle, the Brat holding my chin, the Bean stroking my hair. We cuddle into the pillows, a satisfied grunt here, a sigh of contentment there…

And so we’ve had mama and baby communication in words found in no dictionary. In a language that is just ours. What is that old one? Oh yes, love needs no words.

21 thoughts on “No need for words

  1. This one brought a BIG smile on my face! I could picture it so clearly as I was reading your post. Reminds me of how I used to jump on my baby brother. He is ten years younger than me so I almost feel like a mother to him. πŸ˜‰

    MM, please put a kala teeka on the brat and the bean on my behalf! πŸ™‚

    BTW..what was the other “animal” -the OA- in this mad zoo doing? hehe πŸ™‚

    Me: officing!

  2. This is so nostalgic…every Sunday morning, while waking me up, my dad would pretend he is a lion and me a deer, and the “hunting” game would begin and end in loads and loads of tickles.

  3. This brought back such lovely memories: my mother would throw the mosquito net over us and shout, “There I have my Rui, and here, here, is my Katla …” Then my father would come with the wok from the kitchen and we would scream … and, in the end, even the fisherwoman and the cook would come inside the mosquito net, and we would all become fishes!
    Hugs

  4. Aargh, Cringing at the multiple grammatical errors in the previous comment. Please ignore them, I was in a mad rush.

  5. Was just able to visualise it… Had a BIG BIG SMILE….

    Now who’s that other Uma here? WOOF πŸ™‚

  6. loved it! Keep hugging your gems…they say we cut back on physically touching our kids as they grow older, which is actually when they need it the most! Keep in touch:)

  7. Awwwwww!!! Thats cho cute…
    Reminds me of my daily waking up regime when I was 5. My Dad used to wake me up secretly and put up 2 pillows on the bed and cover them with a quilt and we both would go off to brush my teeth. In the mean time, Mom would come along pretending she was really annoyed I wasn’t up yet and then me and Dad would jump out of nowhere and scare her. She would look at us sheepishly. I can’t believe they did this thing every morning…all for me…sigh!!

    Couldn’t hold back from writing a comment. Am a huge fan of yours…
    fell in love with your writing after i got preggie…

  8. I have a 2 year old son. And some days when I have the energy left after a full day’s work in the office, I give him an elephant ride on my back… He enjoys it thoroughly !

And in your opinion....

