Happy Holi!

Wishing you as much colour as there is in this post and more…. God bless and may you have a safe and fun day!

009

010

011

014a

017a

Hey Shivani, this one’s for you! You got it right, it *is* a terracotta tortoise πŸ™‚

003

For the rest of the world – This is the furniture I spent the night painting when the kids were coming back. You like?

018a

Oh, and look what I hung up in the garden. A little handi that came with curd, washed out and filled with a plant that flows out of it.

005

This is a little mud bowl that came with Haldiram rabri. I promptly divvied up the cactus that was growing too full for its pot.

004

50 thoughts on “Happy Holi!

  1. I have saved up two mud pots … and am trying my hand at growing stuff!

    Hopefully I shall have pics like these one day!

    PS: Is it easy to shift plants from one pot to another/divide them? Don’t the roots break?

    Me: you can separate them and you have to give a little extra care with other plants. cactus is easy to maintain so it survives. quite hardy

  2. you’re an awesome plant mother too! its refreshing to see colourful flower imagery for holi.

    its my little one’s first holi and we’re celebrating with haldi and beetroot colour.

  3. Beautiful pictures! πŸ™‚ and a most loevly and unique way to wish us πŸ™‚
    Happy Holi to you and your loves ones too:)
    ((hugs))for Beanie and Brat πŸ™‚

  4. Beautiful pictures! πŸ™‚ and a most lovely and unique way to wish us πŸ™‚
    Happy Holi to you and your loves ones too:)
    ((hugs))for Beanie and Brat πŸ™‚

  5. Happy Holi, MM family!

    God job painting the furniture! Did you sandpaper and prime it before you painted? I did and it put me off painting furniture for ever! Next time I’m getting some Polish guy with a great torso to do the job while I drink tea and umm.. observe:-)

    The garden is simply LUSH! Whats the name of the plant in the second photo? Beeyootiful!It makes me want spring now! Enough of polar tyranny.

    Me: Hey MGM – i so did not!! too much work. and no major gain really. barely dusted it. i’m enthusiastic and never thorough! and call me when you get that guy to paint. i’ll sit and have some chai with you and we can observe his rippling muscles… errr handiwork.

    and oh – those arent flowers in the second pic. just the leaves of a very pretty plant. nice na? started out straggly and filled up the long pot.

  6. My favorite part about your house was the garden. So green and colorful. I can’t believe you painted the furniture. You are a supermom for sure:-)
    Love it that you’re recycling:-) and ofcourse I remember the twin cacti.

    Me: πŸ˜€ you do, huh? πŸ™‚ it was such a lovely afternoon. finished way too soon…

  7. wonderful, beautiful, too good for words – you did an awesome job with the garden (!) its so happy making. dil dance maare re.

  8. its gorrrgeous! happy holi to you too mm!
    i had a long day going insane with the colours and now i feel totally spent and dead

  9. you have a beautiful garden MM….the lady with a ‘green thumb’ ha?
    Happy HOLI to the Mad Momma clan. I have to admit, this is one festival I just dont care for. I had a very bad experience with it once and even now when I think about it, it makes me mad.
    But thats me…enjoy yours.

    Me: oh i dont play either babe. I wrote about it last year .I hate people touching me – no matter how fond of them i am. my body is my temple and i’ve had some terrible experiences. two years ago this time someone chucked a hard water balloon at my 9 month pregnant, about to deliver belly – as i stood outside the doctor’s clinic.

    plus its Lent – so i dont play anything anyway. of course i dont enforce it on the kids but with the bean we dont colour her because of her skin. the OA has terrible pimple marked skin and breaks out with colour – plus as a south indian – not one of his top festivals so he isnt interested. that leaves a snotty nosed brat who sniffs all the time and cannot be drenched to the bone. so we just stay home, play football and lounge around till its safe to get out πŸ™‚

  10. You painted that furniture?! Where do you get the drive to do all that from?

    Me: I make up for the lazy bum OA πŸ˜‰
    besides i’m the kind of person who cant let well alone. i must keep messing with stuff.

  11. What a nice post to come back to – for me, I mean. (The whole family has been down with something snot-filled) I do like the painted furniture, but I think I liked the wood color better – did you paint the swing as well?

    M

    Me: oh my – how is the family now? and N – i hope he didnt get too sick. as for the furniture. i liked it woody too but lying out in the sun and rain it got bleached really bad and began to crack. i kept painting it with natural varnish but it wasnt good enough. so we did this. the OA is very thrilled. wanted a mediterranean look that naturally wont happen – but this is close enough to make the lazy bum happy. he was supposed to paint the swing. as usual – did half and left the rest. damnit. i have to get him back to it!

  12. Hi MM:

    Beautiful garden! Happy Holi to you.

    I had a question for you. What do you do about the wall hangings and your colorful pillows in the garden when it rains? they come at the most unexpected time..like when we are at work. So I am nervous about putting wall hangings or pillows in my patio. Any tips? πŸ™‚

    Me: πŸ™‚ hey Vidya – the wall hanging is a dupatta i tired of. it will stay out in all weather until it rots and then i will replace it with another cheap one. simple. Delhi doesnt see too much of unseasonal rain and during the monsoons i dont put the cushions out.

  13. Happy Holi mad woman :), I had a q about that ‘wall hanging’ but I believe someone already asked. I cant wait for it get warmer consistently out here so I can re-pot the house plants. You’re giving me good ideas πŸ™‚

    Me: stick with me baby. i’ll teach you a couple of things πŸ˜‰

  14. Hope you have a holy and blessed Lent. Yes, there is pun there in the “holy”-but not intentional! How are your knees?

    Me: thanks so much Ra, knee not too good 😦 but getting there. started the glucosamine and doing knee exercises. spoke to a couple of friends who had the same prob after babies. pregnancy really does ruin you

  15. have a blessed Lent!

    cant imagine someone throwing a water balloon at a pregnant woman….i couldnt stand those damn balloons.

    Me: oh i once was walking with a friend who got a balloon in her eye. the contact lens cut her eye. didnt know that was possible.

  16. Happy Holi MM…your colorful post is an inspiration in itself…just pass on some of your motivation and we’ll all be gardeners. I need to learn to go and do things I want done because discussing it with R is only going to delay us and create arguments.
    (Shhh don’t tell him I said that) Note to self: Keep R away from madmomma blog!

    I love the center table with the three pots. It looks lovely! Nice job with the paint…keep inspiring!!

  17. Happy holi to you too and the garden looks so very vibrant. The furniture looks fresh to welcome spring.

    Curds come in such beautiful containers??? Wow!

  18. Oh baby, you made my morning. All my plants have died thanks to creek sulfur…..am heartbroken.
    Just went to handicraft exhibition in grounds next to home and was thinking this would be perfect for MMs terrace. Can you imagine…

  19. Your garden is just amazing πŸ™‚ i have been trying so hard top keep a balcony garden and its just not working 😦 either i have ared thumb or the plants have just decided they dont want to cooperate with me.
    anyways good work πŸ™‚ cheers to u!

  20. someday i want to nurture a garden like this one. till then i will just ogle at urs :))

    love the lil personal touches all over the place.

    p.s : I liked the wood color better…for the furniture.

  21. love love love your garden. you=rockstar!

    but i am so livid hearing about someone throwing a water balloon at your pregnant belly. Just last week I was travelling by a bus, sitting at the window seat and someone threw a water balloon at my face. I was so lucky it hit the window bar and missed my face though the water was all over me. this put me off so much that i did not celebrate holi at all.

  22. Holi is so calming in the South, you won’t believe it. I went to the market and there were some young people playing amongst themselves who did not attack others who were going about their business like any other day!
    Happy Holi to you and best wishes for lent. Your garden looks as beautiful as ever! The furniture looks excellent, hats off to you MM!

  23. Sigh !! What a gorgeous garden….if only I’d seen this post yesterday, my Holi would’ve been made.
    Thanks sooo much MM for remembering my li’l comment πŸ™‚
    And in keeping with my OCD of noticing other details around the photo πŸ˜‰ let me state that I found the bandhini dupatta hung behind the cane furniture & the giraffe like thing behind the small cactus absolutely FAB.

  24. Pingback: dress your home » Inspiration : Ideas for six unusual and colorful planters

  25. Pingback: dress your home » Inspiration : Ideas for six unusual and colorful planters

And in your opinion....

