Sepia tinted

Dear BFF,

Did you get a chance to look at the pictures I sent you last night? I smiled for more than an hour as I sorted them. I love looking through old pictures and reminiscing. Wonder what people did before the camera!

In the pictures we’re thinner, prettier, fewer wrinkles (alright, we’re not wrinkled yet!), glossier hair… And the boys we were in love with? Skinnier, more hair (!) laughing into the camera… playing guitar…

But what really hit me – is that our eyes shone brighter.  Are we really that old and have we really gone through enough to lose that shine?

I miss you,

MM

PS: But damn, we dress better 😉

21 thoughts on “Sepia tinted

  1. Dear MM,
    Is this an e-mail or an entry in a blog where entry is by invitation only?
    I am confused…. please enlighten me..

    Thanks in advance.

  2. MM,

    If the photos were of the 80s/90s then EVERYONE dresses better now, THANKFULLY!

    And you wrinkled? Bah! Stop fishing!

    M (who remembers the fashions of the late 80s/early 90s with a shudder!)

  3. what a tease MM – ek photo to upload kar diya hota. You know we like getting dazzled by shiny eyes 🙂

    me 😉 and scare you guys off my blog? why would i do that now?

  4. yes, we have gone through *that* much MM. its called “losing one’s innocence”. I see it in E everyday and it never fails to poke my heart that she’s going to slowly and surely be stripped of that innocence as she grows older.
    And of course the inevitable growing up, paying bills, taking responsibilities…. *sigh*.

    Priya.
    p.s. did I just write “poke my heart”? well, you get the idea 🙂

    Me: when you write “poke my heart” I know your heart is poked beyond all measure and i totally get the picture 🙂

  5. MM..i guess all this while the shiny eyes are courtesy the “twinkle in our eye”…the shine is still there, it has just realized into the angel/devil of the house..no sentimentality this, physics ka rule hai…we are all energy/light bodies.

  6. I love old pics! There is something magical about refreshing memories through photographs. I can spend hours just looking at the loads of albums we have at home. I think my parents dressed better than me …ofcourse they had the bellbottoms and stuff but all in all they dressed quite well for that era 🙂 I loved watching Om Shanthi Om and thinking: Wow,my parents were fashionable 🙂

  7. Yup, we do dress better!
    (And the hair might be thinner … but it’s better styled too, no?)

    Me: LOL! that too.

  8. 🙂

    i dont think there is better way of spending time than going through old albums and laughing over the same stories the nth time! 😀

    and the shine? well enjoy it in brat’s and bean’s eyes! am sure it reflects in yours then! 🙂

    cheers!

  9. i know the feeling (empathy)
    I collect old pics and keep putting them up for friends from time to time….the shine is gone at my end too

  10. Shine-whine!:-)

    Take a couple of days off Mommydom and go connect with the BFF. Go shopping, dance, stay up chatting – and watch that shine just zing back into your eyes.

    Either that, or just drink enough vodka to get a pleasant glaze!

    p.s. But you don’t drink. dang!

    Me: I would if she would move back to India. damn. I blame her entirely.

  11. Remember when you were young…you shone like the sun,
    Now there’s a look in your eyes…like black-holes in the skies,
    Shine on you crazy diamond…

  12. I know .. Sigh. I don’t know about the bad dressing (me, not you! You dressed fabulously even then, I saw your pics:) because youth sort of made us all look good anyway !

  13. bff= best female friend?
    i thought bff= boy friend .i did not know what the extra f was for.


    Me: BFF = best friend forever – I think i should stop talking like an american teenager. am far too old for that too 😉

    i guess i am from the generation that wore really loose shirts with belts on top. or tucked into high waisted baggy pants. ayesha jhulka and amir in ‘jo jeeta wahi sikandar’. Even my cotton printed pajama type pants are better than that.

And in your opinion....

