Dear Baby Button

I know your Mama and Dada love you a lot and probably write you letters in their head every night. But I’m your mad aunt and I am dying to meet you. By the time I lay eyes on you, you will be almost a year old and that thought makes me ache. Held by others, loved by others, recognising others and giving others your precious gurgles and smiles while far away I dream of you. As you can see, distance bothers me hugely, more so because I hate skype and refuse to be one of those mothers or aunts who forces kids to stand in front of a webcam and talk to pixelated faces that move in slow mo.

But your Mama arrived last night. I went to the airport to collect her and as she slowly turned the corner, all I saw was her belly. And right there in the middle of the airport I rushed to hug her and then promptly abandoned her and bent down to hug her bump. And right then I fell in love with you. Fortunately I remembered her swollen feet and rushed her into the car and got her home to a steaming hot meal. I sent SMS to all concerned on the way home (it was way past midnight) saying “The Eagle has landed”. And your G’pa promptly replied saying, “Wrong bird. We’re expecting a stork.” Yeah, you’ll learn, that your father gets his sense of humour from his father.

Anyway, this morning your cousins woke up delighted to see your Mama on their bed, dying to wake them up ( yes, at times your mother is more excitable than a 5 year old). The Bean sat up, cracked one eye open, grinned sleepily and said, “Where’s my baby Button?” and the sleepy Brat took a few minutes more only finally sitting up when I reminded him that Maami was carrying his baby Button in her belly. He wants you to be Robin to his Batman.

They’ve hugged you and kissed you before going to school and I can’t help but smile as I realise that a real live little baby lies inside mama’s tummy, soaking up the excitement and love, awaited by an entire family sitting on the edge of their chairs.

It is tradition to wear worn clothes for the first few days and I had put aside two outfits for you. A little red and white reindeer outfit of the Brat’s and a Winnie the Pooh onesie that the Bean wore. They come to you with love and luck and prayers and blessings. May they bless you with (selective!) traits that your cousins have. May you get the Brat’s loving, gentle disposition. May you get the Bean’s comic timing. May you get your Mummy’s absolute willlingness to try everything once and get up to all sorts of mischief. May you get your Daddy’s brilliant mind. And of course you have love from all of us.

I think what consoled me to some extent was seeing the Brat and the Bean hug your Mama and love her. Distance does make things difficult, yes, but when there is so much love, you survive it. They haven’t seen her since January and yet they hung on her every word and were unwilling to leave her and go to school. And I hope that when you come visiting us from the US you will enjoy our company and love your cousins right back. That you will not go nuts dealing with this mad aunt who won’t be able to stop cooing over you and kissing you…

God bless you baby Button…and hurry up – your family awaits you. So eagerly.

Love

Me

55 thoughts on “Dear Baby Button

  1. Can you officially become my kids adopted aunt? Can we sign some papers for that? Knock on wood. That baby is clearly blessed – to be showered with so much love from the family. Not just from parents. Knock on wood over and over. It is so lovely to read this post…that warm feeling…of family, of celebration.

  2. AWWWWWWWWWW!!! Baby Button! cutness i say ! cuteness!

    i can only imagine how much u must be enjoying pampering baby button’s mommy!

    I remem..my sis n i got expelled from our dance class…’coz we bunked a full week of class , our chitti had come frm Mumbai.

    Aunts are the one of the best ppl in whole wide world!

    Do u ever sleep ?????????????

  3. How adorable! When is baby button set to arrive in this world? And how come the would be mama is travelling at this time?

    I love the Winnie the Pooh onesie :D

  4. Girl, I hated skype to but being an aunty does funny things to one. Now, at least once a month, if not every other week, Sunday morning is spent watching my baby niece in the US play with her toys while my sister assures me that I am not fat and other such useful things. This is usually followed by a call to my sister-in-law where my four-year-old niece does some antics in front of the camera. She doesn’t like to talk but she likes to look at herself fooling around in the little screen and she brings things to show us like her artwork or fancy dress costume or some toy I bought her. And at least, she remembers how we look. It’s not ideal but when you’re an aunt miles away you’ll do things you wouldn’t do for your own sibling. Even my mum has miraculously learnt how to log on and skype herself and she does it ONCE A WEEK!

  5. Awwwwwwwwww. Did I tell you that the BFF is expecting a baby end- Feb? And that she lives in faraway Amreeka? And that everytime she sends me a pic of the growing bump, all I want to do is bend down and hug that bump and talk to lil Choco inside? I wrote Choco a similar letter, a month ago :) and I am trying hard to learn to knit (‘cos it’s a winter baby).
    And Baby Button!!!! Can I take credit for the name suggestion? Please, please? :D
    Give maami dearest all our warmest wishes and the Button a lot of love. We can’t wait for his/ her arrival either :)
    P.S: I don’t know why, but reading this post and thinking of Choco and the whole emotions that are surging in, it feels like Christmas :D

    • Agree!! I never downloaded Skye for all these years.. but with Mowgli (my nephew) arriving Skype has become my lifeline and I watch him for an hour everyday!! So I have seen him poop, pee , cry , smile , fart, burp.. literally everything and I’m comforted by the fact that inpspite of the distance I can see him grow up and he gets Chitti Love everyday!

  6. I refuse to do Skype myself. Pixellated torture describes it perfectly. I think we’re all going to miss Baby Button along with you. One year! Hugs!

    There’s nothing that carries more love and good luck than a cousin’s, sibling’s or dear friends worn clothes. A very sweet, touching post.

    P.S. MM, hurry up and heal your knee, you have to bounce Baby Button on it!

  7. Nice! When’s the baby Button due to arrive btw?

    I hate it, when my sister who’s yet to see (in person) my 6 month old pings me online to bring him in front of the webcam. Sometimes I oblige, but mostly I tell her (snap) that she should be here if she wants to see him.

  8. Thambi mama is having a kiddo? Wow! Congrats to him :)
    And to you too MM, another baby to cuddle, though you’d get to meet only when they visit.
    The best part is the Brat and Bean loving the baby inside tummy. That s the sweetest thing ever!

  9. What a lovely post! I dont think I can deal with a mad mama,so have never requested to be adopted by you.But a mad aunt I want.Can I be your niece and have such lovely letters written to me?

  10. :( It’s sad the distance between siblings. I have one sister here but she is 3 hours by flight away. Which is not bad but still the day to day is missing. And my younger sisters are in Singapore.. sigh!!

    I still think you should move out here, even moreso that you quit.

      • I just read your last line in the post above. Get OA to find a job here QUICK! :0

        I know you said you don’t like to cook, but if you come to the Bay area, you can easily hire an older aunty to come and cook at your house.
        The driver, I cannot help. But driving is so much easier than India so you will learn and drive yourself everywhere!!!

  11. Lovely post… I know how it feels with my neice growing up in Mumbai. Now that I am not allowed to travel I have become one of those aunts “who forces kids to stand in front of a webcam and talk to pixelated faces that move in slow mo”. What to do… How else will I know what all is she upto. Atleast she still remembers my tattoo..

    And why will you not meet baby button for a year????

    • :) you are nice smart maashi. i am old fogey. as for you – how can anyone forget you? the brats remember you well. and i wont meet button because they will only come to india next xmas now :(

      • They do??? :-DD
        Seriously, the tattoo actually helped. When she was younger and would not recognise me instantly during my monthly visits, I showed her the tattoo and her face lit up and all was well :-)

  12. Dear Baby Button
    you have the cutest name. :D
    And your mad aunt writes beautifully.
    But then everyone knows it already.

    Much love

  13. Kid, I would give anything to meet you.. just once.. you are total emotional atyachaar.. sometimes I do feel for OA though..

    Good luck with everything.. being a maasi or bua is very different from being a Foofa or Mama… not that I am less emotional than the fairer side.. still I can feel the difference

  14. A beautiful post.

    As an aunt of five kids myself, I hope to write something as heartwarming as this about them – perhaps after I get the opportunity to spend a day or two with them. Have really not “hung out” with them long enough to immerse myself in their world.

    And I am glad I stumbled upon your blog. Will read it regularly :-)

  15. since you have claimed my kids as your niece and neffy – will you write me a letter like this (ok, not exactly – you know what i mean) as it makes me your sis? Or write such a senti letter to my kids? your writing is amazing…and lucky baby button and the brat and bean , of course, for all the wonderful things you write to/for them.

  16. This is such a cute post! You know Skype is not so bad and I don’t have the pixilation problems – at least it does not make you feel like you are missing out on everything.

    As far as the cloths, they are adorable and i am sure the button will look adorable in them. If i can add to the collection – i would love for the button to wear one of his other cousin over here ;)

    I know it would be hard to wait for a yr, but i promise that every time i kiss him i will kiss him one extra for you:)

    Love the post!

    • i know i know… bhabs told me you have V’s clothes saved for him which i found very touching. plus there is a little secret you and i share too ;)
      ps: i gain my comfort from the thought that you are there for them always

  17. Dude, get with the times will ya…Skype moves in slo-mo only with poor connectivity. Given that you’re in Delhi, it should not be an issue. One alternative is to get a Vonage phone, or Magic Jack for voice and get on Google for the video – it is pretty much real-time, even for my ILs in small-town TN, so Delhi should be absolutely fine. And what would you rather have – a nephew/niece who is very familiar with you when you finally meet in person or one to whom you are essentially a stranger?

    Or get an Iphone4 and do video calls with your brother and family.

    And yes, I realise I sound harsh – but honestly, this is my mother’s attitude as well and it drives me nuts! Pining for what you cannot have at the moment when you can have *something* – not OK, in my book.
    As I tell my mom – she married and moved away from Delhi to B’lore – saw her mother for 3 months of the year during our summers (she hated letter writing), her mother moved from a small village in TN to Delhi and pretty much stopped communicating with her mom (too many kids, not enough money to travel back to TN every year with them, great-grandma couldn’t read/write, so no letters). Now that we *have* so many means of communicating, to insist that the only acceptable means of communicating is face-to-face makes no sense to me…

    M (in pontificating mood!)

    • but darling, that is why you are you and i am me na? if i were all practical and cool instead of mushy and warm you wouldnt read my blog! we’d be the same person. i bet your mom and i would get on like a house on fire. i dont believe any amount of technology can replace a hug

      • yeah – I bet you also like to talk about “feelings” no? Yikes!
        And discuss whose house/garden is done up well and why? And enjoy gardening? And …the list goes on…yes, youw ould get along great with amma – she and I are too dissimilar, and clash regularly :(

        Maybe I was switched at birth? That would explain it :) :)

      • I agree with the Skyping to the point, where it just replaces the ‘phone calls’ part. It puts you off as the only source of knowing each other.

        My mom glared at me when she asked Aditi for a kiss and Adi replied back saying ‘I’ll kiss you on Skype Paatti’

  18. ah! i loved the part where you have written abt. the SIL being as excitable as a 5 yr. old. very cute :-)

    god bless the mad family :-)

  19. I’m jealous!!! Velly, velly much and you are NOT supposed to make the peoples jealous on a Friday!!!!! Hmph! Just you wait, I’m going to have a baby button for myself. Now all I have to do is force that sister of mine to get hitched first.

  20. Baby Button and my Baby Jaan (just ‘coz he/she is due end of Jan) are gonna be birthday month buddies! :)
    Much love to Baby Button and cute cousins.

  21. Came over to your blog through someone’s (I don’t rem’er who) a few days ago. And have been visiting ever since. This post brought tears in my eyes….really lovingly written. I even read your detailed post on why you quit working recently…and will keep coming back for more. Kudos to you mommy and keep up the great blog. I am adding you to my blogroll right now!

And in your opinion....

