How the Bean learnt

… the meaning of ‘Don’t touch that.’

018

34 thoughts on “How the Bean learnt

  1. Awww… was she hurt very badly? I hope not!

    Me: LOL! not at all.. I was screaming don’t don’t don’t…. so she patted it and ran like hell. more shock than pain!

  2. Oh man, that little cutie patootie doesn’t have to learn things the hard way. 😦

    Me: better late than never huh? 😉 she must learn that the whole world won’t accommodate her and there will be the odd prickly thing she must look out for! the brat doesnt touch cactus now either !

  3. ouch… MM, that hurts…. and you let her touch that? meanie momma… boo hoo

    Me: well we dont want them to grow up to be wusses, do we now? next you know, they’ll be cycling with knee pads and helmets! God! What an awfully sanitised, boring childhood…. although why everyone thinks I ‘let’ her touch it when the title clearly says that i said “Don’t”, is anyone’s guess!

  4. you are pure evil !! but a smart one I should add.

    hows her ouieeee?

    Me: not evil. just sensible 🙂 i am not going to throw my cactus out just because i have kids na? 🙂 and her finger didnt get hurt at all – she just touched it and ran like hell!

  5. 😦 poor thing!

    I always used to end up touching cacti too when I was a kid. I never intended to, but in the mad running and caring for teddies, my hand used to brush against them!

    My mom loved to keep them just around the corners!

    Me: LOL! Well, I kept mine under a table where nobody can accidentally brush against it but old poke nose decided to touch it and learnt an early lesson. I hate to keep my house totally baby-proof – after all, there are adults living here too, and its best if kids learn early that the world doesnt revolve around their comfort!

  6. aaahhh mothers have to be evil sometimes. my son learnt not to touch tea cups in a similar manner… some lessons are learnt the harder way

    Me: 🙂 ah – my old friend. Ma taught the brat his lesson in the same way – let him touch a hot cup of tea – and he never did it again. if you watch over them while they do it, they will be hurt less than if you protect them from it and they do it behind your back sometime.

  7. Ouch, Beanie Baby. Kissies for u, Doll.

    Did u do a post similar to this on the Brat learning this ‘lesson’ the hard way too, or am i imagining it?

    Me: I might have. I usually let them learn small lessons this way instead of protecting them 🙂

  8. hahaha 🙂
    I remember asking you long back how you had gotten cactii into your home, while I’d been so paranoid about Nino getting hurt. You’d just simply said he’s learn not to touch it.
    Must say, MM, your advice was very accurate.

    Me: 🙂 glad to see another sensible person. I hate over protecting the children and I am a very houseproud person along with being a mother who believes that kids have to learn – sometimes, the hard way. Huge risks, I never take – so despite living in India, the kids are in car seats in the car. There used to be a baby gate at the door of the kitchen when they were little. But the rest – is small stuff and I’ve learnt not to sweat it.

  9. Poor Beanie !! First you don’t let her relish her chicken leg & then this ?????? 😉
    Btw what’s that green terracotta thing next to your cactus? I love whatever bits I can see of it, would you mind posting a clearer picture pretty please?

    Me: Your wish is my command. Will post a picture soon – until then.. keep wondering 😉

  10. Wow!!!
    Thank God! there is another Mom who is mean like me 🙂

    I let my daughter touch the Hot tea (not really hot..a little warm) and then she understood the word hot and will never do that again. Now hope my son follows the same lesson.

    He is one tough cookie, he is just about 11 months and has started throwing tantrums by banging his head. Do you have any advice to tackle this?

    Me: well mine dont bang their heads, but both lie down on the ice cold marble floors in the Delhi winter. I just ignore. they catch a cold, but i deal with it. its just an attention tactic and if you respond they do it more often. its hard advice, but it works. we did the tea thing with the brat too. and the bean has touched a hot cup too. i think its better to monitor the situation and let them see what it is, than let them discover it in a harder way when you’re not around. both mine skirt around tea cups very cautiously now!

  11. Funny. That never taught me not to touch it, it only taught me how to touch it without hurting myself…I must be seriously demented!

    Me: great lesson that too!

  12. when I saw your title, my first thought was, gas stove fire: that’s how I learnt those words.

    Aha! Kiti chan! (So pretty), I said and plonked my hand on the gas stove to feel the beauty of the fire.

    do tell bean that I send her a truck full of kisses.

  13. At the risk of sounding Friends obsessed, this reminds me of the episode where Joey can’t remember whether he’s slept with a girl before or not..

    And he touches the giant cactus and remembers it. “It did this the last time too!”

  14. NOT RELATED TO THIS POST …

    Got this fwd, as i read this u came to my mind first ..
    sending u this and dedicating to u 🙂

    MOTHERS
    Real Mothers don’t eat quiche; they don’t have time to make it
    Real Mothers know that their kitchen utensils are probably in the sandbox.
    Real Mothers often have sticky floors, filthy ovens and happy kids.
    Real Mothers know that dried play dough doesn’t come out of carpets.
    Real Mothers don’t want to know what the vacuum just sucked up.
    Real Mothers sometimes ask ‘Why me?’ and get their answer when a little voice says, ‘Because I love you best.’
    Real Mothers know that a child’s growth is not measured by height or years or grade…It is marked by the progression of Mommy to Mom to Mother….

    The Images of Mother

    4 YEARS OF AGE – My Mommy can do anything!

    8 YEARS OF AGE – My Mom knows a lot! A whole lot!

    12 YEARS OF AGE – My Mother doesn’t really know quite everything.

    14 YEARS OF AGE – Naturally, Mother doesn’t know that, either.

    16 YEARS OF AGE – Mother? She’s hopelessly old-fashioned.

    18 YEARS OF AGE – That old woman? She’s way out of date!

    25 YEARS OF AGE – Well, she might know a little bit about it

    35 YEARS OF AGE – Before we decide, let’s get Mom’ s opinion.

    45 YEARS OF AGE – Wonder what Mom would have thought about it?

    65 YEARS OF AGE – Wish I could talk it over with Mom.

    The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides. The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole, but true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It is the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows, and the beauty of a woman with passing years only grows!

  15. My cousin said she let her son get a small cut with a knife (butter knife) before he stopped touching knives … that was 4 years back … at that time I wondered how could she be so mean … gradually I am learning that there is only so much you can protect your child and sometimes they may have to learn the hard way.
    But you know what, lessons learnt the hard way are lessons learnt for life 🙂
    Good job Brave / Mean momma !

  16. 🙂

    good for Bean!! 😀 Cubby touched a glass bottle inspite of telling him not to and fell from his hand and broke. a small one. i took him away to safety first. but he got quite the point! i hope!

    ofcos with teacups he comes and touches them lightly and says garam. ofcos after he almost broke one by toppling it over, he doesnt do that any more! :p

    and knee pads made me laugh! the other day we went for a picnic and my pal whose son crawls was actually wearing knee pads!!!!! i was sooo zapped! she said i just dont want him to scrape his knees! :p and on the other hand she lets him put his hand in their dog’s mouth! so i really didnt know how to react! 😀

    cheers!

  17. Thank you, thank you…! Will wait for the pic.
    My guess would be it’s either a floating candle stand or a terracotta turtle.

    So, how close am I? 😀

    Me: very 😀

  18. Cactus and hot tea is ok but how to keep them away from stuff that does not prick or feel hot? Like wires for example. After a point it boils down to whether the child listens to you or not.

    me: Well you can either teach your child to blindly listen – or let them learn. certain things are not open to negotiation – like wires. which is why all plug points should always be locked. at the age of two they dont always listen and you cant always follow them around. cactus thorns can be removed, hot tea wont kill them – live wires will – so you have to pick and choose your battles.

  19. Pingback: Happy Holi! « The Mad Momma

And in your opinion....

