Use it or lose it

I was reading something on de-cluttering the home and found the usual suggestions on either using it within 6 months of buying it or chucking it. So I began to de-clutter with a vegeance and made good progress until I got to a drawer full of the Brat’s school stuff. He’s brought home endless craft work from school that I have hoarded with only a mother’s appreciation of the crap her child makes being true art.

So I pulled it all out and wondered if I should chuck it. After all I have another 14 years of him doing craft. And another child who hasn’t even begun school yet. And then I decided that like all good art it needed to be displayed. And not just the token framed picture on the wall. So his stuff has been incorporated around the house. I plan to use as much as I can and here’s some of what he’s made. This way it gets displayed, it’s unbreakable, it breaks the monotony of a tidy living room, it gives him a pride in what he makes and makes it look more like a home with babies!!

The first is a Ganesha he madeย  – taking pride of place on a side table.

018

Next up is a smooth pebble painted like a ladybird. I don’t know how long the colours will last out in the rain but it will be used and then chucked and will have served it’s purpose instead of languishing in a drawer. (Wailll…. I don’t wanna let it goooo……. sob, sob, sob)

021

And here we have a variety of err… err…. (damn, even a mother can’t say much about this) – creatures emerging from primeval swamp. And a flower.

019

And since we’re doing a round of displays, this is one from me, chumma. For free. Have I shown it to you guys before? A basket of greens. I’ve cut a bisleri bottle in half to use as a pot inside the basket. You like?

020

57 thoughts on “Use it or lose it

  1. I LOVE! So creative, that child!

    Me: *shakes head in disapproval* maaaan. So in addition to mad mother, the loony aunts join in and the child ends up thinking he’s the cat’s whiskers and the kangaroo’s tail…

  2. You inspire me to have my own mini garden! ๐Ÿ™‚

    p.s: How do u cut a bisleri bottle? A heated knife?

    Me: nope. just a bigass butcher’s knife. and yes – its amazing. i’m always turned to mush when i see plants and herbs grown outside huts…

    I once saw 6-7 halved bisleri bottles with thriving herbs, hung by twines outside a hut.. like a garland. And I remember thinking, how resourceful of the person to have done this within their means.

  3. aww!! love that beetle pebble….

    basket greens is a good idea…. puts all those “bouquet” baskets to good use…i’ve grown kothmir and pudina in a few… looks great and comes in handy too…

  4. heh – all pre-school teachers seem to be cut from the same cloth – we have the same swamp creatures (in clay, not plasticine – so they crumble slowly), the same beetle etc.

    Love the greens in basket idea too…

    As for the artwork…sigh. I prune – ruthlessly, at the end of the school year, and manage to bring the year’s output down to the size of a legal file (3-4″ thick?) which then gets put away in their “special box” for the future…but I anticipate needing a larger house soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    M

  5. The Brat’s stuff is for keeps or should be auctioned off. I’ll buy. Your basket/ bottle/ greens whatever I can take or leave.

    Me: hah! what would a crazy cat lady know? :p
    *falls really low in an attempt to get back at GOTB*

  6. It is nice to see they are making so many things as part of craft and arts in school nowadays. Is it just brat’s school or most schools do it nowadays. I remember we just did some basic coloring and made paper boats etc.

  7. no!! dont throw his things away.. u’ll definitely want to keep all of it till as long as u can.. n he’d love to see it when he is a quarter of a century old…

    mum had to get rid of most of my stuff when we were moving around.. now i only have pics of some of it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  8. Nice idea! My daughter brings home more and more art work on paper…I wish they’d use other materials more often. Ladybug on pebble is so adorable!

  9. I think the green creature is a toad and the blue one an alligator … (blue alligator …hmmm), I should ask Cantaloupe and I am sure she will identify those creature ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. There are shops selling stuff like this, you know. I particularly like the swamp creatures and the melting Ganesha (a Dali-esque take on Ganesha, should we say?)

  11. I use the same philosophy to clean my desk at work…if it hasn’t been used in 6 months, then u don’t need it. I LOVED the stuff…and the basket of greens idea is pretty cool!!!

  12. the craft is good… even i like to make things from clay/ POP… its fun
    thats cool…. are those table rose in the basket???

  13. am shifting house…first i thot of hiring you-but now even brat will do…when are u sneding him to me??

    Me: uff. take him now. its been a long morning even before i left for office. take him with all my blessings!!

  14. I wish you had put more ๐Ÿ™‚ It would really be difficult to chuck any of it out, i can understand but you have a point in saying – you have another 14 years of him doing craft. Making an album in such case is one idea n cool it is…

    kids creativity is always close to heart. I must add I love urs too, very much. the garden, the indoors all that. After having seen all the pics u keep putting up on this blog, I feel your entire house will have creativity in abundance.

    Keep going lady! keep sharing too..
    ~Tara

  15. Hey, honestly, that was not so bad. I actually liked the ladybird. I loved it when my Ma used to display my creations in her home decor. Thats hugely motivating. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. me think he has done a bleddy good job! much better than i can right nows even! ๐Ÿ˜€

    M though my clay cat was a mouse! :p

    and those things from swamps are pretty obviously crocs and a frog! you need to get em checked, you eyes along with the knees! :p

    hugs to the Brat!

    cheers!

  17. The Brat is pretty good. The Ganesha and the ladybird look very good!! And I love how you do up your home. If you want to quit your current job, you have a successful interior designing career in waiting!

  18. Can I be โ€˜inspiredโ€™ by the bratโ€™s ladybird idea and โ€˜internalizeโ€™ it? Coz I have a boxful of those pebbles at home & donโ€™t know what to do with โ€˜em. I think I will ๐Ÿ˜€

    And we have around 25-30 Ganeshas at home, but the one I made of clay & beads when I was a kid is still placed at vantage point in the *blush* living roomโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜›
    So I think the golden one is in your house for good ๐Ÿ™‚

    A virtual pat on the brat to back !

  19. The ladybird is so nice and so is the Ganesha! And really cute flower and tadpoles ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a creative child MM!

  20. I love these creative things in the house. You can chuck it after sometime with no extra thought, and then after that make a new one!

    So variety and a changing decor too!

  21. Love it.

    Brat is quite creative, you should put more on display. At least post pics, Ok?

    The bisleri plant is cute. The flora-impaired person is asking, what is the plant’s name?

  22. Cool. I’ll do the same with D’s artwork. The only problem is she will never let it be if its within her reach. Don’t the kiddos mess up your home? it always looks so good.

  23. besides the time i’ll get when he is at school, there are now few more things i can look forward too. the bisleri bottle idea is superb btw what herbs can i grow in them?

    Me: Grow anything that will fill it up and cover it up. Come over and take some cuttings from me. Your nani’s house is full of stuff. You should get something from her back garden

  24. I would have kept that adorable lady bird away from sun and rain … but I agree it’s a good idea to use them. And now you have these pictures when you do wish to see these gorgeous things what he made!

  25. Loved the way, you displayed all the stuff. Post some more pics.

    We have drawers full of paintings, letters and crafts at our house too. I display some in my office cube and some in my son’s room and playarea. But still at times, when he paints the same stuff or does the same craft again and again, i have to make a decision to throw some of those. It hurts, but its hard to manage, display and store so much.

    Your post today gave me an idea to post some pics on my blog, about my son’s art and also the stuff around my house which give me peace and happiness.

    Thanks for awakening my creativity MM.

    Nids

  26. I liked the Brat’s mother’s work very much. (I’ve even cut the mouths of plastic droppers and put the rest of their bodies inside tiny china clay pots; two seeds of mustard in each, and you have cheerful mustard flowers standing up from the shining black and blue pots in three weeks. Perfect for side tables; I even have an arrangement of three such vases in my office.)
    I’d like to write about your house some day, if only you’d let me in!

    Me: awright then. first show me the pots in your home. they sound gorgeous!

  27. I wanna try the miustard idea.. Can I use the regular mustard from the kitchen or are there spl seeds? (I know, Im clueless :-/)

    Me: LOL! the regular seeds are fine.

  28. I cannot keep most of their crap err art. I display their art on a special wall for 2-3 weeks and they choose whether to keep it or throw away. Then at the end of the year, we go through their boxes agains and they get to decide what to keep.
    I do feel guilty at times but seriously the pile keeps getting bigger and bigger. I dread the day when Samar starts school.

    Me: LOL! oh I dont envy you. It’s hard enough for me with two brats.

  29. I couldn’t help smiling at the “chumma” word. Proud UP girl saying “chumma”! I am guessing a Mallu/Tam cnx here. ๐Ÿ™‚ Being married to a Mallu I was shocked when I heard it for the first time. People saying chumma chumma at random situations. The only chumma I knew was jhumma chumma de de!! I figured it out a few months later. And now I sometimes even end up using that word. Just like that. Chumma!

    And I loved those colourful creatures the best. Maybe nature can consult the brat when he’s designing future creatures. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Me: oh totally proud UP waali – Dad is Tam ๐Ÿ™‚ But the chumma, funnily, I have picked up from friends in Delhi!

  30. Love what you have done with the stuff ! I sometimes lay them out and at other times I feel the stuff is going to devour my small flat. Then I put them in shoe boxes and tuck them away. What will become in the next couple of years of junior school x 2 !!!?!!!

  31. Mustard… black or yellow?! Am as clueless as #46, but would love to try what #45 said!
    Thanks for the ideas!

And in your opinion....

