Pink Chaddi Campaign

You may have heard of the Pink Chaddi Campaign that kicked off three days ago to oppose the Sri Ram Sena. The campaign is growing exponentially (3,800 at this point in the life of our Consortium of Pub-going, Loose and Forward Women) and that is not surprising. Most women in this country have enough curbs on their lives without a whole new franchise cashing in with their bully-boy tactics. (Read Nisha’s interview here to see what started this snowball)

Of course, a lot of men have joined the group as well. Here is we want to do with the Pink Chaddi Campaign. Join in. Be imaginative, have fun and fight back!

Step 1: It does not matter that many of us have not thought about Valentine’s Day since we were 13. If ever. This year let us send the Sri Ram Sena some love. Let us send them some PINK CHADDIS. Look in your closet or buy them cheap. Dirt-cheap. Make sure they are PINK. Send them off to the Sena.

The address to send the package is: Pramod Muthalik, Chief Bully Boy, Sri Rama Sena, #11, Behind New Bus Stand, Gokhul Road, Near Lakshmi Park, Hubli – Karnataka.

If you don’t want to mail it yourself, you can drop it off at the Chaddi Collection Points. We will be collecting across the country through this week and sending the packages on February 12. More information about Chaddi Collectors in your city soon on our blog: http://thepinkchaddicampaign.blogspot.com/

Step 2: Send the Pink Chaddi Campaign a photograph of the package. Tell us how many chaddis you are sending out and inspire other women in other cities. You can either mail the information here or you can mail it at our facebook address.

Step 3: On Valentine’s Day we do a Pub Bharo action. Go to a pub wherever you are. From Kabul to Chennai to Guwahati to Singapore to LA women have signed up. It does not matter if you are actually not a pub-goer or not even much of a drinker. Let us raise a toast (it can be juice) to Indian women. Take a photo or video. We will put it together (more on how later) and send this as well to the Sri Ram Sena.

Step 4: After Valentine’s Day we should get some of our elected leaders to agree that beating up women is ummm… AGAINST INDIAN CULTURE. For right now, ask not what Dr VS Acharya, Home Minister of Karnataka can do for you. Ask what you can do for him. Here is his blog. http://drvsacharya.blogspot.com.ย  Send him some love.

29 thoughts on “Pink Chaddi Campaign

  1. But you just said a few posts earlier that we should wear our best ones. But I could buy a cheap one. Oh ! this is fun. I have a better idea – when we go to the pubs , we should make sure we do something totally within our culture like dance the lavni and drink chaas – they can’t have anything against that. Also I think married couples should flood the restaurants/pubs just to show some support and be the decoy !!

  2. mm
    after your email confirming that the pink chaddi campaign was for real,i was wondering instead of sending these to just the sene in bangalore, maybe we can send them to the local “sena” people, like in mumbai to shiv sena and mns and the like….btw, toi ran a story on it today.

  3. How I wish I could join you all and go to a pub on 14th. I would be in train that day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But I’m definitely sending in my share of pink chaddi’s ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Seriously, consider expanding this to the Shiv Sena please. Fighting about crap issues like this when there are real ones around us. Nitwits!

    Me: No harm at all I guess. people can do whatever they want. although i can imagine the shiv sena getting a little shocked and wondering what the hell hit

  5. AWESOME! this is so awesome! so non sensical. i’d love to see the reaction on the sena’s face when they get these!

    but hey – this campaign needs more publicity! I’m in Indore. And I heard of it only thru ur blog. Wont have known of it otherwise. Am going to send a mail to everyone on my mail list ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. YO GAL…let’s do it! Am off to courier my pink chaddi to the Sene! Why on earth have they named it Ram Sene!! They should call themselves the Vanara or Markata Sene!! &*()*%$@#%@%^&*( of the first order!!!

    Me: I agree. its ridiculous to give it a God’s name. no matter what your moral policing, no God’s name needs to be associated with any form of violence.

  7. I love you all…….. I sooooooo love the spirit…….. mmmuuuuuaaaaaa to all of you (MM and all the ‘loose’ women who agree… oh BTW, count me in too) ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. babes.. pls send a pink chaddi from my side also..

    Me: done. you can send one from Victoria’s secret for me the next time someone’s coming to india :p Kidding baba – please dont really do it! will send one from you.

  9. Fabulous initative! Hard to participate sitting in Norway, but I’m trying to recruit as many friends as possible. We gotta get these a***holes beat!

    I just wondered why Sundeep Dougal’s blog on Outlookindia.com has EXACTLY the same sentences as your post? Is it a case of blog-plagiarism again? OR is it a standard text released by the group?

    Me: it was a mail Nisha sent to us. The lazy ones like me didn’t change a word. Some people have made more of an effort!

  10. Muthalik and his cronies deserve this sardonic treatment. Since I can’t send chaddis from here I have displayed something else pink.

    Delhi protest is also taking momentum.

  11. I love Valentines and I love my drink but I just cannot empathise with the Pink Chadhi campaign. If at all, to me it makes a very serious issue seem very trivial and undignified. There could have been other ways to protest…maybe?

    Me: a lot of people would agree with you – but the way i see it – its a way sticking your tongue out at a bunch of fossils who arent really worth serious retaliation simply because their ideas are so ridiculously outdated. I dont drink and I dont celebrate valentine’s either – but thats because they dont interest me. not because its against my culture.

  12. i blogged about this as well on my design blog- loved the fiery satire and humour behind the idea. I feel across the border we have the same problems of being squshed down in our choices but you have cooler less scared people speaking out in such a colourful way- and im hoping we can get inspired by you guys to get off our fatasses and do something of our own like this.

  13. pink chaddi is a crude phrase….but those are the only words crude and uncultured people of various senas would understand. Yes…young and old…all eligible to go to a pub should show solidarity by going to a pub preferably wearing spaghetti straps….on a valentine’s day. if they try to disrupt this harmless way of protest….express your love thru shaking hands, hugging them and even kissing them. and give a pink rose…symbol of love

  14. Pingback: The Pink Chaddi Campaign « HappyFeet n Me

  15. I know this happened a long time ago, but I only discovered your blog recently (LOVE it, BTW. You are responsible for a lot of my lost productivity at work.) and decided to de-lurk to ask a question regarding this campaign. As much as I was impressed with the cheekiness of the idea, I groaned when I read the tagline, particularly at the choice of the word loose. Wasn’t the campaign embracing the judgement that it sought to protest — that pub-going, forward women must be loose? I was so disappointed, I didn’t join in. Why, oh why?

    • Well, that was the entire point – to be sarcastic. i think a lot of people lost interest because of that. but I loved the idea of throwing sarcasm back in their face. Even if we’re loose – so what? its not illegal.

      • So what, I agree, but I had always resented the judgement, so I simply couldn’t see the funny in it.
        Anyhoo, I do hope you didn’t miss out on the part of my comment (parenthesised and capitalized) where I gushed my love for your writing. Many of your posts are very moving. I particularly love the letters you write to your oh-so-adorable kids. Keep ’em coming!

And in your opinion....

