The preggo jeans trick

We’ve all got that one friend who ensures that we stay fashionable. Teaches us how to apply eyeshadow just so, tells us which shoes we’ll get more value out of, which handbag has a slimming effect (yes!) and much more. Mine is Kuns. We bumped into each other in a corridor one fine morning and within 15 minutes we were having a conversation that would make the censorboard scissor happy.

Well, here’s a tip she recently sent to me and I figured a lot of the mommies-to-be would love it.  Here’s how to make your regular jeans last you a while longer. You know that period when you’re not big enough for maternity jeans, but can’t get the button of your regular jeans to cooperate? Yep. That one.  So all you need to do is get a bit of elastic, get a tailor to stitch two buttonholes on either end, loop it through the button hole and back. Zimble!

Here’s a picture she kindly sent in. You guys can leave your appreciation for her in the comments section.

37 thoughts on “The preggo jeans trick

  1. Eeks! How would you ever wear a short top with such a solution? Unless crotch-flashing comes back in in a BIG way!!

    Much better, just get yourself a Bella Band (http://www.ingridandisabel.com/bellaband.html)
    - or some nice maternity jeans/trousers, no?
    (http://www.duematernity.com/ciofhumakeje.html) The band in each case just looks like you layered a tee underneath. And so much more comfortable than buttons/belts digging into your tummy.

    You’ll end up needing these for at least 5 months before the birth and at least a few months after, so these things’ll end up paying for themselves easily.

    • :) well yes, great idea here too. as for short tops – i wasnt wearing any and there are plenty of women who dont wear short tops either before or after pregnancy. so it might work for them!

  2. damn. now u tell me!!! tsk tsk, a year too late!!!
    sigh. why did i never get to hear of the bella band when i needed one..

    hmm…
    can can you PLEASE pLEASE tell me the secret to the slimming handbag!! :)

  3. ;) they tell you to do that with an elastic band too. haven’t tried it but i am sure it works cuz plentyyyyy pregnancy forums recommend it. :D

    of course, bella-band is a great option.

    and oh i want a kums too!!!

  4. Ermmm…. just a small question…. what does one do with the zipper?? If you outgrow your jeans.. wouldn’t you be outgrowing them ‘overall’.. as in .. from hip up.. and not just at the waist??

    • the zipper geos up you know – its usually that last button that keeps popping. besides this is just for that first few weeks of gaining weight. then you need proper maternity wear

      • Oh no! I didn’t mean it that way LOL! :D I was just trying to say ( unsuccessfully! ) that wouldn’t a pregnant person gain weight all around? Or maybe I will have to wait some more to answer that question myself :)

        But its good to know that you guys will be there, putting in good solid wisdom about these kind things when we need them :)

  5. “this is when you have a teeny bulge and just wish you had one more button you know”
    Thats me after lunch…its amazing how my tummy can go from 0 to 60 within the course of a meal. I’m always concerned about the button giving away cartoon style – flying through the air and hitting my colleague in his eye. Mebbe I should carry the band in my handbag. On second thoughts, the guy whos sits right by me deserves to get hit…

  6. Wow! My first time here and I am so impressed. I am so glad you have thought about parenthood. It alarms me the number of women who have babies because their bodies can a nd not because thier minds are ready. I’ll keep coming back!

  7. I have been a lurker for a long time now, but have started commenting just recently. Trust you to deliver a tear-jerker in one post (the Brat post) and bounce back with something irreverent that brings an instant smile in the next. Way to go, MM!

  8. for those that cannot find a tailor (such as us poor souls in USA) a thick rubber band will have the same effect. Just loop it through the existing button hole on the jeans like a noose and the other end will go over the button. Been there, done that :D

  9. I think I can use this on my not so preggo self. I am bound to have a largeR tummy when i go to India and stuff my face.
    Yaar.. tummy is rumbling.. Why dont you do a food post..

And in your opinion....

